Kath holds off Hare, wires Iron Man Challenge B-Mods at Chateau Raceway
Print this page
July 14, 2011  |  by Todd Narveson

LANSING, Minn. -- After early morning showers fell in the area, it turned out to be a beautiful night as the Iron Man Challenge for USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods joined the USMTS Modifieds for a special Thursday night race program at Chateau Raceway.

Kylie Kath inherited the outside pole of the B-Mod main event when Parker Hale was unable to make the call. Hale’s misfortune became Kath’s celebration at the end of the 20-lap feature.

Kath bolted to the lead and pulled away from the pack as Jacob Bleess and Jake Timm had a dandy battle for second while defending USRA B-Mod National Champion Brandon Hare was fourth.

Kath was gone up front when Hare challenged Timm for third and they were right on Bleess for second.

Hare zipped past Timm on lap 13 and was close to Bleess but Michael Wytaske brought out the caution on lap 14 and that took care of Kath’s huge advantage.

Hare made a slick move on the restart and zoomed past Bleess for second. Timm then spun on lap 16 and the caution returned over the field.

Kath took off again, but this time Hare remained close to the leader. On the final lap, Hare took a stab at Kath but came up just short at the line.

Bleess had a strong run in third with points leader Matt Lettow fourth for his eighth top-5 finish in eight Iron Man Challenge starts. Josh Bonnstetter finished fifth after starting 16th.

The Iron Man Challenge will be back in action on Wednesday, July 20, for the series' third stop in two weeks at the Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa, Iowa, and then on Thursday, July 21, for the only appearance of the season at the Bloomfield Speedway in Bloomfield, Iowa.

USRA Karl Chevrolet Stock Cars and USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods will share the spotlight at both events in conjunction with the USMTS Modifieds.

Sixteen dates at eleven dirt ovals comprise the 2011 schedule for the second season of the Iron Man Challenge. Points for both classes will be awarded based on a driver’s 10 best nights. Licensed USRA drivers in both classes will also earn national points in the American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series.

The points fund for the Stock Cars carries a $2,000 top prize with the tenth-place finisher earning $200. In the B-Mod class, the points champion will earn $700 with tenth-place taking home $100.

To learn more about the USRA, visit www.usraracing.com or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook, join us on MySpace or follow us on Twitter.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Iron Man Challenge
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Thursday, July 14, 2011

Showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number, driver, hometown and money won.


Heat #1:
1. (1) 30 Scott Demmer, New Richland, Minn.
2. (6) 56H Brandon Hare, Elma, Iowa.
3. (2) 19 Jake Timm, Winona, Minn.
4. (7) 7t Jared Timmerman, Norwalk, Iowa.
5. (3) 21 Chris Weigert, New Hampton, Iowa.
6. (4) 64 John Warrington, Toeterville, Iowa.
7. (8) 31 Chris Trainer, Eagan, Minn.
8. (5) 10 Bob Schoenfelder, Grand Meadow, Minn.

Heat #2:
1. (2) 21 Jacob Bleess, Chatfield, Minn.
2. (4) 88 Nathan Chodur, Lake Mills, Iowa.
3. (1) 28 Parker Hale, Grand Meadow, Minn.
4. (6) 83 Kylie Kath, Owatonna, Minn.
5. (3) 21L Matt Lettow, Roland, Iowa.
6. (5) 7J Jeremy Smith, Luverne, Minn.
7. (8) 37 Michael Wytaske, Lansing, Minn.
8. (7) 80 Josh Bonnstetter, Slayton, Minn.

"A" Main:
1. (3) 83 Kylie Kath, Owatonna, Minn., $500.
2. (6) 56H Brandon Hare, Elma, Iowa, $400.
3. (1) 21 Jacob Bleess, Chatfield, Minn., $300.
4. (10) 21L Matt Lettow, Roland, Iowa, $200.
5. (16) 80 Josh Bonnstetter, Slayton, Minn., $175.
6. (7) 7t Jared Timmerman, Norwalk, Iowa, $150.
7. (12) 7J Jeremy Smith, Luverne, Minn., $130.
8. (8) 30 Scott Demmer, New Richland, Minn., $110.
9. (4) 88 Nathan Chodur, Lake Mills, Iowa, $100.
10. (9) 21 Chris Weigert, New Hampton, Iowa, $90.
11. (11) 64 John Warrington, Toeterville, Iowa, $85.
12. (5) 19 Jake Timm, Winona, Minn., $80.
13. (13) 31 Chris Trainer, Eagan, Minn., $75.
14. (14) 37 Michael Wytaske, Lansing, Minn., $75.
15. (15) 10 Bob Schoenfelder, Grand Meadow, Minn., $75.
16. (2) 28 Parker Hale, Grand Meadow, Minn., $50.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, Awesome Race Suits, Intercomp, Karl Chevrolet, Karl Performance Parts, KEVKO Oil Pans & Components, NITROQUEST, RACEceiver, RHS – Racing Head Service, Western Flyer Race Cars.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Boubin Tire & Automotive, BRODIX Cylinder Heads, DAY Motor Sports, DirtKnights.com, SpeedNet Direct.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: COMP Cams, Dirthead.com, Eibach Springs, Forty9Designs.com, Genesis Shocks, Hooker Custom Harness, KSE Racing Products, Marsh Racing Wheels, New Vision Graphics, PBM Performance Products, Real Racing Wheels, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group