Little adjustment means much to Britt Midwest winner
Print this page
August 10, 2000

BRITT, IA (Aug. 10, 2000) — A little adjustment meant a lot to the winner of Thursday night's Midwest Motorsports Best of the Midwest Series feature at Hancock County Speedway.

Jeff Anderson shot from his 16th starting spot into the top three in just seven laps. He took over the front spot away on the 22nd circuit and pulled away the last three times around the track to the checkers.

The I.M.C.A. Sunoco Stock Car victory came as part of Harris Auto Racing's Night of 1,000 Stars program. It was Anderson's fourth of the current series and the record-tying 10th in his career on the tour.

"I came up here with my regular half-mile setup and that seemed like too much," the Atlantic racer said. "After I talked with a couple of the other guys (series drivers) we decided to go deeper with the gear and that worked out real well for us."

Long-time race leader Todd Holmes of Britt chased Anderson across the finish line but was later disqualified after refusing an engine claim.

That put Jeff McCollum of Mankato, Minn., in the runner-up spot, with Ken Tietz of Belle Plaine, Minn., third.

Completing the top five were series points leader Todd Foster of Webster City and Jeff Schluetter of New Hampton.

Winners of the heat races were Holmes, McCollum, Mike McClure of Bloomfield and Hartley's Jack Byers.

Local driver John Pletcher captured the six-lap cash dash.

Three events remain in the series, with the next coming up Tuesday, Aug. 15 at the Iowa State Fairgrounds Speedway in Des Moines.

Pit gates open at 1 p.m., with hot laps at 5:30 p.m. and racing at 6:30 p.m. The Deery Brothers Summer Series for I.M.C.A. Sunoco Late Models is also on the race card that evening.


Feature - 1. Jeff Anderson, Atlantic; 2. Jeff McCollum, Mankato, Minn.; 3. Ken Tietz, Belle Plaine, Minn.; 4. Todd Foster, Webster City; 5. Jeff Schluetter, New Hampton; 6. Bert McDaniel, Eldon; 7. Mark Elliott, Webster City; 8. Scott Bloemke, Belmond; 9. Jeff Dolphin, Forest City; 10. Kevin Opheim, Mason City; 11. Ed Anderson, Marshall-town; 12. Rick Mees, Mankato, Minn.; 13. Jerry Coopman, Mankato, Minn.; 14. Mike McClure, Bloomfield; 15. Darin Toot, Albert Lea, Minn.; 16. Dustin Reeh, Missouri Valley; 17. John Pletcher, Britt; 18. Tony Trower, New Hampton; 19. Jack Byers, Hartley; 20. George Reeh, Missouri Valley; 21. Rod Richards, Madrid; 22. Cody Miller, Mason City; 23. Jeff Wollam, Marshalltown.

Latest News from the USRA

April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
April 21, 2018
O'Neil, Sheen, Ray round two winners at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
The great race fans of the southwest joined the Southern New Mexico Speedway for round two of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout and making it a vigorous night preseread more
April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group