Keeter back on track with USRA RHS Modified win at Springfield
Print this page
July 2, 2011  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- Defending USRA RHS Modified track champion Mitch Keeter nosed ahead of race leader Jerry Lankton on lap 16 to secure his first feature win of the season after a side by side duel Saturday night at the Springfield Raceway.

Lankton grabbed the opening lead at the start as Keeter, who has had motor problems the last two events, followed closely as Kyle Slagle also kept close. Using the bottom groove, Lankton was looking to secure his first-ever victory as Keeter moved to the middle lane. Meanwhile, current points leader Jackie Dalton began his surge forward and by lap 4 was in the mix up front along with Steve Martin.

Caution waved on lap 9 as Billy Dalton's night ended with problems. On the restart, Lankton found Dalton challenging for the top spot while Keeter, Slagle and Jody Tillman battled. On lap 11, Dalton vaulted to the front but caution waved on lap 13 as Martin slowed with a flat tire. On the restart, Lankton got around Dalton to take back the lead as Keeter followed through.

Side by side they raced with Keeter getting the top spot on lap 16 and held off repeated challanges from Lankton for his first win of the season. Dalton, Slagle and Tillman completed the top 5.

"This is a new motor from Yeoman Engines and it really worked good tonight," said Keeter.

Lankton also had a new Yeoman powerplant in and the second-year Modified driver really picked up the pace.

"We picked it up Friday night and worked almost all evening Friday and Saturday getting things ready," Lankton said. "That was fun racing door to door with Mitch. Jerry (Hoffman) had reworked the track after the Sprint Car B Feature and it provided us a good surface.."

Action continues next Saturday night, July 9, with the Mid-Season Championships and action in the USRA RHS Modifieds plus five other classes with racing at 7 p.m.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, July 2, 2011


Feature: 1. Mitch Keeter, Webb City; 2. Jerry Lankton, Lampe; 3. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 4. Kyle Slagle, Pierce City; 5. Jody Tillman, Branson; 6. Erik Maggard, Brighton; 7. Dwight Niehoff, Lockwood; 8. Eric Lampe, Springfield; 9. Darrell Jackson, Carthage; 10. Nick Whitehead, Nixa; 11. Steve Martin, Ozark; 12. James Esmond; 13. Billy Dalton, Exeter; 14. Tammy Mitchell, Pea Ridge, Ark.

1st Heat: 1. Slagle, 2. Maggard, 3. J. Dalton, 4. Lampe, 5. Martin, 6. Neihoff, 7. Whitehead.

2nd Heat: 1. Tillman, 2. Keeter, 3. Lankton, 4. Jackson, 5. Mitchell, 6. B. Dalton, 7. Esmond.

Latest News from the USRA

March 17, 2018
Smith captures TOMS season opener
The 2018 Touring Outlaw Modified Series season opener kicked off at the Southern Oklahoma Speedway under heavy clouds and the threat of rain. With a field of 29 entrieread more
March 17, 2018
Morton masters final feature at King of America VIII Iron Man Challenge
Things just kept getting better and better for J.C. Morton this weekend at the Humboldt Speedway for the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racinread more
March 16, 2018
I-35 Speedway season opener moved to March 24
Officials at the I-35 Speedway are moving the season opener to Saturday, March 24. Originally scheduled for March 17, Mother Nature has produced cold temperatures and read more
March 16, 2018
Zimmerman on top in Out-Pace USRA B-Mods at Humboldt
Veteran racer Randy Zimmerman of Fort Scott, Kan., flew by leader J.C. Morton on lap 16 of the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature, and then held off multiple challenges over theread more
March 15, 2018
King of America VIII Iron Man Challenge opener to Jolly
Thursday night kicked off the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racing Equipment at the Humboldt, and the 2018 campaign for the USRA Iron Man Chread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group