Season champions crowned at Cresco Speedway
Print this page
August 28, 2000

CRESCO, IA (Aug. 28, 2000) — Watts on 1st of Leroy, Minn., sponsored the Season Championship Races Sunday night at the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa.

Stock Cars were first to the track with heat wins going to Em Fretheim, Tony Trower and Troy Hansmeier.

Hobby Stock heat wins went to Pat O'Neill, Jeff Larson, Mike Jones and Brian Losen. Junior Boyer took home the Season Championship B-Main win.

Up next were the Modifieds with heat wins going to Brain Schrage, Brad Rain and Larry Schmidt. Joel Martin, Scott Olson and Don Schmidt picked up the heat wins in the Pure Stock class.

Kevin Bidne and Scott Bauer ran side by side for the first ten laps of the Stock Car A Main until Bidne found his groove and pulled out to a two car advantage. It was then Brian Tank's turn to run side by side with Bauer, fighting for the second place spot with just two laps to go. Tank gained the advantage at the finish line to take the second place honors. However, Tank's engine was claimed and he refused to sell it so he was disqualified, losing all of his season points. The disqualification gave the second spot to Bauer with Jake Ludeking, Ron Konkel and Troy Hansmeier rounding out the top five. The seasons points winner was Kevin Bidne.

Lynn Panos, Jeff Vsetecka and Tory Reicks pulled out to a five car advantage in the Hobby Stock A Main event, with all three drivers running bumper to bumper until a caution flag flew with three laps remaining, bunching up the field. Panos held off everyone to take home the win and also getting the season points championship. Vsetecka finished second followed by Reicks, Carl Colsch and Kevin Donlan.

Dan Bohr took advantage of his front row starting position in the Modified A Main race and seemed to be cruising to the win when his car starting missing with three laps to go. Bohr's lead was big enough to allow him to bring home the win to add icing on the cake of his season points championship. Brad Rain, Dean Riess, Dean Wagner and Todd Suhr finished 2-5.

Shawn Erickson proved hard work pays off as he won the Pure Stock A Main race with a new car that he had to work on all week long, after he hit the inside wall of the Cresco Speedway last week, rolling and destroying his car. Darrin Balk finished second followed by Bob Praska, Scott Olson, and Joel Martin. Praska was the season points winner. Don Schmidt escaped serious injury after his car was hit in the front end and burst into fiarnes on the final lap.

Be sure to join us at the Cresco Speedway next Sunday night when the J&L Oil IRA Winged Sprint Car Series invades the raceway. Hobby Stock and Stock Cars will also be running. See you there!



Heat 1: Em Fretheim, Gerald Peter, Scott Bauer, Troy Scholbrock, Mike Bergan, Matt Albert.

Heat 2: Tony Trower, Rodney Zubrod, Kevin Bidne, Jake Ludeking, Ron Konkel, Paul Kottschade.

Heat 3: Troy Hansmeier; Marinus Mlady, Jim Peter, Brian Tank, Todd Watts.

A Main: Kevin Bidne, Scott Bauer, Jake Ludeking, Ron Konkel, Troy Hansmeier, Troy Scholbrock, Marinus Mlady, Mike Bergan, Gerald Peter, Rodney Zubrod, Tony Trower, Paul Kottschade, Jim Peter, Em Fretheim, Matt Albert, Todd Watts.


Heat 1: Pat O'Neill, Junior Boyer, John Andrus, Jeremy Moellers, Tony Severson, Dan Jones, Carl Colsch, Dave Lickteig.

Heat 2: Jeff Larson, Brandon Elsbernd, Lynn Panos, Tim Tostenson, Andy Burke, Tory Reicks, Nathan Ferrie.

Heat 3: Mike Jones, Dan Christopher, Adam Speicher, Josh Malli, Jason Schlagen, Donald Besse.

Heat 4: Brian Losen, Tom Kessel, Steve Holthaus, Kevin Donlan, Jeff Vsetecka, Dustin Panos, Steven Grube.

B Main: Junior Boyer, Pat O'Neill, Brandon Elsbernd, Dustin Panos, Dave Lickteig, Steven Grube, Dan Christopher, Nathan Ferrie.

A Main: Lyin Panos, Jeff Vsetecka, Tory Reicks, Carl Colsch, Kevin Donian, Adam Speicher, Dan Jones, Brian Losen, Jeremy Moellers, Andy Burke, Donald Besse, Tony Severson, Mike Jones, Tom Kessel, John Andrus, Tim Tostenson, Jason Schlangen, Josh Malli, Steve Holthaus, Jeff Larson.


Heat 1: Brian Schrage, Jack Mitchell, Dean Wagner, Dean Riess, Dennis Fink, John Grube, Ryan York, Dick Brummond.

Heat 2: Brad Rain, Jordan Steir, Todd Suhr, Gary Schmidt, Tim Heins, Ken Hofner.

Heat 3: Larry Schmidt, Terry Johanns, Dan Bohr, Jewell Losee, Brian Bronner, James Richardson.

A Main: Dan Bohr, Brad Rain, Dean Riess, Dean Wagner, Todd Suhr, Tim Heins, Larry Schmidt, Jordan Steir, Terry Johanns, Ken Hofner, Dennis Fink, James Richardson, Jewell Losee, Brian Bronner, Ryan York, Gary Schmidt, John Grube, Jack Mitchell, Brian Schrage, Dick Brummond.


Heat 1: Joel Martin, Darrin Balk, Bob Praska, Dan Kohnen, Brian Radloff, Jeremy Sweeney.

Heat 2: Scott Olson, Carl Haakenson, Shawn Erickson, Robert Hilmer, Jimmy Broszeit.

Heat 3: Don Schmidt, Ron Rucker, Tony Miller, Tracy Quigley, Mark Mensink, Jesse Miller.

A Main: Shawn Erickson, Darrin Balk, Bob Praska, Scott Olson, Joel Martin, Carl Haakenson, Brian Radloff, Robert Hilmer, Jeremy Sweeney, Dan Kohnen, Mark Mensink, Ron Rucker, Don Schmidt, Tracy Quigley, Tony Miller, Jesse Miller, Jimmy Broszeit.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group