Martin finds victory twice at Cresco
Print this page
June 13, 1999

CRESCO, IA (June 13, 1999) - Pepsi-Cola Bottling of Decorah welcomed racers and fans to a night of exciting racing action at the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa, Sunday night.

The IMCA Late Models started the night's racing with heat wins going to Dale Hackwell, Jr. of Washburn, Jim Gallery of Winthrop and Rick Wendling of Hazelton.

The Stock Cars were next to take the track with heat wins going to Tony Trower of New Hampton, Marinus Mlady of Cresco and Kevin Bidne of Decorah. Ron Konkel of New Albin picked up the B main win.

Curt Carey of Ionia and Chuck Stanton of New Hampton picked up the heat wins in the Modified class.

Dave Mayer of Riceville, Jason Schlangen of Cresco and Mike Jones of Waterville picked up the heat wins in the Hobby Stock class. Jay Schwamman of Ft. Atkinson won the B main.

A horrible accident started out the IMCA Late Model feature. Darren Ackerman, Jason Weis and Ben Schaefer all escaped serious injuries as their cars were involved in one of the worst accidents ever witnessed at the speedway. After cars got together going down the front straight, Ackerman and Schaefer ended up in the wall going into turn number one, with Ackerman rolling his car. With nowhere to go, Weis ran into the cars and was launched over 20 feet into the air, coming down nose first and then being bounced over the wall and into the trees. Luckily, all drivers walked away with only bumps and bruises. On the restart, Curt Martin of Independence worked his way the the front of the pack and walked away with the win. Gallery, Kevin Kirkpatrick, Layne Meyer and Wendling finished 2-5.

Mlady took the early lead in the Stock Car feature only to see Bidne pull even with three laps to go. For those three laps, the two drivers battled side by side. At the finish line, Bidne pulled past by less than a foot to pick up his third feature win in a row. Tony Trower, Mike Bergan and Brian Tank rounded out the top five.

Dan Bohr of Decorah worked his way to the front of the field and held off Kevin Stoa, Chuck Stanton, Brian Bronner and Larry Schmidt to pick up his third straight Modified feature win.

The Hobby Stocks were next to take to the track. Brian Losen of Ridgeway took advanage of Dave Mayer going completely sideways going down the front staight to pick up the feature win. Mayer recovered to take second followed by Jeff Larson, Mike Jones and Jeff Vsetecka. Roger Deerey and Rick Stockman both escaped serious injury as they were involved in a hard accident at the finish line when Deery got sideways and was hit broad-side by Stockman. Both drivers were okay.

Martin made it a clean sweep in the IMCA Late Models as he pulled out the victory in the make-up feature from last week. Wendling, Greg Kastli, Greg Hunter and Chris Adams finished 2-5.

Join us next week at the Cresco Speedway for more exciting racing action. See you there!


imca late model

Make-up Feature: (from June 16 rain-out)

Curt Martin, Rick Wendling, Greg Kastli, Greg Hunter, Chris Adams, Layne Meyer, Dale Hackwell Jr., Kevin Kirkpatrick, Shane Metz, Rob Toland, John Reidy, Darin Burco, Dave Kirchner, Brian Hunter, Jim Gallery, Bob Fisher, Greg Bruening, Jason Weis

Heat winners:

Dale Hackwell Jr., Jim Gallery, Rick Wendling

A Feature:

Curt Martin, Jim Gallery, Kevin Kirkpatrick, Layne Meyer, Rick Wendling, Chris Adams, Greg Kastli, Dale Hackwell Jr., Rob Toland, Darin Burco, Greg Hunter, John Reidy, Shane Metz, Bob Fisher, Dave Kirchner, Brian Hunter, Greg Bruening, Darren Ackerman, Jason Weis, Ben Schaeffer

stock car

Heat winners:

Tony Trower, Marinus Mlady, Kevin Bidne

B Feature:

Ron Konkel, Lorin Kurth, Paul Kottschade, Scott Bauer, Dan McMillan, Troy Hansmeier, Todd Watts, Matt Albert, Greg Snitker

A Feature:

Kevin Bidne, Marinus Mlady, Tony Trower, Mike Bergan, Brian Tank, Steve Holthaus, Ron Konkel, Brad Blake, Gerald Peter, Lorin Kurth, Darrel Devries, Adam Martinson, Jake Ludeking, Troy Scholbrock, Dan McMillan, Mike Sweeney, Scott Bauer, Dennis Solberg, Paul Kottschade


Heat winners:

Curt Carey, Chuck Stanton

A Feature:

Dan Bohr, Kevin Stoa, Chuck Stanton, Brian Bronner, Larry Schmidt, Curt Carey, Jason Weis, Kyle Chiglo, Mike Isder, Brad Rain, Tim Heins, Dennis Fink, Kevin Hoehne, Troy Hale, Ken Hofner, Jewell Losee, Mark Swancatt, John Grube

hobby stock

Heat winners:

Dave Mayer, Jason Schlangen, Mike Jones

B Feature:

Jay Schwamman, Lee Hansmeier, Kenny Dotzler, Pat Kelly, Nathan Ferrie, Eric Rodas, John Andrus

A Feature:

Brian Losen, Dave Mayer, Jeff Larson, Mike Jones, Jeff Vsetecka, Jason Schlangen, Rick Stockman, Jay Schwamman, Troy Reicks, Nathan Ferrie, Kenny Dotzler, Tony Severson, Pat Kelly, Corry Usher, Roger Deery, Rick Byrnes, Lee Hansmeier, Troy Sobolik, Mel Tieskotter

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group