Bone deals winning hand in 6th Annual Bordertown Casino OctoberFAST
Print this page
October 15, 2011

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- Current USRA RHS Modified national points leader Johnny Bone Jr. had a tough decision for Saturday: leave West Plains where he finished second on Friday night or tackle the Springfield Raceway and attempt to take home the winner's share of the $1,222-to-win event and also capture some national points.

Bone made the right choice as he held off a mid-race challange from Bobby Pearish to headline the 6th Annual Bordertown Casino OctoberFAST.

Following three very tough heats, the top 8 drivers in passing points redrew for starting spots as the track was being reworked during the popular Casino Bucks fan money drop. Robbie Bryant and Bone drew the front row as the 20-car grid came out for the 25-lap feature.

At the start, Bone jumped to the high side of the speedway with Bryant following closely along with Nathan Mayes, high points driver Pearish, 2010 track champion Mitch Keeter and John Yeoman III.

Fourth-starting Terry Beckham II jumped the cushion on the opening lap in turn 4, and fell back towards the rear of the star-studded field as the three-wide action was quick.

Out in front, Bone was setting a blistering pace as Pearish had moved into second place on lap 3 and began his charge after the leader. As the top 2 pulled away, Bryant, Mayes, Yeoman, Keeter and a fast-moving Erik Maggard were thrilling the crowd with outstanding action.

At lap 12, the leaders were starting to work lapped traffic as Beckham was trying to pick his way back forward. Pearish had reeled in the leader as the second-generation driver from Pea Ridge, Ark., was having problems getting through the back part of the field.

As Pearish was preparing to attempt a pass, the first caution waved on lap 17 as Jason Pursley, Jim Body and Brian Green all got together in turn 1 and slowed the pace for the first time. Pursley's night ended as the field bunched-up on the double-file restart.

Bone was able to pull away as Pearish picked the top lane as Arkansas hot shoe Nathan Mayes was challanging Pearish for second place while Keeter, Bryant, Yeoman, Maggard, Mickey Burrell and 2011 champion Jackie Dalton were battling.

On lap 19, Mayes moved around Pearish for second place only to spin on the following lap in turn 2 and bring out the final caution for the feature. Pearish picked the bottom groove on the restart as the field took the green, but Bone quickly pulled away to capture his firs Bordertown Casino OctoberFAST event as Pearish held off Keeter for the runner-up spot, followed by Maggard, Dalton, Bryant, Burrell, Turkey Classic winner Jody Tillman, Beckham and Yeoman in the top 10.

Nineteen of the 20 starters were running at the end with 17 cars still on the lead lap.

"The track was racy and smooth all night," said Bone. "We have been in a small slump lately in USRA national event and after last night in West Plains we figured maybe coming here tonight would change our luck. This was a super event and maybe helped us get ready for next weekend at Humboldt."

Over 130 race teams checked into the 6th Annual Bordertown Casino OctoberFAST under beautiful skies and a near perfect feature event track.

For more information visit the website at or contact Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426. The raceday track phone is 417-863-0097 or you can recieve mobile updates by texting "SPRINGFIELDRACEWAY" to 368674.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, October 15, 2011


A Feature: 1. Johnny Bone Jr., Pea Ridge, Ark.; 2. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo; 3. Mitch Keeter, Webb City; 4. Erik Maggard, Brighton; 5. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 6. Robbie Bryant, Willard; 7. Mickey Burrell, Fair Grove; 8. Jody Tillman, Branson; 9. Terry Beckham II, Webb City; 10. John Yeoman III, Granby; 11. Jerry Lankton, Lampe; 12. Nathan Mayes, Springdale, Ark.; 13. Duty Campbell, Nevada; 14. Kyle Slagle, Pierce City; 15. Jeff Cutshaw, Cross Timbers; 16. Brian Green, Pierce City; 17. Jim Body, Diamond; 18. Bill Dalton, Exeter; 19. Jordan McCrimmon, Bolivar; 20. Jason Pursley, Wheatland.

B Feature (top 6 advance): 1. Cutshaw; 2. Slagle; 3. Body; 4. Green; 5. B. Dalton; 6. McCrimmon; 7. John Fellers, Flemington; 8. Chris Tonoli, Hermitage; DNS - Kalie Archer, Bolivar; Travis Smith.

1. Pearish; 2. Keeter; 3. Bone; 4. Cambell; 5. J. Dalton; 6. Cutshaw; 7. B. Dalton; 8. Fellers.

1. Bryant; 2. Beckham; 3. Tillman; 4. Pursley; 5. Body; 6. Slagle; 7. McCrimmon; 8. Tonoli.

1. Mayes; 2. Maggard; 3. Yeoman; 4. Burrell; 5. Lankton; 6. Green; 7. Smith; 8. Archer.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group