Moro posts clean sweep in Midwest Sprintcar Series go at Cresco Speedway
Print this page
July 4, 2000

CRESCO, IA (July 4, 2000) — Matt Moro, who has spent his summer competing primarily in the 410 division at the Knoxville Raceway this season, brought his 360 car to the Cresco Speedway and won his heat, the Justice Brothers Dash, and the 20 lap MSS feature on the Fourth of July. Moro, a native of Des Moines, picked up the $1,000 winner's check for his work in holding off Jimmy Kouba and Travis Whitney.

The A-main saw Moro and Whitney line up wheel to wheel by virtue of their 1-2 finish in the dash. On the initial start, Whitney got the jump on Moro and lead the field into turn 3, but the rest of the field made it to turn 3, Brett Geldner spun and Ron Smith got hard into the retaining wall while trying to avoid the spinning #1B car. Both cars were finished for the evening.

As the cars got into the original two-by-two formation, the green flag flew again and this time, Matt Moro got the jump as the field went through the first set of turns. Moro set sail and kept Whitney at bay while using the low side of the raceway. Near the halfway point, Bob Hildreth pulled his #55KC to the topside of the speedway on the frontstretch and rolled to a stop. During the caution, the #6 of Roger Rager also pulled into the pit area. Rager was running in the fifth position at the time.

Moro again led the field following the restart, but Travis Whitney was charging hard on the high side of the speedway. Whitney was really pushing hard on a quickly disappearing cushion and at times pulled even with the #2M of Moro, but never quite found a way to pull ahead of him. Meanwhile, Jimmy Kouba had been gaining steadily on the leaders and was becoming a threat. Moro eventually pulled away through lapped traffic and on the last lap, Kouba slipped inside a fading Whitney and took away the second position. Larry Ball Jr. and Ryan Jamison rounded out the top five positions in the 18 car field.

The dash went to Moro, and the heats were won by Moro, Whitney and Colin Northway. The points lead has changed hands for the second time in two races as the top two in points, John Franzen and Tom Kamrath, who was battling motor problems, were not in action. Ehren "Primetime" Layton is the new point leader for the MSS series and is followed closely by Greg Kamrath.


FEATURE - 1. Matt Moro; 2. Jimmy Kouba; 3. Travis Whitney; 4. Larry Ball Jr.; 5. Ryan Jamison; 6. Colin Northway; 7. Dean Brown; 8. Allan Gilbertson; 9. Jesse Gianetto; 10. John Wycoff; 11. Ehren Layton; 12. Johnny Parsons III; 13. John Jacob; 14. Bob Hildreth (DNF); 15. Roger Rager (DNF); 16. Greg Kamrath (DNF); 17. Brett Geldner (DNF); 18. Ron Smith (DNF).

JUSTICE BROS./GILLUND ENT. DASH - 1. Moro; 2. Whitney; 3. Kouba; 4. Hildreth; 5. Northway; 6. Rager (DNF).

HEAT 1 - 1. Whitney; 2. Rager; 3. Ball Jr.; 4. Kamrath; 5. Smith; 6. Wycoff.

HEAT 2 - 1. Northway; 2. Kouba; 3. Jamison; 4. Geldner; 5. Parsons III; 6. Gianetto.

HEAT 3 - 1. Moro; 2. Hildreth; 3. Gilbertson; 4. Layton; 5. Brown; 6. Jacob.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group