Timm, Anderson top contenders at Mississippi Thunder Speedway
Print this page
July 22, 2011  |  by Tracy Hager

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. -- It was NAPA Night at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway on Friday and multiple wrench sets, coolers and more were given away to fans while the feature winners received items such as floor jacks, compressors and tool boxes. Air conditioning would have been a welcomed prize for anyone, however, but racing was still a success as no one spontaneously combusted in the sweltering heat.

Bob Timm was in pure form taking the win in the USRA RHS Modified feature while Ben Anderson tallied another win in the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods.

Troy Langowski and Jake Timm started off the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mod feature on the front row ahead of Tucker Breitung and Anderson. An immediate caution in turn 1 reset the field. Langowski took the lead, but Anderson was around him into first in no time followed by Brandon Hare, Langowski, Timm and Greg Mattick as drivers raced five-wide for sixth place out of turn 4.

Another caution reset the field with Anderson on the point. Timm gained steam as he shot under Langowski into second behind Anderson and Hare moved in behind Timm while Anderson pulled away in the lead. Langowski maintained his fourth-place spot while Erik Kanz moved in behind to fifth.

As the laps wound down, Timm made a charge under Anderson for the lead, but Anderson kept side by side with Timm. Langowski moved back to third, but once again Hare took the spot back. Timm then took over the lead from Anderson, but Timm got loose which allowed Anderson back to the lead.

Anderson was able to hold on and secure the win and the NAPA air compressor as a bonus. Hare finished second followed by Timm, Langowski and Kanz.

Hank Rollinger Jr. climbed into the pole position for the USRA RHS Modified main event. Rollinger was pursued right away by Bob Timm and Lucas Schott. Schott flew into the lead early and Timm dipped under Schott, but Schott held his ground. Rollinger raced hard for third as John Doelle closed in followed by Dan Bohr and Shane Wehrs.

Schott continued to lead over Timm, Doelle and Rollinger with no real challenges for some time. By lap 10, Schott moved into lapped traffic. A caution with 13 laps down pulled the field back together. Rollinger had been rolling some smoke for several laps, but eventually pulled in during the caution with a flat right rear tire.

On the restart, Schott kept his lead over the field while Doelle’s second place he had just taken was stripped back from him by Timm. Brad Waits zoomed his new machine into the top 5 and became a contender for the lead as Schott, Waits and Timm briefly ran three-wide for the top spot.

Timm eventually got the lead, followed hotly by Waits as the two left Schott in their dust. Timm was able to pull to a good lead, but Schott gained momentum as Waits then had Schott on his bumper for second place.

Timm sailed to the win while Waits pulled in a great on his first night at the speedway back in a Modified, followed by Schott. Ben Mattick crept into the top 5 to finish fourth, followed by Bohr.

There will be no races at Mississippi Thunder Speedway this Friday, July 29, due to the World Modified Dirt Track Championship presented by Hanson Tire Service at the Deer Creek Speedway. Racing will resume on Friday, Aug. 5, for the rescheduled USMTS $2,000-to-win show which was rained out on July 15. The show will also include USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods.

The next night on Saturday, Aug. 6, it will be will be the Rivercity Rumble featuring a second day of USMTS Modifieds plus all regular track classes.

Visit www.mississippithunder.com for more details.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, July 22, 2011


Feature:  1. Ben Anderson, 2. Brandon Hare, 3. Jake Timm, 4. Troy Langowski, 5. Erik Kanz, 6. Shaun Walski, 7. Jacob Bleess, 8. Nick Frion, 9. Alex Williamson, 10. Parker Hale, 11. Tyler Creeley, 12. Greg Mattick, 13. Jack Baehman, 14. Reutzel, 15. Kosidowski, 16. Brady Keefe, 17. Tucker Breitung, 18. Brian Hanson, 19. Matt Appel, 20. Patrick McCarthy.

Heat 1:  1. Mattick, 2. Anderson, 3. Kanz, 4. Langowski, 5. Baehman, 6. Keefe, 7. Walski.

Heat 2:  1. Bleess, 2. Breitung, 3. Williamson, 4. Creeley, 5. Appel, 6. Hanson, 7. Reutzel.

Heat 3:  1. Hare, 2. Timm, 3. Frion, 4. Kosidowski, 5. McCarthy, 6. Hale.


Feature:  1. Bob Timm, 2. Brad Waits, 3. Lucas Schott, 4. Ben Mattick, 5. Dan Bohr, 6. Josh Angst, 7. John Doelle, 8. Keith Foss, 9. Les Duellman, 10. Jay Ihrke, 11. Andy Bohnstengel, 12. Shane Wehrs, 13. Mike Gibson, 14. Steve Lavassseur, 15. Jeff Rollinger, 16. Lance Hofer, 17. Gary Wiersgalla, 18. Phil Wernert, 19. Hank Rollinger Jr., 20. Leroy Scharkey, 21. Tom Brink, 22. Cole Queensland.

Heat 1:  1. Bohr, 2. Doelle, 3. Scharkey, 4. Foss, 5. Queensland, 6. Brink, 7. Duellman, 8. Ihrke.

Heat 2:  1. Gibson, 2. Mattick, 3. Hofer, 4. Bohnstengel, 5. Wernert, 6. Lavasseur, 7. Wiersgalla.

Heat 3:  1. H. Rollinger, 2. Schott, 3. Timm, 4. Wehrs, 5. J. Rollinger, 6. Angst, 7. Waits.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group