USRA Stock Cars, B-Mods trek to Cresco, Fountain City for Iron Man Challenge clashes
Print this page
August 1, 2011

CRESCO, Iowa -- Ten races are in the books, and now the drivers seeking the 2011 Iron Man Challenge crowns head to familiar territory and new frontiers this Thursday and Friday, Aug. 4-5.

Back-to-back events in conjunction with the USMTS Modifieds will happen this Thursday at the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa, and then move to the Mississippi Thunder Speedway in Fountain City, Wis., on Friday.

USRA Karl Chevrolet Stock Car drivers will be racing for $700 to win each night while a $500 top prize awaits the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mod winner at the end of each program.

Last year, Brian Gjere of Mabel, Minn., held off eventual Iron Man Challenge points champion Nathan Wood of Sigourney in a wild Stock Car finish at Cresco. Wood comes into this week’s doubleheader as the current Iron Man points leader for the Stock Cars, but clings to just a nine-point advantage over Justin Temeyer of Independence.

Lurking not far behind in the standings is the most recent winner Jeff Joldersma of McClelland, followed by Polk City’s Steve Jackson, Chris Ulrich of Kiron. Last year’s runner-up in the points, Mike Van Genderen of Newton sits sixth, but has two wins and six top-5 finishes in just seven starts.

Matt Lettow of Roland has led the Iron Man B-Mod points since the first race of the year, but is coming into the backyard of defending USRA National Champion Brandon Hare of Elma who, like Lettow, has captured two Iron Man Challenge checkered flags this year.

Jared Timmerman of Norwalk is currently second in the rankings, followed by Carter VanDenBerg of Oskaloosa, Hare and three-time winner Cayden Carter of Oskaloosa.

The B-Mods are a regular fixture at both Cresco and Fountain City, but Friday’s event will be the first-ever chance for the USRA-sanctioned Stock Cars to circle Bob Timm’s majestic Mississippi Thunder Speedway.

At Cresco on Thursday, pit gates open at 4 p.m. grandstands open at 5, hot laps begin at 7 and the first heat race gets the green flag at 7:30. USRA Hobby Stocks will also be on the racing card competing for national points in the American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series.

The Cresco Speedway is located 2 blocks north of SR 9 on SW 7th (at the Howard County Fairgrounds). Day-of-the-race info is available by calling the track office at 563-547-3400. The Cresco Speedway is online at

Friday at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway, the pits will open at 4 p.m. and the grandstands will swing open at 5. Hot laps begin at 6:30 with racing to follow at 7 p.m.

The Mississippi Thunder Speedway is located 3.0 miles north of Fountain City on SR 35. For more information, call 608-687-3282 or visit on the World Wide Web.

Nineteen dates at thirteen dirt ovals comprise the 2011 schedule for the second season of the Iron Man Challenge. Points for both classes will be awarded based on a driver’s 10 best nights. Licensed USRA drivers in both classes also earn national points in the American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series, and some tracks may also award track points.

The Iron Man Challenge points fund for the Stock Cars carries a $2,000 top prize with the tenth-place finisher earning $200. In the B-Mod class, the points champion will earn $700 with tenth-place taking home $100.

To learn more about the USRA, visit or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook, join us on MySpace or follow us on Twitter.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, Awesome Race Suits, Intercomp, Karl Chevrolet, Karl Performance Parts, KEVKO Oil Pans & Components, NITROQUEST, RACEceiver, RHS – Racing Head Service, Western Flyer Race Cars.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Boubin Tire & Automotive, BRODIX Cylinder Heads, DAY Motor Sports,, SpeedNet Direct.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: COMP Cams,, Eibach Springs,, Genesis Shocks, Hooker Custom Harness, KSE Racing Products, Marsh Racing Wheels, New Vision Graphics, PBM Performance Products, Real Racing Wheels, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group