Cook takes Modified win at Britt
Print this page
May 19, 2000

BRITT, IA (May 19, 2000) — Awesome track, awesome races! A welcomed shower leaving an inch and a half of rain in the area on Wednesday produced a heavy, smooth, fast track for the drivers to put on one fantastic show for the race fans. Side by side and three or four wide was the norm for the night.

It was Winnebago Industries, Inc. of Forest City Night and the trophies for the night were sponsored and presented by West Hancock Ambulance Service in observance of National Emergency Medical Services Week.

Bill Cook of Algona started third row inside for the modified feature and took possession of first place on the seventh lap. Meanwhile attacking from the back of the field was the familiar red and black #98 of Kevin Stoa. Stoa took the "Challenge" and started dead last, made it to second spot by the eleventh lap. Eleven laps and he had passed twenty-two cars, could Cook hold him off for the rest of the twenty-five lap event?

Cook was running strong and held his line. Stoa stayed on the high side trying to get by, then he would dip to the low side, trying to rattle Cook. When the white flag came out the crowd was on their feet. Stoa gave it one last effort, coming even with Cook's back fender, but Bill was not to be denied on this night and he picked up his first feature win of his modified career. Pat Graham of Mason City took third, with Steve Pederson of West Concord MN. finishing in the fourth spot.

Scott Bloemke of Belmond looked impressive in his stock car feature win. He started fourth row and grabbed the advantage half way through the feature. Travis Hoeft of Forest City held on for second place after leading the first half of the contest. Kevin Opheim of Mason City took third with Joe Hiscocks of Britt in fourth. Darin Toot of Albert Lea, MN. won the dash and is a new qualifier for the "Bud Shootout".

Brent Hanson of Mason City started on the pole in the Hobby feature and led the first twelve laps of the event. Shane Monson of Clear Lake came from the third row to grab second spot on the fourth lap. These two dueled for the top spot for the remainder of the race with Monson finally getting the advantage with three laps to go and hanging on the victory. Earl Webner of Garner and Dan Hanselman of Algona were putting on some strong pressure on the leaders, finishing third and fourth. Earl Webner won the dash.

The Limited 360 Mod feature was won by Larry Cook of Ft Dodge, a familiar face in the winner' circle. He grabbed the lead on the first lap and held it for the duration. Alex Webner of Garner was second with Lance Gardner of Garner in third.

Next Friday May 26 is the Jennifer Steinlicht "Friends of Racing" Memorial. Those wishing to remember a lost loved one in a pre-race tribute to "Friends of Racing" may email that name to Hot Laps 7:00 Races 7:30 The Challenge is $600.

Monday May 29 Memorial Day Special. National Kidney Foundation Heartland Tour for A Cure for Modified and Hobby Stocks will be in town. Both classes are running for IMCA and Track points. The Limited 360 Modified class is competing for track points. The stock car field will be non-sanctioned with no IMCA or Track points. The event will start one half hour earlier than normal with pit gates open at 4:00 Hot laps 6:30 Races 7:30. For more information call 515-295-7422 or visit track website



Heat 1: Ron Haudek, Ron Pope, Mike Hejna, Jimmy Davis, Scott Badker, Kevin Hoeft, Nathan Chodur, Scott Olson, Larry Portis

Heat 2: Steve Pederson, Jason Slegh, Bill Cook, Keith Schmitz, Al Hejna, Ryan Hiscocks, George Gilliland, Mike Hackenmiller, Scott Anderson

Heat 3: Kevin Stoa, Rick Schuller, Mike Christians, Todd Stinehart, Patrick Graham, Ross Wyatt, Carl Allbee, Brad Bakken, Todd Schaufenbuel

Dash: Kevin Stoa, Mike Hejna, Ron Pope, Ron Haudek, Rick Schuller, Steve Pederson

B Feature: Kevin Hoeft, Larry Portis, Ryan Hiscocks, Mike Hackenmiller, Carl Allbee, Scott Anderson, Ross Wyatt, Scott Olson, George Gilliland, Nathan Chodur, Brad Bakken, Todd Schaufenbuel

A Feature: Bill Cook, Kevin Stoa, Patrick Graham, Steve Pederson, Rick Schuller, Al Hejna, Mike Hackenmiller, Larry Portis, Ryan Hiscocks, Mike Christians, Ron Haudek, Todd Stinehart, Scott Anderson, Mike Hejna, Ross Wyatt, Nathan Chodur, Carl Allbee, Kevin Hoeft, Scott Olson, Jimmy Davis, Scott Badker, Ron Pope, Jason Slegh, Keith Schmitz, George Gilliland


Heat 1: Travis Hoeft, Lavern Carey, Russell Trulson, Scott Bloemke, Todd Foster, Jeff Dolphin, Todd Wendel, Jim Mitchell, Curt Moore, Mark Holstad

Heat 2: Craig Gray, Darin Toot, Kevin Opheim, Joe Hiscocks, Cody Miller, Brent Powers, Skeeter Paris, Craig Berhow, John Pletcher, Jon Groven

Dash: Darin Toot, Kevin Opheim, Travis Hoeft, Lavern Carey, Craig Gray, Russell Trulson

Feature: Scott Bloemke, Travis Hoeft, Kevin Opheim, Joe Hiscocks, Craig Gray, Skeeter Paris, Darin Toot, Lavern Carey, Russell Trulson, Brent Powers, Mark Holstad, Todd Wendel, Jim Mitchell, Curt Moore, Craig Berhow, Todd Foster, Jeff Dolphin, John Pletcher, Cody Miller, Jon Groven


Heat: Josh Omans, Larry Cook, Alex Webner, Lance Gardner, James Krejci, Steven Inman, Scott Sheehan, Chuck Gatewood

Feature: Larry Cook, Alex Webner, Lance Gardner, Steven Inman, James Krejci, Josh Omans, Chuck Gatewood, Scott Sheehan


Heat 1: Shane Monson, Jeff Ignaszewski, Earl Webner, Dan Hanselman, Jim Smith, John Madson, Jeff Lodin, Gerald Santee, Tim Miller, Randy Hadacek

Heat 2: Brent Hanson, Dan Haugland, Tony Smidt, Rob Hughes, Jared Dirks, Scott Anderson, Jason Daniels, Dan Stromer, Chad Doyle

Dash: Earl Webner, Jeff Ignaszewski, Dan Hanselman, Shane Monson, Brent Hanson, Dan Haugland

Feature: Shane Monson, Brent Hanson, Earl Webner, Dan Hanselman, Dan Haugland, Scott Anderson, Jeff Ignaszewski, Jason Daniels, Randy Hadacek, Jared Dirks, Tony Smidt, Gerald Santee, Chad Doyle, Dan Stromer, Jim Smith, John Madson, Rob Hughes, Jeff Lodin, Tim Miller

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group