Schmidt, Colsch, McIntire, Tank, Praska take top honors at Cresco
Print this page
August 21, 2000

CRESCO, IA (Aug. 21, 2000) — K & T Automotive, Inc., of Cresco sponsored the Sunday night racing action at the Cresco Speedway, sunday.

Larry Schmidt jumped out to the early lead in the Modified "A" main and looked like he would cruise to an easy win with the cars running two- and three-wide behind him. Todd Suhr and Brad Rain tested each other for the number two spot until Suhr took the spot for good with two laps remaining and then set his sights on Schmidt. Schmidt's lead was too much for him to overcome and Schmidt took home the checkered flag with Suhr in second, followed by Rain, Kevin Pittman and Dan Bohr.

Modified heat wins went to Brian Schrage, Schmidt and Rain. Jordan Steir picked up the "B" main win.

Carl Colsch had a great jump early in the Hobby Stock "A" main and quickly moved to the lead position. Once he got to the front, he stayed there and held off a fast-charging Dan Jones to pick up his third victory in a row. Brian Losen finished third, followed by Tory Reicks and Jason Schlangen.

Jeff Vsetecka, Jones and Bryan Webb got the heat wins and Andy Burke took home the "B" main victory.

Nate McIntire went from the last row to the front of the field in two laps in the 4-Cylinder Hornet class and was never challenged as he picked up his second win in a row. Ryan Einck finished second while Todd Einck, Garry Gulrid and Buzz Haackman rounded out the top five.

McIntire and Gulrud were the 4-Cylinder Hornet heat winners.

Brian Tank took over the top spot in the Stock Car "A" main from Don Rude at the halfway point and pulled away to pick up the win. Kevin Bidne, Troy Scholbrock, Rude and Mike Bergan finished second through fifth, respectively.

Scot Bauer, Rude and Brian Tank took home heat wins in the Stock Car class.

Rollovers were the name of the game in the Pure Stock "A" main. On the first lap, Chris Busch hit hard into the front stretch wall and ended up upside down. On the restart, Shawn Erickson tangled with a couple of cars on the front stretch and slammed into the inside wall, rolling his car. Luckily, both drivers were not seriously hurt.

After a single file re-start, Bob Praska picked up the win after the car that crossed the finish line in the first position was disqualified because of an illegal engine. Tony Miller was second, followed by Ron Rucker, Danin Balk and Brian Radloff.

Pure stock heat winners were Rucker and Travis Schissel.

Be sure to join us next week at the Cresco Speedway for Season Championship Night. See you there!



Heat 1: Brian Scrage, Ken Irvine, Todd Suir, Brian Bronner, Jack Mitchell, James Richardson, Ryan York.

Heat 2: Larry Schmidt, Dean Riess, Kevin Pittman, Tim Heins, Dick Brummond, Jordan Steier, Gary Schmidt.

Heat 3: Brad Rain, Dan Bohr, Terry Johanns, Troy Cordes, Ken Hofner, Jewell Losee, John Grube.

B main: Jordan Steir, Gary Schmidt, James Richardson, John Grube, Ryan York, Jewel Losee.

A main: Larry Schmidt, Todd Suhr, Brad Rain, Kevin Pittman, Dan Bohr, Dean Reiss, Jack Mitchell, Terry Johanns, Troy Cordes, Ken Hofner, Brian Schrage, Tim Heins, Ken Irvine, Jordan Steier, Gary Schnidt, John Grube, Dick Brummond, James Richardson, Brian Bronner, Ryan York.


Heat: Jeff Vsetecka, Jeff Larson, Carl Colsch, Jason Schlangen, Adam Speicher, Brandon Elsbernd, Dave Lickteig, Josh Malli, Steve Holthaus.

Heat 2: Dan Jones, Jeremy Moellers, Kevin Donlan, Donald Besse, Matt Sweeney, John Andus, Tony Severson, Pat O'Neil.

Heat 3: Bryan Webb, Lynn Panos, Darrin Welsch, Brian Losen, Tory Reicks, Andy Burke, Bill Martin, Junior Boyer.

B main: Andy Burke, Matt Sweeney, John Andus, Pat O'Neil, Tony Severson, Bill Martin, Dave Lickteig, Brandon Elsbernd, Josh Malli, Don Rude, Steve Holthaus.

A main: Carl Colsch, Dan Jones, Brian Losen, Tory Reicks, Jason Schlangen, Lynn Panos, Jeff Vsetecka, Jeremy Moellers, Andy Burke, Adam Speicher, Kevin Donian, Donald Besse, Matt Sweeney, Jeff Larson, Bryan Webb, John Andus, Tony Severson, Pat O'Neil, Dan Christopher, Darrin Walch.


Heat 1: Nate McIntire, Ryan Einck, Todd Einck, Duane Schacht, Bruce Schutemeier, Steve Christopher.

Heat 2: Gary Gulrid, Buzz Haackman, Todd Lemke, Jeffery Zahasky, Brian Frieden, Gary Rotenberger.

A main: Nate McIntire, Ryan Einck, Todd Einck, Gary Gulrud, Buzz Haackman, Todd Lemke, Bruce Schultemeier, Gary Rotenberger, Brian Frieden, Jeffery Zahasky, Duane Schacht, Steve Christopher.


Heat 1: Scott Bauer, Marinus Mlady, Jim Peter, Mike Bergan, Tony Trower, Todd Watts, Matt Albert.

Heat 2: Don Rude, Troy Scholbrock, Kevin Bidne, Ron Konkel, Mike Kelly, Em Fretheim.

Heat 3: Brian Tank, Loren Kuehnen, Jake Ludeking, Tom Hovey, Gerald Peter, Brain Gjere.

A main: Brian Tank, Kevin Bidne, Troy Scholbrock, Don Rude, Mike Bergen, Scott Bauer, Jake Ludeking, Tony Trower, Em Fretheim, Loren Kuennan, Gerald Peter, Ron Konkel, Brian Gjere, Mike Kelly, Jim Peter, Todd Watts, Matt Albert, Tom Hovey, Marinus Mlady.


Heat 1: Ron Rucker, Joel Martin, Jeremy Sweeney, Carl Haakenson, Bill Meyer, Tony Miner, Bob Praska, Darrin Balk, Robert Hilmer.

Heat 2: Travis Schissel, Shawn Erickson, Scott Olson, Jesse Miller, Chris Busch, Steve Milz, Mark Mensink, Brian ,Radloff.

A main: 1. Bob Praska, Tony Miller, Ron Rucker, Darrin Balk, Brian Radloff, Carl Haakenson, Steve Milz, Robert Hilmer, Joel Martin, Jeremy Sweeney, Bill Meyer, Jesse Miller, Scott Olson, Shawn Erickson, Chris Erickson, Mark Mensink.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group