Phillips lays claim to third Winter Meltdown title
Print this page
March 4, 2012  |  by Chris Stepan

LAS CRUCES, N.M. -- Veteran racer Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., enjoyed his trip to victory lane at the Southern New Mexico Speedway at last year’s Winter Meltdown, he decided to make a return trip Sunday night with a wire-to-wire win of the 50-lap, $10,000-to-win USRA Modified main event.

Phillips, who earned the pole position by virtue of his preliminary win Friday night, took the lead at the start from Jake Gallardo and raced out to a comfortable margin early on while Gallardo, Johnny Scott, Stormy Scott and Rodney Sanders quickly got in the mix for top 5 running spots.

Phillips continued his Sunday drive out front, while Sanders and Johnny Scott had a great race for second.

The lone caution of the event flew on lap 20, which kept the field bunched for the restart, but Phillips was up to the challenge and rolled away from the battles behind him and was never seriously challenged over the remaining 30-lap distance.

Sanders felt constant pressure from Johnny Scott for second, while Stormy Scott broke up the Fito Gallardo vs. Jake Gallardo battle for fifth.

Stormy Scott raced to fourth a few laps later, while 18th-starting Ryan Gustin was picking off cars left and right and appeared in fifth with a dozen laps to go.

The last two USMTS National Champions, Gustin and Jason Hughes were locked in a battle for fifth for quite some time, but Gustin was able to drive away and reel in Stormy Scott as Johnny Scott and Sanders were still nose to tail for second.

Meanwhile, out front, Phillips' momentum was only slowed momentarily as he began to negotiate slower traffic, but Johnny Scott and Sanders were only able to close a small gap before Phillips stretched it out once again for his second consecutive Winter Meltdown title.

Johnny Scott held off Sanders for second while Stormy Scott held off the charging Gustin for fourth. Hughes, Fito Gallardo, Bumper Jones, Jake Gallardo and Dereck Ramirez rounded out the top 10 finishers when the final checkered flag flew.

To learn more about the USRA, visit or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook at or follow us on Twitter at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
17th Annual Winter Meltdown – Night #3 of 3
Southern New Mexico Speedway, Las Cruces, N.M.
Sunday, March 4, 2012


Feature (50 laps):
1. Terry Phillips
2. Johnny Scott
3. Rodney Sanders
4. Stormy Scott
5. Ryan Gustin
6. Jason Hughes
7. Fito Gallardo
8. Bumper Jones
9. Jacob Gallardo
10. Dereck Ramirez
11. Alex Stanford
12. Ricky Thornton Jr.
13. Royal Jones
14. Mike Steensma
15. Christy Georges
16. Josh Cain
17. Terry Tipton
18. Justin Yeager
19. Kelly Estey
20. Patrick Carney
21. Blake Jegtvig
22. Jake O’Neal
23. Jason Krohn
24. Toby Herring

Latest News from the USRA

April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
April 20, 2018
Jackson grabs Lebanon Midway Speedway season opener
Current Out-Pace USRA B-Mod national points leader Kris Jackson jumped to the early lead over polesitter Aaron Scroggins and never looked back in grabbing the season openread more
April 20, 2018
Scott, Egbert, Gillmore grab opening night checkers at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Opening night of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout was a windy and cold one, but the racing made it all worth it. Ninety-five cars and drivers accumulated within thread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group