Cummins wins feature, points title at Chateau Raceway
Print this page
August 26, 2011  |  by Todd Narveson

LANSING, Minn. -- The 2011 regular season came to a conclusion with the final night of track points on Friday night. Several point battles came down to the wire on the final night. One driver claimed his fourth straight title, another made it two in a row, one driver added another championship and three new champions were crowned.

It was also the third and final “kid’s ride” night as children in attendance had the opportunity to ride in their favorite racecar before the races began. There was a pretty good throng of young racers that took advantage of that chance.

A.J. Wiste stormed off the outside of row one for the lead in the USRA RHS Modified feature. Mark Teske, Jason Cummins and Brandon Davis were right on Wiste. In turn four, Teske went below Wiste, Davis stuck it in the middle and Cummins drove to the top. They were four wide for the lead down the frontstretch and into turn one.

Contact was made amongst the four and cars spun. Teske was charge with the yellow and went to the tail. Cummins quickly bolted to second and then blew to the lead on lap three. Davis came along for the ride to second and they took off. Joe Horgdal, Todd Scharkey and Darwyn Karau were now three wide for fourth and Scharkey took the spot. A yellow slowed the pace and calmed things down.

Cummins and Davis again took off when the green flag returned. Wiste was attacked by Scharkey and Horgdal with both able to make the pass. A four-car tangle in turn three brought out another caution flag. On the yellow Davis exited the speedway with mechanical issues.

Cummins dominated from there for his fifth win of the year. Cummins also claimed his second straight track championship. Scharkey had another strong run in second with Horgdal third. Doug Hillson and Mark Noble finished out the top five spots.

There are still three race programs on the schedule at Chateau. The first is this Friday, September 2. The touring USMTS Modifieds will invade the speedway with a stop on the Casey’s General Store Hunt For The National Championship. Also on the cars will be WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds, WISSOTA Street Stocks and Pure Stocks. Hot laps are at 7:00 p.m. with racing to follow. Check out for all the details and upcoming schedule.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, August 26, 2011


Feature: 1. Jason Cummins, New Richland; 2. Todd Scharkey, Kasson; 3. Joe Horgdal, Kasson; 4. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 5. Mark Noble, Blooming Prairie; 6. Andrew Wiste, Adams; 7. Mark Teske, Spring Valley; 8. Darwyn Karau, Kasson; 9. Robby Franklin, Plymouth; 10. Jeremy Misgen, New Richland; 11. Wally Bustad, Austin; 12. Brandon Davis, Medford; 13. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea.

Heat #1: 1. Davis; 2. Jensen; 3. Cummins; 4. Horgdal; 5. Teske; 6. Franklin; 7. Misgen.

Heat #2: 1. Scharkey; 2. Wiste; 3. Hillson; 4. Karau; 5. Bustad; 6. Noble.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group