Schott sweeps USRA RHS Modifieds at Mississippi Thunder Speedway
Print this page
July 8, 2011  |  by Tracy Hager

Lucas Schott hit his marks and won his first USRA RHS Modified feature at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway Friday night.

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. -- Mississippi Thunder Speedway should be the cleanest it has been this season as several drivers swept their divisions. New faces graced victory lane in the multiple main events as double features were run in the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods and USRA RHS Modifieds due to the rain-out last week. A few more new faces were also on hand in the Modifieds in preparation for the big USMTS show next Friday.

Les Duellman hit victory lane in the make-up feature after a drought in the USRA RHS Modifieds and Ben Anderson made it through an early melee which resulted in several DNFs to win the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mod make-up feature.

After the make-ups were concluded, regular racing action began.

Shaun Walski topped a nail-biter in the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mod feature over youngster Parker Hale. Lucas Schott hit his marks and not only won his first feature at the track in the USRA RHS Modified division, but he also made it a clean sweep.

The young front row in the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mod feature consisted of Hale and Alex Williamson. The two took off in a side-by-side battle for the lead through the first lap, but a caution reset the field for a complete restart. In identical fashion to the first start, Hale and Williamson tore side by side until Hale edged Williamson for first.

Drew Lawson tailed the two in third place as Walski bolted into three-wide action with Williamson and Lawson for second. Walski continued to cruise as he searched for Hale out front. Cautions slowed the field again, and multiple restarts ensued.

Williamson dropped to the infield on one of the restarts which put Hale on the point followed by Erik Kanz, Walski, Lawson, and Troy Langowski with only five laps down. Walski took the lead from Hale, but he was reeled back in as the class struggled with green flag laps.

A single-file restart finally settled things down when Walski mounted a great challenge with Hale for first. The two continued to trade spots for the last half of the race. Walski and Hale ran side by side as they encountered lap traffic. One would take the lead at the line, and by the next lap, it was the other with the edge.

With two laps to go, Hale and Walski were dead even at the flagstand. Walski was able to hold steady enough to take the win from Hale. Jimmy Broszeit jumped in to finish third followed by Kanz and Lawson.

The USRA RHS Modifieds roared to the green flag as Josh Angst pulled the lead over Bob Timm. An early caution set Angst on the point ahead of Timm, Cole Queensland, Kelly Shryock and Jeff Rollinger. Angst pulled to the lead while Queensland, Timm and Shryock ran three-wide for second place.

A caution was pulled when Lance Hofer idled just off the track with a flat tire, and when the race resumed, another caution erupted for a spun car. Angst kept on the ball with his starts but soon Timm and Shryock were competing for the lead as well.

With only five laps down and after the fifth caution, a single-file restart set Angst, Shryock and Timm ahead of Lucas Schott, Jay Ihrke, Keith Foss and Ben Mattick. Shryock got under Angst to race side by side for the lead as Schott moved in on the pair.

With 10 laps down, Shryock took the lead over Angst while Schott decreased the distance between himself and Angst. With each lap, Schott gained considerably on Angst until the two ran side by side for second. Schott made the pass and was on his way to search out Shryock in the lead.

As laps were finally sewn together, Shryock continued his lead over Schott, Angst, Timm and Mattick. At lap 19, Schott climbed within inches to take the lead from Shryock at the line. Shryock darted back for the lead, and then Schott again headed out front. With two laps to go, Schott ran with it and pocketed his first feature win at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway. Shryock, Timm, Angst and Mattick rounded out the top five.

Next up will be the $2,000-to-win USMTS show on Friday, July 15, which will also include USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods and USRA RHS Modifieds as well as three other classes. A regular night of American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series action will occur Friday, July 22, and take special note that there will be no racing at MTS on Friday, July 29, due to the World Modified Dirt Track Championship presented by Hanson Tire Service at the Deer Creek Speedway that wekend.

Visit for more details.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, July 8, 2011


Make-up Feature (from July 1): 1. Ben Anderson, 2. Brandon Hare, 3. Erik Kanz, 4. Greg Mattick, 5. Shaun Walski, 6. Tyler Creeley, 7. Jack Baehman, 8. Brian Mahlstedt, 9. Patrick McCarthy, 10. Matt Appel, 11. Jimmy Broszeit, 12. Brandon Reutzel, 13. Alex Williamson, 14. Nick Frion, 15. Jake Timm, 16. Troy Langowski, 17. Troy Hovey, 18. Brian Hanson.

Feature: 1. Shaun Walski, 2. Parker Hale, 3. Jimmy Broszeit, 4. Erik Kanz, 5. Drew Lawson, 6. Ben Anderson, 7. Troy Langowski, 8. Greg Mattick, 9. Tyler Creeley, 10. Patrick McCarthy, 11. Brian Mahlstedt, 12. Nick Frion, 13. Brandon Reutzel, 14. Jake Timm, 15. Matt Appel, 16. Jack Baehman, 17. Brian Hanson, 18. Alex Williamson, 19. Brandon Hare.

Heat #1: 1. Anderson, 2. Broszeit, 3. Mahlstedt, 4. Williamson, 5. Creeley, 6. McCarthy, 7. Hanson.

Heat #2: 1. Kanz, 2. Lawson, 3. Hale, 4. Mattick, 5. Baehman, 6. Frion.

Heat #3: 1. Walski, 2. Langowski, 3. Hare, 4. Timm, 5. Reutzel, 6. Appel.


Make-up Feature (from July 1): 1. Les Duellman, 2. Ben Mattick, 3. Josh Angst, 4. Jay Ihrke, 5. Bob Timm, 6. Josh Mattick, 7. Kevin Viebrock, 8. Leroy Scharkey, 9. Lance Hofer, 10. John Doelle, 11. Shane Wehrs, 12. Phil Wernert, 13. Hank Rollinger Jr.

Feature: 1. Lucas Schott, 2. Kelly Shryock, 3. Bob Timm, 4. Josh Angst, 5. Ben Mattick, 6. Jay Ihrke, 7. Keith Foss, 8. Josh Mattick, 9. Les Duellman, 10. Kevin Viebrock, 11. Hank Rollinger Jr., 12. John Doelle, 13. Mick Glenn, 14. Shane Wehrs, 15. Cole Queensland, 16. Troy Brand, 17. Phil Wernert, 18. Lance Hofer, 19. Thomas Brink, 20. Jeff Rollinger, 21. Leroy Scharkey, 22. Gary Wiersgalla.

Heat #1: 1. Foss, 2. Brink, 3. J. Rollinger, 4. Brand, 5. Wernert, 6. Glenn, 7. B. Mattick, 8. H. Rollinger.

Heat #2: 1. Shryock, 2. Timm, 3. Ihrke, 4. J. Mattick, 5. Viebrock, 6. Wiersgalla, 7. Duellman.

Heat #3: 1. Schott, 2. Angst, 3. Hofer, 4. Queensland, 5. Doelle, 6. Wehrs, 7. Scharkey.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group