Krohn tops wild & wooly season opener at Chateau
Print this page
April 29, 2011  |  by Todd Narveson

LANSING, Minn. -- It was a brisk and sometimes wet night for the 2011 season opener at the Chateau Raceway. A big field of 92 cars filed into the pit area and a group of devoted fans turned out.

The heat races were completed with an occasional light rain that fell. It was not enough to deter racing but it did make it miserable for those in attendance. After a brief break to touch up the racetrack, it was main event time.

When the USRA RHS Modifieds entered the track sprinkles again fell. Darwyn Karau bolted off of row 1 for the early lead with Brandon Davis close behind. Jason Krohn got by Tim Donlinger for third and then quickly challenged Davis for second.

Krohn snapped up second on lap 4 and then took after Karau. Krohn flew to the low side as Karau was up top. Krohn stormed to the lead in turn 4 on lap 6 while Davis now battled Karau for the runner-up spot.

Davis and Karau continued to race for second and Davis got by on lap 13 and brought Donlinger along for the ride to third. Todd Scharkey stalled in turn 3 and the caution came back out. With that, another heavier shower hit the speedway and slicked up the track.

The shower quickly abated and after a few laps of packing and a few hot laps things were back in shape. Krohn stormed away from the field and picked up the win. Donlinger got by Davis to finish second. Doug Hillson was the fourth-place finisher and Karau was fifth.

Racing action will continue on Friday, May 6, with the grandstands opening at 6 p.m. with hot laps at 7 and the races will follow. For more information visit the track's website at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, April 29, 2011


Feature: 1. Jason Krohn, Slayton, 2. Tim Donlinger, Rochester, 3. Brandon Davis, Medford, 4. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie, 5. Darwyn Karau, Kasson, 6. A.J. Wiste, Adams, 7. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea, 8. Jacob Dahle, Morristown, 9. Joe Wernecke, Dodge Center, 10. Joe Horgdahl, Kasson, 11. Joel Alberts, Mantorville, 12. Dustin Steinbrink, Austin, 13. Wally Bustad, Austin, 14. Todd Scharkey, Kasson, 15. Jason Cummins, New Richland, 16. Steve Wetzstein, West Concord, 17. Jeremy Misgen, Ellendale, DNS - Brandon Aggen, Rushmore.

Heat #1: 1. Davis, 2. Wetzstein, 3. Karau, 4. Wiste, 5. Cummins, 6. Aggen.

Heat #2: 1. Donlinger, 2. Jensen, 3. Dahle, 4. Bustad, 5. Wernecke, 6. Steinbrink.

Heat #3: 1. Alberts, 2. Krohn, 3. Hillson, 4. Misgen, 5. Horgdahl, 6. Scharkey.

Latest News from the USRA

January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group