Payne captures USRA Modified checkers at Springfield
Print this page
March 24, 2012  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- USRA Modifieds were competing for national points Saturday at the Springfield Raceway as 22 cars took the green flag with last season's runner-up Erik Magard jumping to the early lead over Jim Body, defending track champion Jackie Dalton and 2010 track champion Mitch Keeter.

Maggard was flying on the high banks as Dalton began a charge to grab second from Body.

Caution flew early as 2010 Turkey Classic Champion Jody Tillman got collected up in an incident in turn 4 ending his night.

On the restart, Maggard was again fast as Dalton, Body, Keeter, Bobby Pearish and others battled for position.

Keeter's night ended quickly as he spun in turn 4 and collected Rob Muilenburg and a couple of others.

With Maggard still showing the way, Dalton and Body found Pearish and a fast-moving Jeremy Payne along with 22nd-starting Steve Muilenburg, 17th-starting Jon Yeoman III and Kansas City area driver Austin Seibert.

After an attempt on a double-file restart, officials had to use a single-file restart cone rule as Maggard was leading with Dalton, Body, Pearish, Payne and others nose to tail.

On the restart, Payne passed before the cone calling for a two-position penalty either on the next yellow or the final finish.

Maggard continued to lead as Payne was now the man on the move as he got around both Body and Dalton and closed on Maggard.

On lap 12 the caution flew as Pearish came slowly down the front-stretch and Mickey Burrell had problems.

Payne had moved into second, but was moved back two spots for the restart.

Maggard had Dalton closing quickly as Payne was moving back to the front-runners while Matt Thompson was coming quickly.

On lap 14, Payne made the low groove stick around Maggard and grabbed the win with Maggard, Dalton, Body and Steve Muilenburg in the top 5.

Joplin's Wolfman's Scar House added an extra $50 to a mystery spot in which the junior fan drew at intermission. Steve Muilenburg's fifth-place spot took him home that extra money.

Up next at the Springfield Raceway will be the opening Transport Graphics season points opener featuring USRA Modifieds, USRA B-Mods, Midwest Modz, Legends, Young Lions Legends, Pure Stocks and Street Stocks.

For more information visit the website at or contact promoter Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, March 24, 2012


Feature: 1. Jeremy Payne, Springfield; 2. Erik Maggard, Republic; 3. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 4. Jim Body, Diamond; 5. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 6. Terry Kirk, Urbana; 7. Matt Thompson, Bentonville, Ark.; 8. John Yeoman III, Granby; 9. Brian Green, Pierce City; 10. Rob Muilenburg, Sparta; 11. Jerry Lankton, Lampe; 12. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo; 13. Mickey Burrell, Fair Grove; 14. Austin Siebert, Grandview; 15. Craig DeMasters, Neosho; 16. Danny DeMasters, Neosho; 17. Tammy Mitchell, Pea Ridge, Ark.; 18. Mitch Keeter, Webb City; 19. Kanyan Methvin, Yellville, Ark.; 20. Jody Tillman, West Branson; 21. Chris Tonoli, Hermitage; 22. Jeff Scroggins, Blue Springs.

Heat #1: 1. Maggard; 2. Body; 3. C. DeMasters; 4. Burrell; 5. Methvin; 6. Yeoman; 7. Tonoli.

Heat #2: 1. Keeter; 2. Tillman; 3. Pearish; 4. Green; 5. D. DeMasters; 6. Mitchell; 7. Scroggins.

Heat #3: 1. Dalton; 2. Siebert; 3. Payne; 4. R. Muilenburg; 5. Thompson; 6. Lankton; 7. Kirk; 8. S. Muilenburg.

Latest News from the USRA

January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group