Foster's first NAPA Series win comes at Hancock County
Print this page
August 12, 1999

BRITT, IA (August 12, 1999) - Todd Foster won the first NAPA Winner Series feature of his career Thursday night, during the Harris Auto Racing Night of 1,000 Stars at the Hancock County Speedway.

A regular on the circuit since he moved into the I.M.C.A. Sunoco Stock Car division in 1996, Foster has since been able to enjoy the victory via video.

"That was a darn good race,"he said, after watching the tape of the race Saturday night. "It was a good race to be in, especially up at Britt. It's a pretty fast race track and it's a good place to win."

Foster, from Webster City, started on the outside of the front row, next to Mason City's Kevin Opheim. He took the lead on the opening circuit and began to pull away before home-town friend and chassis builder Mark Elliott caught up.

Elliott has dominated the series thus far, winning six of the first nine events.

He threatened to make it seven out of 11, taking a brief lead on lap 16. Foster regained the point, however, and further showed his mettle by holding onto the front spot after a lap 22 restart.

"At one time I had about half a straightaway lead. They were coming off two and I was going into three a couple times, but as the race progressed Mark caught up to me," Foster said. "Fortunately, everything happened to work out just right."

Elliott scooted in second, ahead of Opheim, Kevin Bidne of Decorah and Brian Blessington of Breda.

Heat winners were Foster, Opheim and Larry Silbaugh of Jefferson.

Tilton Engineering and Midwest Motorsports contingencies went to the winner. Elliott got awards from Midwest, Justice Brothers and Isky Racing Cams and Opheim received the KSE and Schoenfeld Headers prizes.

JB packets also went to Blessington and Rick Campbell. Bidne and Steve Inman both pocketed AERO Race Wheels awards and Blessington earned a REAL Racing Wheels contingency.

Jeff Wollam won the Excel Race Wheels award. Robert Stofer received the JR Motorsports mystery position award and Joe Karge got the Racemart Hard Luck award.



Feature: 1. Todd Foster, Webster City; 2. Mark Elliott, Webster City; 3. Kevin Opheim, Mason City; 4. Kevin Bidne, Decorah; 5. Brian Blessington, Breda; 6. Jeff Wollam, Marshalltown; 7. Steve Inman, Mason City; 8. Tom Schmitt, Independence; 9. Lavern Carey, Ionia; 10. Rick Campbell, Boone; 11. Rick Brown, Kellogg; 12. Bob Restock, Franklin, Minn.; 13. Bobby Bowman, Winterset; 14. Ken Tietz, Belle Plaine, Minn.; 15. Robert Stofer, Jefferson; 16. Tony Trower, New Hampton; 17. Larry Silbaugh, Jefferson; 18. Scott Bloemke, Belmond; 19. Jim Howe, Mason City; 20. John Pletcher, Britt; 21. Ross McCombs, Oskaloosa; 22. Joe Karge, Des Moines; 23. Todd Wendel, Clear Lake.

Latest News from the USRA

April 18, 2018
Things to know as 2018 racing season gets started at Lucas Oil Speedway
This summer will mark 12 years since Lucas Oil Speedway opened to rave reviews as Forrest Lucas' vision for a dirt-track racing showcase was realized. Since that fread more
April 18, 2018
Lebanon Midway ready to open 2018 season
Lebanon Midway Speedway drivers and fans are hoping that the third time is the charm as the track will be ready to host an exciting 2018 season beginning this Friday, Aprread more
April 18, 2018
Springfield Raceway back in action this Saturday
The quick quarter-mile Springfield Raceway is back in action this Saturday, April 21, with round three 3 of the championship chase featuring USRA Modifieds and Out-Pace Uread more
April 17, 2018
Lakeside Speedway season opener presented by Tompkins Industries fires up Friday
A lack of dirt racing events throughout the region has left drivers and fans chomping at the bit to hit the track for a night of competition. However, this will change onread more
April 17, 2018
Purse revealed for 2nd Annual Gary Davis Super 66 Stock Car Special
Team Vicki Davis Racing 66 and the I-35 Speedway are pleased to announce the purse for the 2nd Annual Gary Davis Super 66 Stock Car Special on June 16 at the famed 3/8-miread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group