Schmitz holds off Stoa for Britt win
Print this page
August 4, 2000

BRITT, IA (Aug. 4, 2000) — Fans got more than their money’s worth last Friday night (August 4) at the UNICOVER of Britt Special at the Hancock County Speedway. Two features went green to checkered and the last feature had absolutely every person at the event on their feet as the dueling drivers charged to the wire.

Brad Willier picked up the feature win in the Limited 360 Modified class after winning his heat and taking third in the dash. Larry Cook of Ft Dodge, the point leader finished second and Josh Omans of Garner was third.

The man on the move, Jim Smith of Belmond, took the victory in the hobby stock feature. Jim won his first career feature four weeks ago at Britt. This win puts him at three victories in four starts in the last four weeks at Hancock County Speedway. Brent Hanson of Mason City led briefly at the start until he left the contest with car problems in an event that had no yellows. Jared Dirks of Belmond took over the lead until Smith got him on the seventh lap and never looked back. Randy Hadacek of Britt finished second with Dirks third, and Dan Hanselman of Algona in the fourth spot. Smith also won the dash. Earl Webner of Garner continues to lead the points with a fifteen- point lead over Jason Daniels of Britt.

The stock car feature also went from green to checkered flag without a yellow. Brent Powers of Garner started on the pole and led all laps of the twenty-lap event. Travis Hoeft of Forest City started in second spot, but lost the lead after two laps to Darin Toot of Albert Lea, MN who stayed there for much of the race until Hoeft wanted it back with five laps to go and took it. Kim Schlueger of Britt finished third with Russ Trulson in fourth and Toot in the fifth spot. Jeff Dolphin of Forest City won the dash. Scott Bloemke of Belmond continues to lead the points after finishing in eighth place. Craig Berhow of Belmond had bad luck and had to leave with a flat tire after only two laps into the feature, but still holds onto his second place point position ahead of Kevin Opheim of Mason City.

The scene was set for the modified feature. Ron Pope and Kevin Stoa, both were eligible, both took it, both have won it twice previously. $1600 extra was weighing in the balance for these two with an added $50 for Stoa because he was also going for a clean sweep.

As the modified feature began it seemed as if this division was going to use up all the cautions that had not been needed in the previous features. Sheet metal was bent. The cornfield was visited, twice. Ron Pope of Mason City, last weeks feature winner, and on a mission to win the challenge was towed off from the edge of the cornfield after contact on the backstretch. Al Hejna got run over on corner two, but was able to bring the car back and finish to protect his second place point position.

Meanwhile, coming from the back was Stoa. He was in fourth place by the fifth lap, third place on lap six, second place with thirteen laps down and twelve to go. Start writing the check, it looked like Stoa would certainly pull it off tonight. Keith Schmitz of Swaledale had other ideas. He started on the third row and had the lead by the third lap. He got off to a great start and built a nice lead, but all the yellows kept bunching up the field again. By the time Stoa caught up to him they started to run into lapped traffic. Both maneuvered through the lapped traffic, patiently and without incident. Stoa in his usual style rode the cushion. Schmitz kept his line closer to the bottom. When Stoa couldn’t pass Schmitz taking the high side, he tried it low, using all the moves to try to get by or rattle Schmitz. Keith held fast and steady. Finally, on the white flag lap, going into corner three Schmitz went in a little harder than normal and it threw him a little higher than his usual line. Stoa ducked under him and coming off of corner four, Stoa was leading. Schmitz smashed his foot to the floor and they sprinted for the finish line. Schmitz wins by the width of a tire. Point leader Mike Hejna finished third and the UNICOVER car driven by Brad Bakken was in fourth.

The sixth annual Harris Auto Racing’s “NIGHT OF 1000 STARS” is this Thursday August 10. Some of the best modified drivers in the Midwest will be in town for the $2000 to win show in addition to the $1700 Challenge, $900 in lap money, $5000 in posted contingencies, and a chance to qualify for the Mr. Midwest Modified Dream race. The Midwest Motorsports “Best of the Midwest” IMCA stock series will also be here for a $600 to win show plus contingencies. Limited Mods will also compete.

