Schmit takes clean sweep at Hancock County Speedway
Print this page
July 14, 2000

BRITT, IA (July 14, 2000) — The racing action at the Hancock County Speedway on Friday July 14 was sponsored by The Land of Hob Auto Parts, Britt and at the end of the competition two new drivers found their way into the winner’s circle.

Larry Cook of Ft Dodge and Brad Willier of Mason City took the heat wins in the Limited Mod class. Cook bested the field in the dash over Josh Omans of Garner and Willier, setting up a dual between Cook and Willier, the two fastest cars on this night, for the feature. Willier started on the second row and with Cook back in the fourth row. Willier grabbed the lead on the second lap from Chuck Gatewood of Eagle Grove. Cook took over second spot from Gatewood halfway through the contest. Willier held his line and captured the victory with Cook in second and Gatewood in third. Cook contiues to lead the points race.

Jim Smith of Belmond won the Hobby stock feature, the first one of his racing career. He started on the second row and was the leader by the fifth lap. Jason Daniels and Earl Webner moved up from mid pack to challenge him, but Smith was not to be denied and went on for the victory. Earl Webner leads the points contest in the hobby division.

Todd Foster of Webster City had a front row start in the stock car division and took full advantage of it and led for thirteen laps of the event. Travis Hoeft of Forest City worked his way into second spot working the low side. Meanwhile point leader, Scott Bloemke of Belmond was working his way through traffic from a sixth row start. By the half way point Bloemke was in third and ready to challenge the leaders. Hoeft was holding the low side but Bloemke snuck by him on the twelfth lap and two laps later he snatched the lead from Foster. That was how it ended Bloemke, Foster, Hoeft, with Craig Berhow in fourth spot.

Joe Schmit of Britt picked up his first victory of the millennium at Britt and did it by sweeping the nights events in the modified class, winning his heat, the dash and the feature. Schmit declined to take the challenge after winning the dash, but Tommy Myer of Blooming Praire, MN., last weeks feature winner was ready to try for the extra $1300 in cash. Myer started last in the twenty six car feature and had advanced to twelfth spot after nineteen laps, when he was involved in brief contact on the front straight and he lost contol in corner one. He restarted the race once more from the back of the pack and finished in thirteen spot.

Schmit started in the third row and went to the front on the third lap. Ron Pope of Mason City took the lead away from Schmit on the seventh lap. Pope hatched a motor in the dash and had a new power plant in for the feature and continued to lead with Schmit on his tail for seven laps until Schmit got the advantage again. Two laps later Pope left the contest with a bad belt to the fuel pump. Schmit sailed to victory lane with Kevin Hoeft of Garner holding second spot until the white flag lap, when Al Hejna suddenly became a threat. Al had started from the back of the field after motor problems in the heat caused him to make a flying trip to Ventura to get his back up car for the feature. Al finished second, Hoeft took third, and point leader Mike Hejna finished fourth.

Racing into the Millennium continues this Friday, July 21 with the Robert Hiscocks Memorial Fair Race sponsored by Hot Country K-97 of Fort Dodge. 4-H and FFA Members in uniform or showing proof of current membership will be admitted to the grandstand Free. The Challenge will be $1,400. Hot laps at 7:00 Races 7:30. Compete results, photos, and point standings at



HEAT 1: Rick Schuller, Ron Pope, John Logue, Brad Bakken, Bill Cook, Jeff Metli, Al Hejna, George Gilliland, Jimmy Davis

HEAT 2: Kevin Hoeft, Mike Hejna, Keith Schmitz, Bret Hansen, Jon Wood, Mike Christians, Scott Olson, Mike Hackenmiller

HEAT 3: Joe Schmitt, Patrick Graham, Tommy Myer, Nathan Chodur, Scott Badker, Joe Mcbirnie, Kevin Sutton, Kevin Stoa, Ryan Hiscocks

DASH: Joe Schmitt, Patrick Graham, Mike Hejna, Kevin Hoeft, Ron Pope, Rick Schuller

A FEATURE: Joe Schmitt, Al Hejna, Kevin Hoeft, Mike Hejna, Bret Hansen, Patrick Graham, Bill Cook, Jimmy Davis, Rick Schuller, Joe Mcbirnie, George Gilliland, Brad Bakken, Tommy Myer, Scott Badker, Ryan Hiscocks, Nathan Chodur, Kevin Sutton, Keith Schmitz, John Logue, Kevin Stoa, Mike Hackenmiller, Mike Christians, Ron Pope, Jon Wood, Scott Olson, Jeff Metli


HEAT 1: Todd Foster, Brent Powers, Kevin Opheim, Travis Hoeft, Joe Hiscocks, Scott Bloemke, Curt Moore

HEAT 2: Darin Toot, Jeff Dolphin, John Pletcher, Craig Berhow, Russell Trulson, Todd Holmes, Todd Wendel

DASH: Darin Toot, Jeff Dolphin, John Pletcher, Todd Foster, Brent Powers, Kevin Opheim

A FEATURE: Scott Bloemke, Todd Foster, Travis Hoeft, Craig Berhow, Todd Wendel, Curt Moore, Darin Toot, Jeff Dolphin, Russell Trulson, John Pletcher, Kevin Opheim, Brent Powers, Joe Hiscocks, Todd Holmes


HEAT 1: Rob Hughes, Dan Haugland, Jason Daniels, John Madson, Karol Moore, Chad Doyle, John Simpson, Jared Dirks

HEAT 2: Brent Hanson, Shane Monson, Scott Anderson, Earl Webner, Jim Smith, Randy Hadacek, Dan Stromer, Jamie Jones

DASH: Rob Hughes, Scott Anderson, Brent Hanson, Dan Haugland, John Madson, Jason Daniels

A FEATURE: Jim Smith, Jason Daniels, Earl Webner, Scott Anderson, John Simpson, Randy Hadacek, Rob Hughes, Brent Hanson, Chad Doyle, John Madson, Dan Stromer, Karol Moore, Jared Dirks, Jamie Jones, Dan Haugland, Shane Monson


HEAT 1: Larry Cook, Steven Inman, Josh Omans, Jared Boumaster, Ben Holt, Ed Green

HEAT 2: Brad Willier, Lance Gardner, Don Reimers, Chuck Gatewood, Ryan Ruter, Scott Sheehan

DASH: Larry Cook, Josh Omans, Brad Willier, Lance Gardner, Don Reimers, Steven Inman

A FEATURE: Brad Willier, Larry Cook, Chuck Gatewood, Ryan Ruter, Josh Omans, Jared Boumaster, Lance Gardner, Steven Inman, Scott Sheehan, Ben Holt, Don Reimers

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group