Carey, Holthaus, Stanton score season championship checkers at Cresco
Print this page
August 30, 1998

CRESCO, IA (August 30) - Season championships night made for exciting racing action at the Cresco Speedway, Sunday. With the points battles close in all divisions, the racing was tight and fast.

The stock car feature races started out with a duel between the top two points leaders, Laverne Carey and Brian Tank. The two battled for five laps until a blown tire forced Tank to the pits. From there, Carey led the rest of the way holding off Troy Hansmeier for the win. Kevin Bidne, Darrel Devries and Jake Ludeking rounded out the top five.

The hobby stock points championship was also very close with Steve Holthaus, Dan Jones and Roger Derry all having a shot at the title. Holthaus jumped out to the early lead with Jones, Derry and Troy Scholbrock in hot pursuit. It looked like it was going to be a fantastic finish until Jones blew a tire coming out of turn two and rolled his car with Derry's car coming to rest on top of it. Luckily, both drivers escaped with no injuries. From there it was a two-car battle with Holthaus taking the checkers followed by Scholbrock, Brian Losen, Mike Kelley and Jeff Vsetecka.

By making it to the modified feature Chris Adams assured himself of the points championship. However, that did not take away from the excitement of the race itself. Adams led the race until the halfway mark when Chuck Stanton made his move to the front and ran to his first ever modified feature win. Adams finished second followed by Larry Schmidt, Owen Grube and Randy Geisler.

The Bud Challenge also made for an exciting racing extra for the night. To qualify for the Bud Challenge a driver either had to win a feature or finish in the top ten in points. In the stock car challenge, Bidne started out on the front row and pulled away for the victory. In the hobby stocks, Scholbrock and Holthaus made it a two-car battle with the lead changing hands six times before Scholbrock pulled ahead on the last lap to pick up the win. Adams led flag-to-flag in the modified challenge.

Points champions for 1998 include Laverne Carey (stock car), Holthaus (hobby stock) and Adams (modified).

Next week J & L Oil presents the IRA sprint cars with the hobby stocks and stock cars also running.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group