Friday August 11 will be the Kabrick Distributing of Britt “Big Bud Shootout” for Stock Cars. All four regular classes will compete for an increased purse along with the Shootout, which is the last event of the night. Hot laps are at 7:00 and Races at 7:30 both nights. Grandstand admission both nights is Adults $10.00, 6-12 years $3.00, 5 & Under FREE.



Heat 1 - Keith Schmitz, Kevin Hoeft, Scott Olson, Bret Hansen, Mike Hejna, Carl Allbee, Jeff Metli, Scott Anderson

Heat 2 - Kevin Stoa, Ron Pope, Todd Stinehart, Ron Houdek, Mike Hackenmiller, Ross Wyatt, Shawn Plymesser, Curt Carey

Heat 3 - Jon Wood, Rick Schuller, Brad Bakken, Bill Cook, Ryan Hiscocks, Al Tordoff, Al Hejna

Dash - Kevin Stoa, Keith Schmitz, Jon Wood, Scott Olson, Kevin Hoeft, Ron Pope

A Feature - Keith Schmitz, Kevin Stoa, Mike Hejna, Brad Bakken, Scott Olson, Bill Cook, Bret Hansen, Mike Hackenmiller, Todd Stinehart, Ross Wyatt, Al Hejna, Ryan Hiscocks, Jon Wood, Al Tordoff, Curt Carey, Jeff Metli, Rick Schuller, Scott Anderson, Ron Pope, Ron Houdek, Shawn Plymesser, Kevin Hoeft, Carl Allbee


Heat 1 - Kim Schleuger, Brent Powers, Jeff Dolphin, Joe Hiscocks, Craig Berhow, Tony Trower, Craig Gray, Cody Miller, John Pletcher

Heat 2 - Darin Toot, Travis Hoeft, Kevin Opheim, Russell Trulson, Todd Wendel, Scott Bloemke, Lavern Carey, Todd Foster

Dash - Jeff Dolphin, Kevin Opheim, Travis Hoeft, Darin Toot, Kim Schleuger, Brent Powers

A Feature - Brent Powers, Travis Hoeft, Kim Schleuger, Russell Trulson, Joe Hiscocks, Darin Toot, Todd Wendel, Scott Bloemke, Craig Gray, Todd Foster, Jeff Dolphin, Kevin Opheim, Lavern Carey, Tony Trower, John Pletcher, Craig Berhow


Heat 1 - John Madson, Randy Hadacek, Jim Smith, John Simpson, Dan Hanselman, Rob Hughes, Scott Anderson, Jeff Lodin

Heat 2 - Brent Hanson, Shane Monson, Jason Daniels, Dan Haugland, Jared Dirks, Earl Webner, Dan Stromer, Chad Doyle

Dash - Jim Smith, Jason Daniels, Randy Hadacek, Shane Monson, John Madson, Brent Hanson

A Feature - Jim Smith, Randy Hadacek, Jared Dirks, Dan Hanselman, Jason Daniels, Dan Haugland, Rob Hughes, Shane Monson, Earl Webner, Dan Stromer, John Madson, Chad Doyle, John Simpson, Jeff Lodin, Scott Anderson, Brent Hanson


Heat 1 - Josh Omans, Lance Gardner, Alex Webner, Chuck Gatewood, Ryan Ruter, Scott Sheehan, Les Langfitt

Heat 2 - Brad Willier, Ed Green, Steven Inman, Larry Cook, James Krejci, Jared Boumaster

Dash - Lance Gardner, Alex Webner, Brad Willier, Ed Green, Josh Omans, Steven Inman

A Feature - Brad Willier, Larry Cook, Josh Omans, Lance Gardner, Alex Webner, Steven Inman, Chuck Gatewood, Ryan Ruter, James Krejci, Jared Boumaster, Scott Sheehan, Ed Green, Les Langfitt

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group