Pope eludes Stoa to foil 'Challenge' bid
Print this page
July 28, 2000

by Christina Danielsen

BRITT, IA (July 28, 2000) — Friends and Family came together last Friday, July 28, at the Hancock County Speedway in Britt, to honor the memory of a young hobby stock driver that began his racing career in Britt last year. Jason Moore, late son of stock car driver Curt Moore and his wife Byrul, lost his life in an automobile accident in July of 1999. To keep Jasonís racing dream alive, the Moore family sponsored the Jason Moore Memorial Race and added prize money to the top four positions in the Hobby and Stock Car classes. The feature winners received trophies in memory of Jason, from the Moore family.

Josh Omans of Garner started on the front row and led for half of the Limited Modified feature. Brad Willier of Mason City was challenging Omans for the lead and became too aggressive and caused Omans to spin out bringing out the yellow. Willier was disqualified and Omans, the car the yellow came out for, went to the back of the field. Jared Boumeister of Waseca, MN took over the lead from that point and hung on for the victory, his first at Britt, holding off Larry Cook of Ft Dodge, point leader in this class.

Jared Dirks of Belmond and Dan Stromer of Klemme, tangled on the front straightaway in the hobby stock feature and ended up smashed up against the wall in front of the curious onlookers. Both drivers were uninjured, but both cars were towed off the track. Jim Smith of Belmond has found the winning combination. After racing for three years before he captured his first win, he only let one winless Friday night go by before he captured his second victory. Randy Hadacek of Britt and Dan Haugland of Forest City gave him a close chase, but settled for second and third. Earl Webner of Garner leads the points.

Fate found Curt Moore of Belmond positioned on the pole for the stock car feature and he brought the pack around for the start of the race. Tony Trower of New Hampton took the lead on the second lap and never looked back holding off the dual of Scott Bloemke of Belmond and Todd Foster of Webster City who battled it out for second and third spot with Bloemke topping Foster. Bloemke continues to top the stock car points.

Tommy Myer of Blooming Prairie, MN accepted the Modified challenge by virtue of last weeks feature win, but failed to qualify for the A feature in his heat and had to compete and qualify to be eligible to run the A feature from the B feature. Tommy finished second in the B feature behind Ricky Smith of Algona, and took his position on the inside of the back row of the A feature alongside Kevin Stoa of Austin, MN, the nights dash winner. Both drivers were looking for the $1500 bonus money to win the challenge on top if the regular purse money, and both were eager for the win and the bragging rights that come with such an accomplishment.

It was an impressive climb through the pack. In a contest that had one complete restart at the very beginning, the event went green to checkered and that one fact played an important role in the outcome. Stoa led the way taking the high side and riding the cushion, with Myer his shadow for the first part of the contest as they picked off cars in traffic. By the fifth lap Stoa started to lengthen his lead on Myer, gradually putting a car or two between them. But wait, who is leading this race?

Ron Pope if Mason City, started on the second row and grabbed the lead on the third lap and was flying. He was well ahead of the whole field and by lap sixteen he was starting to lap the field. What the challengers needed was a yellow to tighten up the field, but the race had twenty-four mean, but clean driving machines and the event stayed green. Ron Pope crossed the checkered first, well ahead of second place Stoa and with a few lapped cars in between. In fact, Stoa did not realize that Pope had such a commanding lead and crossed the finish line thinking he was $1500 richer and was disappointed to learn he had fallen just short of the quest after such a great run. The finish was Pope, Stoa, Jimmy Davis of Janeville, MN, Rob Rose of Cedar Falls, and Myer in fifth position.

The racing continues next Friday August 4 with the UNICOVER of Britt Special. Hot laps 7:00 Races 7:30. The challenge is $1,600.

Donít forget the two day Hobo Day racing spectacular which begins on Thursday August 10 for the $2000 to win NIGHT OF 1000 STARS for the modified class and the Best of the Midwest Stock Car Series that will have the best stock car drivers in Britt for this series point race. The Limited 360 Modified class is also scheduled to compete.

