Scharkey breaks through at Chateau Raceway
Print this page
August 19, 2011  |  by Todd Narveson

LANSING, Minn. -- Going into this week’s action at the Chateau Raceway, there were only two nights for drivers to earn points towards track championships. A few will go right to the last checkered flag on Aug. 27 and Track Championship Night.

A.J. Wiste took off from row 1 in the USRA RHS Modified main event wile Greg Jensen and Brandon Davis ran close with Todd Scharkey in the mix. Scharkey used the top groove to pass Davis for fourth on lap 6 and Jason Cummins cracked the top 5 just before the caution came out for a spun car on lap 14.

On the restart, Jensen and Wiste banged together and Scharkey took advantage to nab the lead. From there, Scharkey had the field covered for his first win of 2011. Cummins eventually got to second, but had nothing for Scharkey despite a late restart. Wiste ran third with Jacob Dahle and Jensen fourth and fifth.

New week is the final night for track points to decide the 2011 track championships. The final car ride night for the kids will take place at 7 p.m. with racing to follow. There are several tight point battles that will come down to the final lap.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, August 19, 2011


Feature: 1. Todd Scharkey, Kasson; 2. Jason Cummins, New Richland; 3. A.J. Wiste, Adams; 4. Jacob Dahle, Elk Horn, Neb.; 5. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 6. Brandon Davis, Medford; 7. Joe Horgdal, Kasson; 8. Jeremy Misgen, New Richland; 9. Cole Queensland, Grand Meadow; 10. Dustin Steinbrink, Austin; 11. Robby Franklin, Plymouth; 12. Leroy Scharkey, Rochester; 13. Wally Bustad, Austin; 14. Nate Zimmerman, Janesville.

Heat #1: 1. Cummins; 2. Davis; 3. Horgdal; 4. Wiste; 5. Jensen; 6. Steinbrink; 7. Zimmerman.

Heat #2: 1. T. Scharkey; 2. L. Scharkey; 3. Dahle; 4. Misgen; 5. Queensland; 6. Franklin; 7. Bustad.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group