Anderson cashes in, Mattick gets first win at Mississippi Thunder Speedway
Print this page
June 24, 2011  |  by Tracy Hager

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. -- Jack Baehman of Baehman Law was the host sponsor for the 3rd Annual Baehman Law B-Mod Challenge. In a $500-to-win show for the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods, a field of 21 cars vied for the big check, but before the green they would see a lot of yellow.

Brandon Hare and Bob Timm sat atop the field in the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mod main event. Hare took the lead followed by multiple lines of three-wide racing behind him. As the first lap was completed, the first of many cautions waved over the field.

Hare, Timm, Shaun Walski, Ben Anderson and Troy Langowski set up the top five in the restart. Hare and Timm pulled away from the field while Anderson moved into third ahead of Langowski and Walski as the two ran side by side for fourth place.

As Timm moved into Hares territory, the second caution arrived. Hare again restarted on the point followed by Timm, Anderson, Langowski and Walski. Walski slipped high and drifted back and was tagged half a lap later which resulted in caution five.

Multiple laps were difficult to string together and single file restarts ensued. Hare managed to hang onto the lead each time, but 18 laps and nine cautions later, Anderson took the win from Hare by inches. Langowski pulled a strong third-place finish followed by Timm and Jeremy Smith.

Jay Ihrke quickly shot to the lead from the second row in the USRA RHS Modified feature. Polesitter Josh Mattick ran second to Ihrke followed by Hank Rollinger Jr. as the cars then raced three-wide for the lead.

A caution reeled them back in for a complete restart however. Mattick took the lead on the restart while Rollinger wound it up on the high side, but Ihrke was able to shoot under Rollinger for second. John Doelle tried to work over Ben Mattick in the high groove for fourth, when Ihrke made the pass over Josh Mattick for the lead.

Rollinger slipped high in turn four which allowed Doelle to take third. The second and final caution reset the field with Ihrke on the point followed by Josh Mattick, Ben Mattick, Doelle and Rollinger. Brothers Ben and Josh Mattick ran side by side for second while Doelle followed in fourth. Rollinger worked hard to keep fifth place when Lucas Schott flew under Rollinger into the spot.

Up front, Josh Mattick made several attempts to take the lead from Ihrke, but Ihrke remained strong. By lap 11, Mattick was able to finally make the move to put him out front, but Ihrke remained a force in second. Schott threaded his way through the cars into third followed by Ben Mattick and Doelle.

Josh Mattick was finally able to pull away and left Ihrke to contend with the hard-charging Schott. Josh Mattick was able to keep the run going all the way to the checkered flag. Schott had to settle for second followed by Ihrke, Doelle and Adam Hensel.

On Friday, July 1, the USRA RHS Modifieds and USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods will be back in action, along with Late Models and Street Stocks plus four Mini-Mod divisions.

Visit for more details.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, June 24, 2011


Feature: 1. Ben Anderson, Brandon Hare, 2. Troy Langowski, 3. Bob Timm, 4. Jeremy Smith, 5. Tyler Creeley, 6. Alex Williamson, 7. Eric Verthein, 8. Greg Mattick, 9. Brandon Reutzel, 10. Jeremy Schaufenbuel, 11. Brady Keefe, 12. Erik Kanz, 13. Shaun Walski, 14. Patrick McCarthy, 15. Matt Buddenberg, 16. Jacob Bleess, 17. Nick Frion, 18. Matt Appel, 19. Jack Baehman, 20. Chad Kosidowski.

Heat 1: 1. Langowski, 2. Williamson, 3. Mattick, 4. Creeley, 5. Kanz, 6. Frion, 7. Smith.

Heat 2: 1. Anderson, 2. Hare, 3. Schaufenbuel, 4. Verthein, 5. Reutzel, 6. Bleess, 7. Appel.

Heat 3: 1. Timm, 2. Walski, 3. Buddenberg, 4. Baehman, 5. Kosidowski, 6. McCarthy, 7. Keefe.


Feature: 1. Josh Mattick, 2. Lucas Schott, 3. Jay Ihrke, 4. John Doelle, 5. Adam Hensel, 6. Bob Timm, 7. Josh Angst, 8. Ben Mattick, 9. Shane Wehrs, 10. Hank Rollinger Jr., 11. Lance Hofer, 12. Mike Gibson, 13. Jeff Rollinger, 14. Phil Wernert, 15. Thomas Brink, 16. Gary Wiersgalla.

Heat 1: 1. Angst, 2. H. Rollinger, 3. Doelle, 4. Gibson, 5. Brink, 6. Wiersgalla, 7. Schott, 8. Hensel.

Heat 2: 1. Ihrke, 2 .B. Mattick, 3. J. Mattick, 4. Wehrs, 5. Hofer, 6. J. Rollinger, 7. Wernert, 8. Timm.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group