Scott charges to win at Southern New Mexico Speedway
Print this page
July 30, 2011  |  by Bryan Hulbert

LAS CRUCES, N.M. -- As hot laps came to a close, the night began with a tribute to Rev. Jim Higby who lost his life during the week due to a stroke. Replaying his final prayer at the Southern New Mexico Speedway one week ago as the night’s invocation there was not too many dry eyes in the stands.

After a three-wide salute to the fans, the USRA RHS Modifieds lined up for 30 laps but the green would quickly turn red as the Jay Rosales slammed the outside wall with Chad Falco flipping off the top of turn 1 that forced the race to a stop. Done but uninjured, Falco's racecar was be cleared from the track as the field lined up for the restart.

Back to green, Austin Adams held the lead from the pole as the car on the move was Royal Jones. On the first lap, Jones bolted from fifth to second as the low line was left wide open as the field raced to lap 2 and Jones raced to the lead as Adams tripped the cushion in turns 1-2 before the caution waved for Jimmy Ray.

To the double-file restart, the fight for third took off as Holly Jones and Stormy Scott ran wheel to wheel. Running the high line, Scott got two for one, getting the pass on Holly Jones for third and Dickie Gorham for second.

Inside 25 laps to run, the battle was for the lead as Scott worked the high line on Jones. Wheel to wheel, Scott finally made the pass but into slower traffic let Jones back into the lead before Randy Knott got caught up in the fight for the lead and spun to a stop, forcing the yellow flag.

Ten laps in and 20 to go, Scott showed the way as the leader on the last fully completed lap with Royal and Holly Jones running second and third. After his second trip to the work area, Ray rolled back to the racing surface at the tail end of the field as up front the fight was on again as Royal Jones worked to the bottom to steal the lead with 16 laps to go but on the high line Scott bolted back into the lead at the halfway point.

Meanwhile, Ray was flying through the field and raced into sixth on his second trip from the back of the pack. Back up front and into slower traffic, Scott split cars as Royal Jones continued to give chase with the field within seven laps of the checkered flag.

Into the top five, Ray took fourth away from Holly Jones as the fight for third was with Rosales. After slamming the wall to start of the night’s A-Main, Rosales was in fine form as he worked on holding off Ray in the final laps with Scott taking the win. Royal Jones, Rosales, Ray and Holly Jones rounded out the top 5.

Heat race wins went to Scott, Rosales, and Tom Georges.

The next show at the Southern New Mexico Speedway will be next Saturday, Aug. 6, as the USRA Western Flyer HotMods return. Gates to the grandstands will open at 5:30 p.m. with racing getting underway at 7:45. Admission will be $10 for adults. Kids ages 11-15, members of the military, seniors, law enforcement personnel and university students getting in for $7 while children 10 and under get in for free.

The Southern New Mexico Speedway is located 11 miles west of Las Cruces at the Southern New Mexico State Fairgrounds. Take exit 132 off I-10, turn left to Robert Larson Blvd., and then head west to the Speedway. For more information on the Speedway, log onto, link up with us on Facebook, and sign up the e-newsletter by texting the word "Speedway" to 22828 from your cell phone.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Southern New Mexico Speedway, Las Cruces, N.M.
Saturday, July 30, 2011


Heat #1: 1. Stormy Scott, 2. Austin Adams, 3. Holly Jones, 4. Dusty Riggs, 5. Billy Johnson, 6. Randy Knott, 7. Chris Sims.

Heat #2: 1. Jay Rosales, 2. Royal Jones, 3. Donavon Ooley, 4. Rick Ortega, 5. Joe Lackey, 6. Christy Georges.

Heat #3: 1. Tom Georges, 2. Dickie Gorham, 3. Jimmy Ray, 4. Kevin Clark, 5. Chad Falco, 6. James Fleming.

Feature: 1. Stormy Scott, 2. Royal Jones, 3. Jay Rosales, 4. Jimmy Ray, 5. Holly Jones, 6. Dickie Gorham, 7. Christy Georges, 8. Rick Ortega, 9. Tom Georges, 10. Chris Sims, 11. Donavon Ooley, 12. Dusty Riggs, 13. James Fleming, 14. Kevin Clark, 15. Randy Knott, 16. Joe Lackey, 17. Austin Adams, 18. Billy Johnson, 19. Chad Falco.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group