USRA national points to be awarded at Springfield's March Madness
Print this page
March 21, 2012  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- Springfield Raceway owners Jerry Hoffman and Doug Bland announced today the the upcoming March Madness event on Saturday, March 24, will award national points for the USRA Modifieds.

This will give the drivers in the State of Missouri and surrounding areas another shot at collecting those valuable points in the American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series.

All USRA Modified rules (weight, chip, spoiler, etc.) will apply.

The American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series National points chase began on March 2 and will run through Oct. 21.

A driver's best 20 finishes are calculated, along with bonus points for car count and starting position. Last season USRA paid $10,000 to national champion Johnny Bone Jr. of Pea Ridge, Ark., and drivers in the top 20 all recieved money on top of their regular points fund money from the track point standings.

"This is a great chance for drivers to get a jump on the national chase and position themselves for the season-long battle as over 40-plus tracks have joined the USRA Member Track program," quoted Springfield Raceway co-owner Jerry Hoffman.

Pit gates for March Madness will open at 1:30 p.m. while hot laps begin around 5. The drivers meeting is slated for 4:40 and draw cut-off will be 5:15 while racing begins at 6 p.m.

Action in this first annual event will also feature the MLRA and MARS Super Late Models competing for $3,000 to win, along with B-Mods, Midwest Modz and Young Lions.

For more information visit the website at or contact Hoffman at 417-673-7426.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group