Kastli, Heins, Konkel, Deery top Cresco features
Print this page
May 23, 1999

CRESCO, IA (May 23, 1999) - A cold and windy but dry night greeted racers and fans Sunday night as Jim's Body Shop of Cresco sponsored the nights racing action at the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa.

The Hobby Stocks started the nights racing action with heat wins going to Roger Deery of New Hampton, Jay Schwamnan of Ft. Atkins and Brian Losen of Ridgeway.

Next up was the Stock Car class with heats wins going to Kevin Bidne of Decorah, Brian Tank of New Hampton and Tony Trowler of New Hampton. E.M. Fretheim of Decorah picked up the B main win.

Modified heat wins went to Dan Bohr of Decorah, Kyle Chiglo of Rushford, Minn., and Chuck Stanton of New Hampton.

Picking up heat wins in the IMCA Late Model class were Layne Meyer of West Union and Chris Adams of Meyer.

Roger Deery looked to have the Hobby Stock feature well in hand with until a yellow flag flew with two laps remaining, bunching up the field. Deery held off a hard-charging Jeff Vsetecka and Brian Losen to pick up the win. Jeff Larson, Mike Jones and Jason Schlangen rounded out the top five.

In the Stock Car feature race, Kevin Bidne took an early lead until the halfway point when Brian Tank, who was running second, spun to bring out the yellow. On the restart, Ron Konkel passed to take the lead and never looked back. Tank worked his way back through the field to regain the second spot followed by Mike Sweeney, Darrell Devries and Troy Scholbrock.

A multi-car wreck started off the Modified feature race, putting five cars to the infield before a lap could be run. After another yellow flag, Tim Heins of Elkador drove his car to the finish line picking up his first feature win of the year. Kyle Chiglo, Ken Hofner, Dan Bohr and Terry Johanns rounded out the top five.

Layne Meyer was looking for his first victory of the year in the IMCA Late Model feature. Meyer led from the drop of the green flag until he got slowed by lapped traffic, allowing Greg Kastli to pull even. Coming down the front straight for the checkered flag, Kastli, of Waterloo, pulled out a half car win. Curt Martin, Chris Adams and Dale Hackwell Jr. finished 3-5.

Join us next week as KVIKing Gold Radio sponsors the nights racing action at the Cresco Speedway. See you there!


Hobby Stock

Heat winners: Roger Deery, Jay Schwamman, Brian Losen.

A Feature: 1. Deery; 2. Jeff Vsetecka; 3. Losen; 4. Jeff Larson; 5. Mike Jones; 6. Jason Schlangen; 7. Rick Stockman; 8. Dave Mayer; 9. Lee Hansmeier; 10. Mel Tieskotter; 11. Tory Reicks; 12. Corry Usher; 13. Tim Gebel; 14. Pat Kelly; 15. Schwamman; 16. Tony Severson; 17. Troy Sobolik; 18. John Andrus; 19. Kenny Dotzler; 20. Nathan Ferrie.

Stock Car

Heat winners: Kevin Bidne, Brian Tank, Troy Trower.

B Feature: 1. E.M. Fretheim; 2. Brad Quirk; 3. Brian Gjere; 4. Gerald Peter; 5. Shawn Peter; 6. Matt Albert; 7. Jim Peter; 8. Mike Bersan; 9. Loren Shriver.

A Feature: 1. Ron Konkel; 2. Tank; 3. Mike Sweeney; 4. Darrel Devries; 5. Troy Scholbrock; 6. Jake Ludeking; 7. Bidne; 8. Dan McMillan; 9. Troy Hansmeier; 10. Dennis Solberg; 11. Greg Snitker; 12. G. Peter; 13. Rodney Zubrod; 14. Steve Holthaus; 15. Trower; 16. S. Peter; 17. Marinus Mlady; 18. Gjere; 19. Fretheim; 20. Quirk.


Heat winners: Dan Bohr, Kyle Chiglo, Chuck Stanton.

A Feature: 1. Tim Heins; 2. Chiglo; 3. Ken Hofner; 4. Bohr; 5. Terry Johanns; 6. Troy Hale; 7. Brian Browner; 8. Rod Hinz; 9. Brad Rain; 10. Kevin Hoehne; 11. Scott Bauer; 12. Todd Suhr; 13. Curt Carey; 14. Dennis Fink; 15. Stanton; 16. Larry Schmidt; 17. Bob Schult; 18. Larry Grube; 20. Jewell Losee.

IMCA Late Model

Heat winners: Layne Meyer, Chris Adams.

A Feature: 1. Greg Kastli; 2. Meyer; 3. Curt Martin; 4. Adams; 5. Dale Hackwell Jr.; 6. Darren Ackerman; 7. Brian Hunter; 8. Greg Breuning; 9. Dave Kirchner; 10. Bob Fisher; 11. Darin Burco; 12. Ben Schaeffer; 13. Kevin Kirkpatrick.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group