Dalton grabs USRA RHS Modified main at Springfield
Print this page
July 23, 2011  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- A 30-minute rain shower Saturday afternoon at the Springfield Raceway helped to enhance the track's reputation as the "Quick Quarter." With 90 race teams checked into the pits on Reliable Chevrolet Night, fans were treated to side-by-side action all night long.

Current USRA track points leader Jackie Dalton found himself back in the winner's circle in the USRA RHS Modifieds.

Erik Maggard grabbed the pole with Dalton alongside as the second half of the season got underway. Maggard grabbed the opening lead with Dalton, Bobby Pearish, Brian Green and John Yeoman III following.

The race's only caution waved on lap 1 as Darrell Jackson spun up high in turn 3, bunching the field up. On the restart, Maggard quickly jumped to the lead as Pearish was riding the top groove and Dalton found his car working best on the low side.

With Maggard using the low groove, Pearish was making up ground quickly as Dalton stayed close behind. On lap 12, Maggard went to the top side as Pearish had been applying heavy pressure. A little contact between the top two in turn 4 and then turn 2 allowed Dalton to quietly close the gap as a great battle was behind this trio including Green, Kyle Slagle, Jerry Lankton, Jody Tillman and Yeoman.

On lap 14, Maggard and Pearish made contact in turn 2, slowing both drivers up as Dalton shot to the low side to take the lead. Pearish was able to get around Maggard for the second place but was never able to run down the four-time track champion.

Following the lead duo to the line was Maggard, Tillman and Yeoman.

Defending USRA RHS Modified track champion champion and winner of the last two features, Mitch Keeter deveolped problems during hot laps and never made the feature call.

Action continues next Saturday night at the Springfield Raceway featuring USRA RHS Modifieds, B-Mods, Midwest Modz, Legends, StreetStocks and Pure Stocks. Grandstand gates open at 5 p.m. with racing to start at 7:15.

For more information visit the website at www.springfieldraceway.com or contact promoter Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, July 23, 2011


Feature: 1. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 2. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo; 3. Erik Maggard, Brighton; 4. Jody Tillman, Branson; 5. John Yeoman III, Granby; 6. Brian Green, Pierce City; 7. Kyle Slagle, Pierce City; 8. Jerry Lankton, Lampe; 9. Danny DeMasters II, Neosho; 10. Billy Dalton, Exeter; 11. Nick Whitehead, Ozark; 12. Billy Smith, Rogers, Ark.; 13. Nathan Cottrell, Nixa; 14. Darrell Jackson, Carthage; 15. Tim Simon, Joplin; DNS - Mitch Keeter, Webb City.

Heat #1: 1. Dalton; 2. Maggard; 3. Yeoman; 4. DeMasters; 5. Simon; 6. Jackson; 7. Cottrell; 8. Whitehead.

Heat #2: 1. Green; 2. Pearish; 3. Tillman; 4. Slagle; 5. Lankton; 6. B Dalton; 7. Smith; DNS - Keeter.

Latest News from the USRA

April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
April 21, 2018
O'Neil, Sheen, Ray round two winners at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
The great race fans of the southwest joined the Southern New Mexico Speedway for round two of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout and making it a vigorous night preseread more
April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group