Wetzstein nips Cummins in photo-finish at Chateau Raceway
Print this page
May 13, 2011  |  by Todd Narveson

LANSING, Minn. -- It was another cool and windy night at the Chateau Raceway on Friday the 13th.

Steve Wetzstein took advantage of his outside front row start in the USRA RHS Modifieds. Polesitter Doug Hillson settled into second while Jason Cummins quickly moved to third. Cummins challenged Hillson for position and they had a dandy race for awhile.

A caution on lap 2 slowed the pace, but it did not take Wetzstein long to get cranked up once again. Wetzstein pulled away from the pack when Cummins finally dispatched Hillson on lap 5. Brandon Davis moved to fifth and then challenged Todd Scharkey for fourth.

Scharkey and Davis closed in on Hillson for third as Wetzstein continued to lead. Darwyn Karau's car stalled on lap 11 and another caution brought the field together once again.

On the restart, things got wild quickly as Scharkey along with Davis stuck it in three wide with Hillson for the third spot. Both Scharkey and Davis slipped past Hillson for third and fourth.

Back up front it was still Wetzstein up front, but Cummins made up ground and shrunk the lead considerably. Cummins continued to reel in the leader and was now less than a car length behind with a couple of laps left.

On the final circuit, Cummins made a last ditch effort when the leaders came off of turn 4. At the line Wetzstein edged Cummins by just a couple of feet. Scharkey finished in third with Davis and Hillson in the top five.

Next Friday will feature car rides for the kids at 7 p.m. All six classes of cars will be back in action. For more information and a look at what is coming to the Chateau Raceway go to www.chateauraceway.net

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, May 13, 2011


Feature: 1. Steve Wetzstein, West Concord; 2. Jason Cummins, New Richland; 3. Todd Scharkey, Kasson; 4. Brandon Davis, Medford; 5. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 6. Jacob Dahle, Morristown; 7. Dustin Steinbrink, Austin; 8. Mike Gregg, Morton; 9. A.J. Wiste, Adams; 10. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 11. Darwyn Karau, Kasson; 12. Jeremy Misgen, Ellendale; 13. Cole Queensland, Grand Meadow; 14. Wally Bustad, Austin; 15. Adam Hensel, Barron, Wis.

Heat #1: 1. Dahle; 2. Cummins; 3. Wiste; 4. Scharkey; 5. Hensel; 6. Gregg; 7. Misgen; 8. Jensen.

Heat #2: 1. Wetzstein; 2. Queensland; 3. Hillson; 4. Steinbrink; 5. Davis; 6. Karau; 7. Bustad.

Latest News from the USRA

January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group