The action will be right back at the track on Friday August 11 for the Big Bud Shootout for Stock Cars sponsored by Kabrick Distributing of Britt. Qualifiers for this race will be competing for a $1000 to win. All four regular classes will be competing on Friday night (Aug. 11) for an increased purse. Hot laps 7:00 races 7:30.



Heat 1 - Ron Pope, Jimmy Davis, Mike Hejna, Jeff Metli, Bill Cook, Nathan Chodur, George Gilliland, Rick Schuller, Bret Hansen

Heat 2 - Keith Schmitz, Todd Stinehart, Rob Rose, Scott Badker, Jon Wood, Ryan Hiscocks, Mike Christians, Ross Wyatt, Tommy Myer

Heat 3 - Kevin Stoa, Mike Hackenmiller, Brad Bakken, Al Hejna, Kevin Berte, Rick Smith, Dean Mahlstedt, Scott Anderson, Scott Olson

Dash - Kevin Stoa, Jimmy Davis, Ron Pope, Todd Stinehart, Mike Hackenmiller, Keith Schmitz

B Feature - Rick Smith, Tommy Myer, Dean Mahlstedt, Scott Olson, Bret Hansen, Ryan Hiscocks, Rick Schuller, Mike Christians, Ross Wyatt, Scott Anderson, George Gilliland, Nathan Chodur

A Feature - Ron Pope, Kevin Stoa, Jimmy Davis, Rob Rose, Tommy Myer, Todd Stinehart, Mike Hackenmiller, Al Hejna, Mike Hejna, Kevin Berte, Bret Hansen, Keith Schmitz, Rick Smith, Scott Olson, Scott Badker, Jon Wood, Dean Mahlstedt, Ryan Hiscocks, Bill Cook, Scott Anderson, Mike Christians, Ross Wyatt, Brad Bakken, Rick Schuller, Jeff Metli


Heat 1 - Tony Trower, Curt Moore, Brent Powers, Todd Foster, Joe Hiscocks, Kevin Opheim, Scott Bloemke, Cory Oftendahl, John Pletcher

Heat 2 - Travis Hoeft, Darin Toot, Jeff Dolphin, Kim Schleuger, Todd Wendel, Craig Berhow, Russell Trulson, Brian Blessington, Jon Groven, Jim Mathahs

Dash - Brent Powers, Jeff Dolphin, Travis Hoeft, Curt Moore, Darin Toot, Tony Trower

A Feature - Tony Trower, Scott Bloemke, Todd Foster, Darin Toot, Craig Berhow, Kevin Opheim, Brian Blessington, Todd Wendel, Russell Trulson, Jon Groven, Jeff Dolphin, Curt Moore, John Pletcher, Kim Schleuger, Joe Hiscocks, Travis Hoeft, Brent Powers, Jim Mathahs, Cory Oftendahl


Heat 1 - Rob Hughes, Earl Webner, Tony Smidt, Jason Daniels, Dan Haugland, Jared Dirks, Jeff Lodin, Dan Stromer, Chad Doyle

Heat 2 - John Madson, Jim Smith, Brent Hanson, Dam Jimenez, Randy Hadacek, Shane Monson, Karol Moore, Scott Anderson

Dash - Earl Webner, Tony Smidt, Brent Hanson, John Madson, Jim Smith, Rob Hughes

A Feature - Jim Smith, Randy Hadacek, Dan Haugland, Jason Daniels, Shane Monson, Tony Smidt, Scott Anderson, John Madson, Jeff Lodin, Chad Doyle, Dam Jimenez, Jared Dirks, Dan Stromer, Earl Webner, Brent Hanson, Rob Hughes, Karol Moore


Heat 1 - Josh Omans, Alex Webner, Larry Cook, Jared Boumaster, Steven Inman, Scott Sheehan

Heat 2 - Brad Willier, Lance Gardner, Chuck Gatewood, Ryan Ruter, James Krejci

Dash - Larry Cook, Lance Gardner, Alex Webner, Brad Willier, Josh Omans, Chuck Gatewood

A Feature - Jared Boumaster, Larry Cook, Alex Webner, James Krejci, Ryan Ruter, Chuck Gatewood, Josh Omans, Steven Inman, Lance Gardner, Scott Sheehan, Brad Willier

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group