Myer, Hiscocks, Cook, West win Hancock County openers
Print this page
April 14, 2000

BRITT, IA (April 14, 2000) — Hancock County Speedway opened the 2000 season Friday, April 14 on a warm, breezy summer like day that turned blustery and cold by the wave of the last checkered flag. But the racing was hot, hot, hot and kept the fans eyes riveted to the smooth fast oval. The drivers were eager for the competition and put on one great show for the fans that were hungry for the action after a long winter vacation. Sportsman's Corner of Algona sponsored the nights events presenting the trophies and awarding a bonus to feature winners.

Nick West of Mason City took the first feature win of the millennium at Britt capturing the IMCA Hobby stock feature. He led flag to flag, starting on the pole, but was chased by defending track champion Earl Webner who came from tenth spot to second in the first nine laps, but could not get around West. Scott Anderson of Mason City followed Webner to the front, a constant challenge for both West and Webner. Anderson finished third in the feature after capturing the dash win.

Larry Cook of Ft Dodge, the two time defending Limited 360 Modified track champ, started out the new season on another winning note. He grabbed the lead on the first lap and held it for the duration. Steve Inman of Mason City, finished in second, the first time racing in a modified chassis on the Britt oval.

The Stock Car feature was a thriller with Joe Hiscocks of Britt picking up the first feature win of his career.

Hiscocks, who has been racing for only two years, held off perpetual and persistant challenges from veteran drivers Kevin Opheim of Mason City and Craig Berhow of Belmond. The pursuers seemed to gain the advantage in the corners, but were just not quite able to get the job done and Hiscocks would inch away on the straightaway.

Berhow and Opheim qualified for the Kabrick Distributing of Britt, Big Bud Shootout earlier in the night by finishing first and second respectively in the Stock Dash. The "Shootout" will be held on August 11.

The Modified dash was won by Kevin Stoa of Kasson, Mn and he accepted the "Challenge" and elected to start in the back of the feature and try to take home an extra $500. Stoa was flying on the smooth fast surface, using the whole track to his advantage, seemingly passing each car along the way at will. By the fourteenth lap he was in second, breathing down on leader Tommy Myer of Blooming Praire, MN. With ten laps to go to try to gain the advantage over Tommy, it seemed very possible the "Challenge" would be met the very first race night of the millennium. Fate stepped in to play a hand in the outcome of this battle with two laps to go to the finish.

An incident on the track away from the leaders caused a yellow to be thrown. A tire went down on Stoa's machine as he was braking coming into turn three slowing for the yellow. His momentum shot him straight over the incline of corner three. Stoa was able to keep it on its wheels but was forced into the work area for a tire change. He was able to change the tire and get back in the race, but had to start at the back of the field.

Myer was victorious, taking the trophy and cash bonus awarded by Sportsman's Corner.

Myer is eligible to accept the "Challenge" next Friday, April 21 and try for the $600 bonus. The race night is sponsored by Schroeder Racing Products of Iowa Falls, with bonus money added to the track point fund. Pit gates open at 5:00PM Hot laps are at 7:00 with Races at 7:30. For a complete list of race results, point standings and the 2000 race schedule check out the Hancock County Speedway web site at



HEAT 1: Al Hejna, Todd Stinehart, Ron Pope, Mike Hejna, Dean Mahlstedt, Brad Bakken, Scott Badker, Ross Wyatt, Jeff Feaster.

HEAT 2: Keith Schmitz, Bill Cook, Tommy Myer, Rick Schuller, Nathan Chodur, George Gilliland, Mike Hackenmiller, Scott Anderson.

HEAT 3: Kevin Stoa, Jon Wood, Kevin Hoeft, Ryan Hiscocks, Carl Allbee, Jimmy Davis, Scott Olson, Larry Portis Dash Kevin Stoa, Keith Schmitz, Jon Wood, Al Hejna, Todd Stinehart, Bill Cook.

FEATURE: Tommy Myer, Mike Hejna, Jon Wood, Keith Schmitz, Kevin Hoeft, Dean Mahlstedt, Al Hejna, Jimmy Davis, Scott Olson, Bill Cook, Ron Pope, Ryan Hiscocks, Todd Stinehart, Kevin Stoa, Carl Allbee, Mike Hackenmiller, Ross Wyatt, George Gilliland, Nathan Chodur, Rick Schuller, Brad Bakken, Scott Badker, Larry Portis, Jeff Feaster.


HEAT 1: Craig Gray, Craig Berhow, Jeff Dolphin, Scott Bloemke, Reid Keller, Todd Wendel, John Pletcher.

HEAT 2: Kevin Opheim, Travis Hoeft, Darin Toot, Joe Hiscocks, Russell Trulson, Cody Miller Dash Craig Berhow, Kevin Opheim, Darin Toot, Craig Gray, Travis Hoeft, Jeff Dolphin.

FEATURE: Joe Hiscocks, Craig Berhow, Craig Gray, Scott Bloemke, Todd Wendel, Kevin Opheim, Russell Trulson, John Pletcher, Reid Keller, Cody Miller, Darin Toot, Travis Hoeft, Jeff Dolphin.


HEAT: Larry Cook, Brad Willier, Don Reimers, John Campbell, Steven Inman, Josh Omans, Ed Green.

FEATURE: Larry Cook, Steven Inman, Brad Willier, John Campbell, Josh Omans, Don Reimers, Ed Green.


HEAT 1: Jason Daniels, Jim Mitchell, Craig Florea, Dan Stromer, Chad Doyle, Dan Hanselman, Brent Hanson, Ryan Lund.

HEAT 2: John Simpson, Dan Haugland, Randy Hadacek, Gerald Santee, Jeff Lodin, Tonay Smidt, Jared Dirks.

HEAT 3: Nick West, Scott Anderson, Earl Webner, Jim Smith, John Madson, Shane Monson, Rob Hughes.

DASH: Scott Anderson, Jim Mitchell, Nick West, John Simpson, Dan Haugland, Jason Daniels.

FEATURE: Nick West, Earl Webner, Scott Anderson, Jim Smith, Jim Mitchell, Shane Monson, Randy Hadacek, John Simpson, Jason Daniels, Jared Dirks, Rob Hughes, Jeff Lodin, Chad Doyle, John Madson, Dan Hanselman, Dan Stromer, Craig Florea, Dan Haugland, Gerald Santee, Tonay Smidt.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group