From flipping Friday, to winning Saturday it’s Georges in USRA RHS Modifieds at Las Cruces
Print this page
June 4, 2011  |  by Bryan Hulbert

LAS CRUCES, N.M. -- It was a night of high emotion and action as the USRA RHS Modifieds headlined the night's racing at the Southern New Mexico Speedway along with the UMP Late Models, Hornets and Rickís Performance Center Street Stocks.

Thirty laps of racing with the USRA RHS Modifieds would begin with a huge pile-up as the pole sitter, the 10 of Joe Lackey, went sideways down the back straight, sending the field into a domino effect, collecting a myriad of racers and sending the 40f of Dana Fight and the 89 of Roger Owens flipping in tandem off the top of the Speedway.

Both drivers would come to a stop on the bottom access road that runs along the base of the back-stretch billboards but would walk away unscathed.

After a lengthy red flag period to get the track cleared, the field would line up for the restart with Donovan Flores (originally slated to start fifth) leading the field to the green.

Timing the start to perfection, the 44 of Christy Georges (originally slated to start eleventh) would dart from third to show the way on the opening lap with Jake Boles and Chad Falco taking over second and third.

With the field starting to spread out, the caution would wave for the M16 of Rick Gallardo after his engine erupted into a huge ball of fire; parking the Las Cruces racer on the high side of turn four. Back to green, the car on the move was the 9 of Jimmy Ray, taking over fourth from Rick Ortega before setting sail in the high line to take over second from the 555 of Chad Falco.

As Ray worked on running down the 44, the battle on the track was for fifth as Billy Johnson worked by Rick Ortega only to have the G17 of Fito Gallardo throw his name into the mix. After restarting at the tail of the field for changing a tire during the course of the earlier red flag Gallardo would take over fifth with just over 15 laps to run, beginning his run on the J7 of Jake Boles for fourth.

Into slower traffic with ten laps to run, the 44 of Georges would get held up, allowing the 9 of Ray to close in. Pulling within striking distance, Jimmy Ray would still be unable to make the pass as the battle for fifth heated up yet again. This time, it would Jacob Gallardoís J17, who also suffered damage in the earlier red, in the mix with Jake Boles and Billy Johnson.

Working past the 5 of Johnson for sixth, the J17 would continue to work the J7 for fifth with five laps to run. To the back bumper of the 44, the 9 of Ray would work high in an attempt to use slower traffic as a pick but as the slower cars parted, the 44 would not be denied as Christy Georges took the win; a truly bittersweet ending to a weekend that began with the 44 flipping at the El Paso Speedway Park on Friday night.

Jimmy Ray, Chad Falco, Fito Gallardo, and Jake Boles rounded out the top five.

Up next at the Southern New Mexico Speedway, the Renegade Sprint Car Series return to do battle on June 11th .

Saturday June 11th, gates open at 5:30pm with racing getting underway at 7:45pm. Admission is only $10 with children 11-15, Military, Seniors, Law Enforcement, and University Id getting in for $7. Kids 10 and under are free.

The Southern New Mexico Speedway is located 11 miles west of Las Cruces at the Southern New Mexico State Fairgrounds. Take exit 132 off I-10, turn left to Robert Larson Blvd., and then head west to the Speedway.

For turn by turn directions, log onto

For more information on the Speedway, log onto, link up with us on Facebook, and sign up the E-News Letter by texting the word "Speedway" to 22828 from your cell phone.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Weekly Racing Series
Southern New Mexico Speedway, Las Cruces, N.M.
Saturday, June 4, 2011


Feature: 1. Christy Georges, 2. Jimmy Ray, 3. Chad Falco, 4. Fito Gallardo, 5. Jake Boles, 6. Jacob Gallardo, 7. Billy Johnson, 8. Rick Ortega, 9. Greg Gorham, 10. Donavon Ooley, 11. Duane Murphy, 12. James Fleming, 13. Carlos Ahumada, 14. Joe Lackey, 15. Sherman Barnett, 16. Rick Gallardo, 17. Brent Tibbs, 18. Donavon Flores, 19. Holly Jones, 20. Chris Sims, 21. Dusty Riggs, 22. Dana Fite, 23. Roger Owens, 24. Todd Holliday.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group