Ackerman bounces back, takes first late model win at Cresco
Print this page
August 8, 1999

CRESCO, IA (August 8, 1999) - Cresco Amoco welcomed racers and fans to a night of hot racing action Sunday night at the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa.

The Stock cars took to the track first with heat wins going to Jake Ludeking of Decorah, Gerald Peter of Mabel, Minn., and Marinus Mlady of Cresco.

Up next were the hobby stocks with heat wins going to Tony Severson of Preston, Minn., and Tory Reicks of Lawler.

Dennis Fink of Fairbanks, Larry Grube of Cresco and Troy Hale of Grand Meadow, Minn., picked up heat wins in the modified class. Chuck Stanton of New Hampton picked up the modified B main.

The IMCA late model heat wins went to Kevin Kirkpatrick and Darren Ackerman, both of Waterloo.

Scott Bauer of Elma led the caution-filled stock car feature race from flag-to-flag, picking up the win. Mlady, Troy Scholbrock, Lavern Carey and Tony Trowler finished 2-5.

The hobby stocks then took to the track in an exciting feature race. Jay Schwamman escaped any injury when he crashed his car into the front stretch wall, riding along it with one wheel on top. Jeff Vsetecka of Charles City then worked his way to the front and held off Brian Losen, Roger Deery, Reicks and Rick Stockman to pick up the win.

Tim Heins took coutrol of the modified feature early in the race and held off Chuck Stanton and Dan Bohr, who were both advancing fast after starting towards the back of the pack, after running in the B main. Stanton finished second and Bohr finished third, followed by Todd Suhr and Kevin Stoa.

Darren Ackerman's season came full circle Sunday night. Just a few weeks after destroying his car, Ackerman picked up his first career IMCA late model feature win. Ackermann took over the lead on lap five and pulled away with the win. Greg Kastli, Curt Martin, Kirkpatrick and Chris Adams finished 2-5.

Join us next week at the Cresco Speedway as Sue's Speed Shop of Cresco sponsors the night's racing action. See you there!

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group