Houdak takes Hancock County Modified feature
Print this page
June 2, 2000

BRITT, IA (June 2, 2000) — The kids that arrived early for Kid's Night at Hancock County Speedway last Friday were rewarded with a much anticipated ride around the track in one of the race cars as they helped the drivers packed the track. Their help packing produced another smooth fast track and the drivers put on another great show to the delight of the fans. It was KLGA of Algona Night and Swenson's Hardware of Britt sponsored and presented the trophies.

Larry Cook continues to dominate the win column in the Limited 360 Modified class. Steve Inman of Mason City in his rookie year in this class led all laps until the white flag, when Cook got the advantage and held on to the checkered. Alex Webner of Garner edged out Inman for the second spot on the last lap, with Inman settling for third in the contest.

Earl Webner picked up wins in the heat, dash, and the Hobby feature to claim the "Clean Sweep" Bonus. Webner started on the third row and inherited the lead from pole setter Brent Hanson of Mason City on the twelfth lap of the fifteen lap event. Hanson led the first eleven laps when a yellow was thrown for debris on the track. Hanson had a flat and went to the work area to change the tire and reentered the contest at the back of the field. Webner who was second before the yellow, took the lead and held off the rest of the field for the win. Dan Hanselman of Algona was second with Jason Daniels of Britt and Dan Haugland of Forest City filling out the top four.

Darin Toot of Albert Lea, MN and Scott Bloemke of Belmond, put on an exhibition for drivers and fans on how to race inches apart in the corners and come out squeaky clean. These two drivers battled side by side, nose to back fender for sixteen laps. Toot held the advantage for eleven laps of the twenty lap event. Bloemke got by him on the sixteenth laps, but Toot did not back off. The final four laps had the fans on the edge of the seat and standing at the wire. Toot stuck the nose of his car inches from Bloemke's right rear coming in and out of the corners. Bloemke held his line and Toot had complete control of his car and was able to race aggressively but used restraint and did not become overly aggressive, resulting in a fast, clean, exciting contest enjoy by the entire grandstand.

Bloemke finished victorious with Toot in second spot. Craig Berhow of Belmond and Jeff Dolphin of Forest City completed the top four. Dolphin was a new qualifier for the "Bud Shootout", placing second in the stock dash for the night. Bloemke leads the track point race for the stock car class. (Scott's wife Kelly will be happy with the night's results, considering he missed the yearly recital for the dance school she owns and operates, so he could protect his point lead.)

The modified feature was an exciting affair with many different stories developing within the one race that contributed to its outcome. Pat Graham of Mason City won the dash and accepted the "Challenge". He started at the back of the field and drove a steady pace and a smart race finishing in fourth spot for the night. Scott Olson of Ellsworth was fast all night and drove an aggressive race, finishing in fifth spot. Terry "Ted" Zeiman and Jeff Metli both of Mason City made their debut in the modified class.

If luck plays a hand in the outcome of these events, then it was certainly bad luck on the side of a few of the drivers for the night. Kevin Stoa borrowed a car from Keith Schmitz for the night, when Stoa had motor problems in hot laps. Just into the modified feature the transmission let go to end Stoa's night. Steve Pederson of West Concord, MN, sitting in for injured Tommy Myer, was the victim of a mishap on the front straightaway that ended his night. Nate Chodur, Rick Schuller, Jeff Metli were all a scratch from the feature after qualifying for the event. Ross Wyatt and Mike Christians bad luck arrived even earlier and they were forced to scratch from the heat race.

But in the end, as in all races it comes down to the top and final finishers. Ron Houdak of Owatanna, MN. started on the pole, relinquished the lead for three laps at the start, regained the lead, put his right foot down to the floor board and went full throttle building a quarter lap lead on the field until the seventeenth lap when the yellow came out, resulting in a restart. This gave Al Hejna, firmly in the second spot, the chance he needed to try and get the leader. Hejna gave it his all and it was another fast, close, expertly executed display of driver skill as the two battled closely for the lead, without any "rubbing". Houdak won by a car length over Al Hejna with brother Mike Hejna finishing third. This was Houdak's first feature win at Britt. The Hejna boys lead the point race with Mike in first, then Al, followed by Stoa, and Jimmy Davis of Janesville, MN.

