Phillips wins USRA Modified feature in first trip to Lucas Oil Speedway
Print this page
April 21, 2012

WHEATLAND, Mo. -- Night kicked off the Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Championship Series at the Spring Opener on Saturday night. Beautiful weather, a record car count, large crowd and a first time visit to Lucas Oil Speedway Victory Lane on Paden Phillips's first visit to Wheatland were some of the highlights of Saturday’s spectacular event.

Ron’s Racing Collectibles presented 500 Diecast Race Cars to kids in attendance and the MOChip ID Program gave many families free child ID kits.

The Pitts Homes USRA Modifieds rolled out for the third feature event of the night. Phillips, from Chanute, Kan., had never raced at Lucas Oil Speedway and had not won a feature race in three years. Phillips won his heat and ran out front ending his night in Victory Lane.

Excited to say the least, Phillips thanked his family, sponsors and God after the race, and commented that he loved the facility and the track at Lucas Oil Speedway and was excited to race here again.

Behind Phillips, several battles for position took place throughout the feature. Shawn Nations from Macks Creek won his heat race and looked strong through the feature. Nations ran in second for awhile before falling back finishing sixth. Terry Schultz from Sedalia finished in the number two spot followed by Stephen Muilenburg from Sparta. Jason Russel from Henley worked his way to a fourth place finish with Tim Setzer from Archie finishing fifth.

Lucas Oil Speedway continues the Lucas Oil Weekly Championship Series with all four classes running next Saturday night, April 28, with the Pitts Homes USRA Modifieds racing for $750 to win from Clearlight Inn on KDKD Night at Lucas Oil Speedway.

Gates open at 5:00, hot laps are at 6:30 and racing begins at 7:00. Adult tickets are $12, seniors age 62 and up are $8, touth ages 6-15 aret $5 and kids age 5 & under are always free. A Family Pass includes two adult admissions and up to three youth, for only $25.

Next Saturday is also the first $uper $aver $pecial which includes 4 admissions, 4 Hot Dogs and 4 Coca-Cola products for only $30 - must arrive by 6:30 to receive this offer.

For complete event information, point standings, results and the latest Lucas Oil Speedway news visit

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lucas Oil Speedway, Wheatland, Mo.
Saturday, April 21, 2012


Heat #1: 1. Shawn Nations, Macks Creek; 2. Justin Moon, Sedalia; 3. Donnie Fellers, Wheatland; 4. Dave Elson, Springfield, Mo; 5. Tim Bostwick, Urbana; 6. Lyle Dietrich, Urbana; 7. Jim Cihy, Warsaw.

Heat #2: 1. Paden Phillips, Chanute, Kan.; 2. Paul Snyder, Wellsville, Kan.; 3. Jason Russell, Henley; 4. Rex Merritt, Billings; 5. Jon Sheets, Nevada; 6. Jason Pursley, Wheatland; 7. Clay Langley, Stover.

Heat #3: 1. Tyler Brown, Richland; 2. Terry Schultz, Sedalia; 3. Colson Kirk, Urbana; 4. John Fellers, Flemington; 5. Terry Kirk, Urbana; 6. Josh Woody, Wayneville; 7. Mickey Burrell, Fair Grove.

Heat #4: 1. Stephen Muilenburg, Sparta; 2. Robbie Test, Jefferson City; 3. Justin Folk, Iola, Kan.; 4. Tim Setzer, Archie; 5. Nathan Vaughn, Lincoln; 6. Chase Jones, Eldorado Springs; 7. Brent Holman, Rogers, Ark.

B-Feature: 1. Terry Kirk, Urbana; 2. Chase Jones, Eldorado Springs; 3. Jon Sheets, Nevada; 4. Brent Holman, Rogers, Ark.; 5. Mickey Burrell, Fair Grove; 6. Jason Pursley, Wheatland; 7. Josh Woody, Wayneville; 8. Clay Langley, Stover; 9. Nathan Vaughn, Lincoln; 10. Tim Bostwick, Urbana; 11. Jim Cihy, Warsaw; 12. Lyle Dietrich, Urbana.

A-Feature: 1. Paden Phillips, Chanute, Kan.; 2. Terry Schultz, Sedalia; 3. Stephen Muilenburg, Sparta; 4. Jason Russell, Henley; 5. Tim Setzer, Archie; 6. Shawn Nations, Macks Creek; 7. Paul Snyder, Wellsville, Kan.; 8. Terry Kirk, Urbana; 9. Tyler Brown, Richland; 10. Rex Merritt, Billings; 11. Chase Jones, Eldorado Springs; 12. Colson Kirk, Urbana; 13. Donnie Fellers, Wheatland; 14. Justin Moon, Sedalia; 15. Brent Holman, Rogers, Ark.; 16. Mickey Burrell, Fair Grove; 17. Jason Pursley, Wheatland; 18. Dave Elson, Springfield, Mo; 19. Clay Langley, Stover; 20. Jon Sheets, Nevada; 21. Josh Woody, Wayneville; 22. Justin Folk, Iola, Kan.; 23. John Fellers, Flemington; 24. Robbie Test, Jefferson City.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group