Scott grabs USRA RHS Modified win at Springfield
Print this page
May 14, 2011  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- Despite unseasonably cool weather, fans packed the stands Saturday at the Springfield Raceway with 24 USRA RHS Modifieds on hand.

The USRA RHS Modifieds came in full force as Bobby Pearish grabbed the opening lead with Jerry Lankton, Brian Green, Darian Hendrix and others goign two- and three-wide on the opening laps. Looking for his first ever USRA RHS Modified win, Pearish started to pull away from the star-studded field.

Caution waved on lap 7 as Erik Maggard, who started 22nd and was moving quickly, came to a halt on the back-stretch. Pearish brought the field to the green again as defending track champion Mitch Keeter, current points leader Jackie Dalton, Terry Beckham II, Lankton and USMTS regular Johnny Scott were battling for positions.

On lap 10, Keeter was charging forward but lost the car in turn 1, spinning and collecting three others with small damage. Keeter retired for the evening.

Pearish brought the field to the restart as Lankton, Scott, Dalton - who was going for three in a row, Hendrix, Tillman, Beckham and Green were side by side. On lap 13, Scott made the low groove move to take the lead from Pearish, but Pearish came right back around as the duo exchanged the lead for several laps until Scott secured the lead on lap 16 and took home the feature win.

Pearish, Lankton, Dalton and Hendrix completed the top-5 while Beckham, Turkey classic winner Tillman, Robbie Bryant, Green and young Jordan McCrimmon rounded out the top-10.

Action continues next Saturday at the Springfield Raceway with the Transport Graphics Chase for the Championship featuring USRA RHS Modifieds, B-Mods, Midwest Mods, Legends Cars, Pure Stocks and Street Stocks, along with the 'Battle of the Badges' as police officers from across the state race to help raise money for Special Olympics in a special race with their owns prepared cars.

Grandstand gates open at 5 p.m. with hot laps at 6:15 and racing at 7 p.m. sharp.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, May 14, 2011


Feature: 1. Johnny Scott, Las Cruces, N.M.; 2. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo; 3. Jerry Lankton, Lampe; 4. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 5. Darian Hendrix, Joplin; 6. Terry Beckham II, Webb City; 7. Jody Tillman, Branson; 8. Robbie Bryant, Willard; 9. Brian Green, Pierce City; 10. Jordan McCrimmon, Bolivar; 11. Chase Jones, El Dorado Springs; 12. Dwight Neihoff, Lockwood; 13. Billy Dalton, Reeds; 14. Jim Body, Diamond; 15. Mickey Burrell, Fair Grove; 16. John Yeoman III, Granby; 17. John Briggs; 18. Kaelie Archer, Bolivar; 19. Nathan Cottrell, Nixa; 20. Kyle Slagle, Pierce City; 21. Mitch Keeter, Webb City; 22. Erik Maggard, Brighton; DNS - Rusty Weir, Warsaw; Corey Weir, Nixa.

Latest News from the USRA

January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group