Bryant captures first USRA RHS Modified feature at Springfield
Print this page
August 13, 2011  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- When fans come to Springfield Raceway they know the USRA RHS Modified feature is one of the toughest field of weekly show drivers in the four-state area with the names of Dalton, Keeter, Tillman, Maggard and others. Well add yet another name to the list of front-runners as former Factory Stock front-runner Robbie Bryant of Willard -- a rookie in the USRA RHS Modified division -- captured an action-packed feature Saturday night at the Springfield Raceway.

Bryant, back behind the wheel of a local racecar, took the lead from Darian Hendrix on lap 13 and went on to capture his first ever USRA RHS Modified feature on Deer Lake Golf & Fitness Night.

The star-studded field of 17 cars took to the quick quarter-mile with Hendrix and Eric Lampe seting the early pace. Lampe grabbed the lead on lap 2 as Hendrix and Lampe went side by side. On lap 4, Hendrix took back the lead and was loking to add his name to the long list of feature winners this season.

Rookie driver Billy Dalton was enjoying his finest run this season as he took his car right behind the lead duo to challange while a torrid battle between defending champion Mitch Keeter, Bryant, four-time champion Jackie Dalton, tow-time winner Bobby Pearish and others were swapping spots as only Springfield Raceway racing does.

On lap 5, Turkey Classic champion Jody Tillman's second half troubles continued as the hard charger pulled high in turn 4 with problems. On the double-file restart, Lampe picked the bottom lane and pulled even with leader Hendrix. Caution flew again on lap 7 as Jon Yeoman Jr. got sideways, bunching the field up again. With Lampe again choosing the low side, Bryant found himself on the bottom lane as the green flew again. Hendrix ran the middle lane as Bryant shot around both Keeter and Lampe to secure second place.

During this long green run, Bryant found a diamond line around the dirt oval and made his winning move on lap 13, leaving the rest behind. A great classic Springfield battle saw Keeter and Jackie Dalton wage war for second place while Erik Maggard was moving quietly through the field. With no more cautions, Bryant found himself in the winners circle with ease as Keeter, Jackie Dalton, Maggard and early pace-setter Hendrix in the top 5 as 15 of the 17 starters completed the feature on the lead lap.

"I'm glad that race stayed green," quoted Bryant. "I knew that it wouldn't be long before Keeter and Dalton would be coming and Maggard is always in the hunt here at Springfield. My car was really good in the long runs and we have worked hard on getting this program together this season. My dad has really been a big part as he always has in my racing. We have been learning more each week and it fells good to get a win tonight. This is different than a Factory Stock and I haven't really been racing for two seasons or so."

Next week at the Springfield Raceway, the USRA RHS Modifieds will be back in action along with the Show-Me Racing Series Late Models, Midwest Modz, B-Mods, Legends and Pure Stocks.

Pit gates will open at 3:30 p.m., grandstand gates open at 5, hot laps are at 6:30 and racing starts at 7:15.

For more information visit the website at or contact Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426. The raceday track phone is 417-863-0097 or you can recieve mobile updates by texting "SPRINGFIELDRACEWAY" to 368674.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, August 13, 2011


Feature: 1. Robbie Bryant, Willard; 2. Mitch Keeter, Webb City; 3. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 4. Erik Maggard, Brighton; 5. Darian Hendrix, Joplin; 6. Eric Lampe, Springfield; 7. Billy Dalton, Exeter; 8. John Yeoman III, Granby; 9. Steve Martin, Ozark; 10. Marvin Forrest, Shell Knob; 11. Jerry Lankton, Lampe; 12. Brian Green, Pierce City; 13. Jon Yeoman Jr., Granby; 14. Billy Smith, Rogers, Ark.; 15. Kyle Slagle, Pierce City; 16. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo; 17. Jody Tillman, Branson.

Heat #1: 1. Pearish; 2. Lampe; 3. Lankton; 4. Forrest; 5. Yeoman III; 6. Tillman.

Heat #2: 1. Maggard; 2. Hendrix; 3. Bryant; 4. Green; 5. Yeoman Jr.; 6. Slagle.

Heat #3: 1. Keeter; 2. B. Dalton; 3. J. Dalton; 4. Martin; 5. Smith.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group