Kastli sweeps Cresco late model field
Print this page
August 29, 1999

CRESCO, IA (August 29, 1999) - Watts on First of Leroy sponsored the Season Championship races Sunday night at the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa.

The IMCA Late Models were the only class to run heats as the drivers lined up according to points for the feature races. Heat winners were Chris Adams of Stacyville and Greg Kastli of Waterloo.

The Hobby Stocks were the first class to take to the track. Jeff Vsetecka and Lee Hansmeier battled from start to finish. Vsetecka led from the green flag until there was three laps left when Hansmeier slipped by. Going down the final stretch, the two were side by side with Vsetecka of Charles City narrowly picking up the win and also winning the season points championship. Hansmeier finished second, followed by Rick Stockman, Roger Deery and Tory Reicks.

Up next were the Stock Cars. Ron Konkel, Kevin Bidne, Steve Holtaus and Marinus Mlady led the pack around the track. Konkel of New Albin held off everyone to take the checkers. It was not enough to take the championship points title, however, as Bidne finished second and won the points title by three. Holtaus, Mlady and Brian Tank rounded out the top five.

After a single-file restart, Dan Bohr of Decorah took home yet another Modified feature win, leading flag to flag to get the win. Bohr also walked away with the season points championship. Tim Heins finished second, followed by Chuck Stanton, Troy Hale and Larry Schmidt.

Greg Kastli of Waterloo decided to try and change his luck by changing the color of his car. After running all year in his blue and white machine, Kastli switched to red and yellow. His luck did change as he jumped out to the early lead and held off National Points Champion, Curt Martin, for the win. Kevin Kirkpatrick finishied third followed by Chris Adams and Greg Bruening. Martin was the season points winner.

The Bud Challenge was a special race held for all feature winners and top finishers in each class. In the Hobby Stock class, Brian Losen worked his way to front and held off Roger Deery for the win. Tory Reicks, Tony Severson and Lee Hansmeier rounded out the top five.

Scott Bauer used the front row stating position he drew to his advantage and led flag to flag in the Stock Car Bud Challenge. Mike Bergan, Steve Holthaus, Brian Tank and Marinus Mlady finished 2-5.

Troy Hale worked his way to the front of the Modified Bud Challenge and picked up the win followed by Tim Heins, Todd Suhr, Brian Bronner and Ken Hofner.

Greg Kastli made it a clean sweep in the IMCA Late Model Bud Challenge, again holding off Curt Martin for the win. Chris Adams finished third followed by Kevin Kirkpatrick and Greg Bruening.

Be sure to join us next week for the last race of the season as the IRA/J & L Oil Winged Outlaw Sprint Car Series comes to Cresco, along with the Stock Cars and Hobby Stocks. See you there!



HEAT WINNERS - Chris Adams and Greg Kastli.

A FEATURE - 1. Greg Kastli, 2. Curt Martin, 3. Kevin Kirkpatrick, 4. Chris Adams, 5. Greg Bruening, 6. Dale Hackwell Jr., 7. Brian Hunter, 8. Dave Kirchner, 9. Darren Ackerman, 10. Wade Russell, 11. Les Verly, 12. Cam Granger, 13. Bob Fisher, 14. Ben Schaeffer.

BUD CHALLENGE - 1. Greg Kastli, 2. Curt Martin, 3. Chris Adams, 4. Kevin Kirkpatrick, 5. Greg Bruening, 6. Dale Hackwell Jr., 7. Darren Ackerman, 8. Cam Granger.


A FEATURE - 1. Jeff Vsetecka, 2. Lee Hansmeier, 3. Rick Stockman, 4. Roger Deery, 5. Tory Riecks, 6. Jason Schlangen, 7. Brian Losen, 8. Jeff Larson, 9. Mel Tieskotter, 10. Dave Mayer, 11. Jay Schwamman, 12. Kenny Dotzler, 13. Tony Severson, 14. Tim Gebel, 15. Nathan Ferrie, 16. Pat Kelly, 17. Bill Martin, 18. Cory Heinkes, 19. Corry Usher, 20. John Andrus.

BUD CHALLENGE - 1. Brian Losen, 2. Roger Deery, 3. Tory Reicks, 4. Tony Severson, 5. Lee Hansmeier, 6. Jeff Vsetecka, 7. Rick Stockman, 8. Dave Mayer, 9. Jeff Larson, 10. Jason Schlangen, 11. Mel Tieskotter, 12. Jay Schwamman, 13. John Andrus, 14. Tim Gebel.


A FEATURE - 1. Ron Konkel, 2. Kevin Bidne, 3. Steve Holthaus, 4. Marinus Mlady, 5. Brian Tank, 6. Scott Bauer, 7. Dan McMillan, 8. Mike Bergan, 9. Brad Blake, 10. Darrel Devries, 11. Rodney Zubrod, 12. Jake Ludeking, 13. Mike Krambeer, 14. Jim Peter, 15. Tom Schmitt, 16. Troy Hansmeier, 17. Gerald Peter, 18. Tony Trower, 19. Lavern Carey, 20. Mike Tripp, 21. Troy Scholbrock, 22. Paul Kottschade.

BUD CHALLENGE - 1. Scott Bauer, 2. Mike Bergan, 3. Steve Holtaus, 4. Brian Tank, 5. Marinus Mlady, 6. Jake Ludeking, 7. Dan McMillan, 8. Tom Schmitt, 9. Kevin Bidne, 10. Ron Konkel, 11. Troy Hansmeier, 12. Darrel Devries, 13. Troy Scholbrock, 14. Lavern Carey, 15. Tony Trower.


A FEATURE - 1. Dan Bohr, 2. Tim Heins, 3. Chuck Stanton, 4. Troy Hale, 5. Larry Schmidt, 6. Dennis Fink, 7. Kyle Chiglo, 8. Todd Suhr, 9. Ken Hofner, 10. Brian Bronner, 11. John Grube, 12. Jewell Losee, 13. Larry Hall, 14. Jordan Steiser, 15. Brad Rain, 16. Curt Carey, 17. Doug Hillson.

BUD CHALLENGE - 1. Troy Hale, 2. Tim Heins, 3. Todd Suhr, 4. Brian Bronner, 5. Ken Hofner, 6. Dennis Fink, 7. Chuck Stanton, 8. Kyle Chiglo, 9. Dan Bohr, 10. Larry Schmidt, 11. Larry Grube.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group