Bauer, Jones, Dripps, Erickson highlight Cresco opener
Print this page
April 23, 2000

CRESCO, IA (April 23, 2000) — M & J Promotions welcomed racers and fans to the 2000 season of racing at the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa, Sunday night.

The Stock Cars started the season's racing action with heat wins going to Mike Kelly, Troy Scholbrock and Brian Tank.

Up next were the Hobby Stocks, with heat wins going to Jeff Vsetecka, Donald Besse and Jason Schlangen. The consy win went to Dave mayer.

Mike Sorensen, Chuck Stanton and Corey Dripps picked up heat wins in the Modified class.

Dean Schlangen was the Pure Stock heat winner.

Ron Konkel took the early lead in the Stock Car feature race until the halfway mark when Scott Bauer went to the low side and Tank took the high side in a battle for first place. Bauer took over from there and pulled away with the first feature win of the season. Tank finished second, followed by Konkel, Tony Trower and Steve Holthaus.

Dan Jones jumped out to a quick lead in the Hobby Stock feature and never looked back, taking home the checkered flag. The battle was for second place with numerous cars holding that position until Jason Schlangen took over, followed by Brian Losen, Ryan Webb and Vsetecka.

Sorenson jumped out to the early lead m the Modified feature only to see Dripps and Kevin Pittman close in fast from their fifth row starting positions. The three drivers all took their turns running up front, sometimes going three-wide around the Cresco oval until Dripps took control and held on for the win. Sorensen finished second, followed by Pittman, Dan Bohr and Dean Riess.

Shawn Erickson took the lead in the Pure Stock feature race and led flag to flag, picking up the win. Dean Schlangen finished runner-up, followed by Mark Mensink and Robert Walker.

Be sure to join us next Sunday night at the Cresco Speedway with races starting at 6 p.m.


Top five "A" feature finishers:

STOCK CAR: 1. Scott Bauer, 2. Brian Tank, 3. Ron Konkel, 4. Tony Trower, 5. Steve Holthaus.

HOBBY STOCK: 1. Dan Jones, 2. Jason Schlangen, 3. Brian Losen, 4. Ryan Webb, 5. Jeff Vsetecka.

MODIFIED: 1. Corey Dripps, 2. Mike Sorensen, 3. Kevin Pittman, 4. Dan Bohr, 5. Dean Riess.

PURE STOCK: 1. Shawn Erickson, 2. Dean Schlangen, 3. Mark Mensink, 4. Robert Walker.

Latest News from the USRA

April 18, 2018
Things to know as 2018 racing season gets started at Lucas Oil Speedway
This summer will mark 12 years since Lucas Oil Speedway opened to rave reviews as Forrest Lucas' vision for a dirt-track racing showcase was realized. Since that fread more
April 18, 2018
Lebanon Midway ready to open 2018 season
Lebanon Midway Speedway drivers and fans are hoping that the third time is the charm as the track will be ready to host an exciting 2018 season beginning this Friday, Aprread more
April 18, 2018
Springfield Raceway back in action this Saturday
The quick quarter-mile Springfield Raceway is back in action this Saturday, April 21, with round three 3 of the championship chase featuring USRA Modifieds and Out-Pace Uread more
April 17, 2018
Lakeside Speedway season opener presented by Tompkins Industries fires up Friday
A lack of dirt racing events throughout the region has left drivers and fans chomping at the bit to hit the track for a night of competition. However, this will change onread more
April 17, 2018
Purse revealed for 2nd Annual Gary Davis Super 66 Stock Car Special
Team Vicki Davis Racing 66 and the I-35 Speedway are pleased to announce the purse for the 2nd Annual Gary Davis Super 66 Stock Car Special on June 16 at the famed 3/8-miread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group