Maggard untouchable in Larry Phillips Memorial
Print this page
October 1, 2011

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- A field of 138 race teams were on hand Saturday night at the Springfield Raceway for the Larry Phillips Memorial presented by Joplin's Home Pro.

Erik Maggard of Brighton was untouchable as he jumped from his front row pole spot to lead every lap in the $500-to-win USRA RHS Modified feature. Maggard, the runner-up in track points standings, survived a couple of restarts from Travis Smith and went untouched in the 20-lap feature. Smith made a strong showing in grabbing the runner-up honors while Robbie Bryant charged to finish third with 2010 champion Mitch Keeter and 2011 champion Jackie Dalton following.

Next up at the Springfield Raceway will be the action-packed Bordertown Casino OctoberFast on Saturday, Oct. 15. The special high-paying event will feature USRA RHS Modifieds, plus B-Mods, Midwest Modz, Legends Cars, Pure Stocks and Bombers, along with the Battle of Law Enforcement race to help raise money for 1 Missing Link and the popular Bordertown Money drop during intermission for some lucky race fans.
Pit gates will open at 10:30 a.m. with the grandstands opening at 1 p.m. Hot laps begin at 2 and racing starts at 3 p.m.

Last season this event drew over 140 races teams and over 20 law enforcement race teams. This season the event will pay $1,222 to the USRA RHS Modified feature winner.

For more information visit the website at or contact Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426. The raceday track phone is 417-863-0097 or you can recieve mobile updates by texting "SPRINGFIELDRACEWAY" to 368674.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, October 1, 2011


Feature: 1. Erik Maggard, Brighton; 2. Travis Smith, Parson, Kan.; 3. Robbie Bryant, Willard; 4. Mitch Keeter, Webb City; 5. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 6. Terry Kirk, Urbana; 7. Brian Green, Pierce City; 8. John Yeoman III, Granby; 9. Dustin Campbell, Nevada; 10. Kyle Slagle, Pierce City; 11. Eric Lampe, Springfield; 12. Dwight Neihoff, Lockwood; 13. Billy Dalton, Exeter; 14. Marvin Forrest, Shell Knob; 15. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo; 16. Randy Lebow, Galena; 17. Jordan McCrimmon, Bolivar; 18. Nick Whitehead, Ozark; 19. Kaelie Archer, Bolivar; 20. Daniel Franklin, Eureka Springs, Ark.; 21. Tammy Mitchell, Pea Ridge, Ark.; 22. Chase Jones, El Dorado Springs.

Latest News from the USRA

January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
January 12, 2018
Jegtvig posts Friday night victory at Wild Wet Shootout
Blake Jegtvig became the fourth different winner in as many USRA Modified main events Friday night during Round 4 of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootoread more
January 10, 2018
Schott scores in Wild West Shootout Wednesday night action
Lucas Schott scored the USRA Modified victory Wednesday evening during the third round of the Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group