Next Friday June 9, the Jackpot Junction Midwest Tour for IMCA Sprint Cars will be at Britt joining the four classes competing in the regular weekly show. This is the only stop of this Sprint Tour in this area in 2000. Admission to the grandstand is: Adults $8.00, 6-12 years $3.00, 5 & Under FREE. KIOW of Forest City is the sponsor for the night. Hot laps 7:00 Races 7:30.



HEAT 1: Brad Bakken, Patrick Graham, Bill Cook, Al Hejna, Steve Pederson, Kevin Hoeft, Rick Schuller, Greg Elliott.

HEAT 2: Kevin Stoa, Ron Haudek, Ryan Hiscocks, Mike Hackenmiller, Terry Zieman, Jason Slegh, Larry Portis, Nathan Chodur, Todd Stinehart.

HEAT 3: Mike Hejna, Jon Wood, Scott Olson, Scott Badker, Jimmy Davis, George Gilliland, Jeff Metli.

DASH: Patrick Graham, Mike Hejna, Ron Haudek, Brad Bakken, Jon Wood, Kevin Stoa.

A FEATURE: Ron Haudek, Al Hejna, Mike Hejna, Patrick Graham, Scott Olson, Jimmy Davis, Brad Bakken, Jason Slegh, Ryan Hiscocks, Todd Stinehart, Bill Cook, Kevin Hoeft, Mike Hackenmiller, Terry Zieman, George Gilliland, Jon Wood, Greg Elliott, Larry Portis, Scott Badker, Kevin Stoa, Steve Pederson, Jeff Metli, Rick Schuller, Nathan Chodur.


HEAT 1: Jeff Dolphin, Brent Powers, Craig Berhow, Scott Bloemke, Kevin Opheim, Jim Mitchell, Cody Miller.

HEAT 2: Darin Toot, John Pletcher, Joe Hiscocks, Lavern Carey, Todd Wendel, Russell Trulson, Travis Hoeft.

DASH: Darin Toot, Jeff Dolphin, John Pletcher, Brent Powers, Joe Hiscocks, Craig Berhow.

A FEATURE: Scott Bloemke, Darin Toot, Craig Berhow, Jeff Dolphin, Joe Hiscocks, Kevin Opheim, Lavern Carey, Jim Mitchell, Brent Powers, Russell Trulson, Todd Wendel, Cody Miller, John Pletcher, Travis Hoeft.


HEAT 1: Larry Cook, Alex Webner, Ed Green, Lance Gardner, Steven Inman, Josh Omans, Chuck Gatewood, John Campbell, Scott Sheehan.

A FEATURE: Larry Cook, Alex Webner, Steven Inman, Josh Omans, Lance Gardner, Ed Green, Chuck Gatewood, John Campbell, Scott Sheehan.


HEAT 1: Dan Hanselman, Randy Hadacek, Jared Dirks, Brent Hanson, Rob Hughes, Shane Monson, Jeff Lodin, Gerald Santee, Chad Doyle, Jim Smith.

HEAT 2: Earl Webner, Tony Smidt, Dan Haugland, Jason Daniels, Tim Tickal, Dan Stromer, Remington Hill, Scott Anderson, John Madson.

DASH: Earl Webner, Randy Hadacek, Jared Dirks, Dan Hanselman, Tony Smidt, Dan Haugland.

A FEATURE: Earl Webner, Dan Hanselman, Jason Daniels, Dan Haugland, Scott Anderson, Randy Hadacek, Jared Dirks, Brent Hanson, Remington Hill, Gerald Santee, Jeff Lodin, Shane Monson, Jim Smith, Tony Smidt, Dan Stromer, Rob Hughes, John Madson, Tim Tickal, Chad Doyle.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group