Home stretch for Springfield Raceway's Turkey Classic
Print this page
March 5, 2012  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- The 2012 racing season will kick into high gear on Saturday, March 10, as the Springfield Raceway will be hosting the 5th Annual O'Reilly Turkey Classic presented by Bad Boy Mowers.

This event will get the racing season started in Southwest Missouri in grand style as the USRA Modifieds, Late Models, B-Mods and Legends Cars do battle on the quick quarter-mile.

This will be the third year of the format as drivers get a chance to bring fresh equipment to this season opener.

Pit gates will open up at 11 a.m while hot laps are scheduled to begin at 2 p.m. The draw closes at 3 and drivers arriving after that will not receive passing points in their heat races (position points only). The drivers meeting is slated for 3:30 and the first race is set to start at 4 p.m.

The rain date is the following Saturday, March 24.

New this season is a chance for Modified drivers to gather national points in the American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series right out of the box as the track will sanction this event. Modifieds will run under USRA rules except that spoilers will no be allowed.

USRA Modified drivers must have a USRA license or may purchase a temporary license for just $10.

A larger payout down the line has also been posted for the Modifieds in the 20-car main event field. A top prize of $1,200 goes to the feature winner while making the feature pays $400 to start. Entry fee is $100 while non-qualifiers competing in their last chance races pocket $110.

RACEceivers are required and it is the driver's responsibility to provide them as the track does not rent them.

USRA Modified Payout: 1. $1200, 2. $750, 3. $600, 4. $550, 5. $450, 6. $440, 7. $430, 8. $420, 9. $415, 10. $410, 11. $410, 12-20. $400; Tow 110.

The top 8 in passing points will redraw for their starting spots.

Pit passes will be $35 while adult grandstand admission is only $20. Kids ages 6-12 get in for $5 and children under  get in for free.

The O'Reilly Turkey Classic presented by Bad Boy Mowers has never had a repeat champion in any division, and more than 180 race teams checked in for the 2010 event. Past Modified winners include Jackie Dalton (2007), Terry Phillips (2008), Steven Martin (2009) and Jody Tillman is the defending champ.

The race day phone is 417-863-0097. Fans can also check out information by visiting the website at www.springfieldraceway.com or text SPRINGFIELDRACEWAY to 368674 to recieve mobile updates. Drivers and fans may also visit the Springfield Raceway Facebook Page. For more information, contact promoter Jerry hoffman at 417-673-7426.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group