Droste rolls to first Industrial Material Surplus Iron Man Challenge victory at Mississippi Thunder Speedway
Print this page
April 27, 2012

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. -- Tyler Droste took the lead at the drop of the green flag, and then led all 20 laps of the main event Friday night at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway to notch his first victory in the Industrial Material Surplus Iron Man Challenge for USRA B-Mods.

The 16-year-old from Waterloo, Iowa, started from the outside of the front row and wrestled the lead away from polesitter Josh Gesell on the first lap.

He was challenged the rest of the way by Erik Kanz, but held on to pocket the $500 top prize.

Kanz, along with three other Minnesota drivers – Dan Wheeler, Parker Hale and Shaun Walski – rounded out the top five. Sixth through tenth were Brian Mahlstedt, Troy Langowski, Ben Moudry, Jason Schlangen and Alex Williamson.

The Industrial Material Surplus Iron Man Challenge will be back in action for a doubleheader during the Memorial Day Weekend.

On Thursday, May 24, the series heads to the Highway 3 Raceway in Allison, Iowa, and then on Saturday, May 26, it’s a trip to the Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minn.

Both USRA B-Mods and USRA Stock Cars will be on the card both nights in conjunction with the Modifieds of the USMTS Casey’s Cup Series.

To learn more about the USRA, visit www.usraracing.com or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/usraracing or follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/usraracing.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Industrial Material Surplus Iron Man Challenge
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, April 27, 2012


Showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number, driver, hometown and money won. All heat race finishers advanced to the “A” Main with the top 12 redrawing for starting positions.

HEAT RACE #1 (8 laps):
1. (3) Red1 Dan Wheeler, Columbia Heights, Minn.
2. (4) 14 Brian Schrage, Cresco, Iowa.
3. (6) 14m Brian Mahlstedt, Ionia, Iowa.
4. (1) 15w Alex Williamson, Rushford, Minn.
5. (7) 95x Shaun Walski, Winona, Minn.
6. (5) 80j Lee Jonsgaard, Minnesota City, Minn.
7. (2) 4g Scott Guthrie, Whitehall, Wis.
8. (8) 98 Kyle Anderson, Decorah, Iowa.

HEAT RACE #2 (8 laps):
1. (2) 88 Troy Langowski, Winona, Minn.
2. (6) 95 Josh Gesell, Ridgeway, Iowa.
3. (3) 44 Brandon Reutzel, Winona, Minn.
4. (4) 7+ Jared Timmerman, Norwalk, Iowa.
5. (1) 13 Chris Bretting, Wasburn, Wis.
6. (7) 3 Matt Appel, Taylor, Wis.
7. (5) 1 Jon Vanminsel, Spring Grove, Minn.

HEAT RACE #3 (8 laps):
1. (2) 92 Tyler Droste, Waterloo, Iowa.
2. (5) 23 Erik Kanz, Winona, Minn.
3. (3) 28 Parker Hale, Grand Meadow, Minn.
4. (7) 27s Jason Schlangen, Cresco, Iowa.
5. (4) 11 Jack Baehman, Hudson, Wis.
6. (6) 85 Ben Moudry, Cottage Grove, Minn.
7. (1) 20 Brady Keefe, Stewartville, Minn.

“A” MAIN (20 laps):
1. (2) 92 Tyler Droste, Waterloo, Iowa, $500.
2. (3) 23 Erik Kanz, Winona, Minn., $400.
3. (8) Red1 Dan Wheeler, Columbia Heights, Minn., $300.
4. (10) 28 Parker Hale, Grand Meadow, Minn., $200.
5. (13) 95x Shaun Walski, Winona, Minn., $175.
6. (4) 14m Brian Mahlstedt, Ionia, Iowa, $150.
7. (6) 88 Troy Langowski, Winona, Minn., $130.
8. (18) 85 Ben Moudry, Cottage Grove, Minn., $115.
9. (7) 27s Jason Schlangen, Cresco, Iowa, $105.
10. (11) 15w Alex Williamson, Rushford, Minn., $100.
11. (20) 1 Jon Vanminsel, Spring Grove, Minn., $90.
12. (5) 14 Brian Schrage, Cresco, Iowa, $80.
13. (12) 7+ Jared Timmerman, Norwalk, Iowa, $75.
14. (15) 11 Jack Baehman, Hudson, Wis., $75.
15. (1) 95 Josh Gesell, Ridgeway, Iowa, $75.
16. (19) 4g Scott Guthrie, Whitehall, Wis., $75.
17. (17) 80j Lee Jonsgaard, Minnesota City, Minn., $75.
18. (16) 3 Matt Appel, Taylor, Wis., $75.
19. (9) 44 Brandon Reutzel, Winona, Minn., $75.
20. (14) 13 Chris Bretting, Wasburn, Wis., $75.
DNS - 20 Brady Keefe, Stewartville, Minn., $50.
DNS - 98 Kyle Anderson, Decorah, Iowa, $50.

Lap Leader: Droste 1-20.
Points Standings: Trevor Hunt 307, Nick Roberts 300, Timmerman 282, Jeremy Chambers 256, Steve Muilenburg 250, Ben Kates 250, Shawn Strong 234, Schlangen 233, Mike Higley 200, Droste 195.
Next Event: Thursday, May 24, Highway 3 Raceway, Allison, Iowa (Stock Cars, B-Mods).

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, Awesome Race Suits, Dominator Race Products, Intercomp, KEVKO Oil Pans & Components, Nitroquest, RACEceiver, Western Flyer Race Cars.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Boubin Tire & Automotive, BRODIX Cylinder Heads, DAY Motor Sports, Erson Cams, RacinDirt.com, Sybesma Graphics, SpeedNet Direct.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AERO Race Wheels, AFCO Racing, COMP Cams, Eibach Springs, Fast Shafts, Forty9Designs.com, Genesis Shocks, Hooker Custom Harness, KSE Racing Products, Marsh Racing Wheels, New Vision Graphics, PBM Performance Products, Quarter Master, R2C Performance Products, Real Racing Wheels, Tiger Rear Ends, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products.

Latest News from the USRA

October 18, 2014
Allen wins Texas Outlaw Modified Series championship finale at Devil's Bowl Speedway
Texas Outlaw Modified Series results for Saturday, Oct. 18, from the Devil's Bowl Speedway in Mesquite Texas.read more
October 18, 2014
Stormy Scott wins 15th Annual Widow Wax USRA Fall Nationals
At his hometown Southern New Mexico Speedway, Stormy Scott captured the victory and $10,000 top prize Saturday night at the 15th Annual Widow Wax USRA Fall Nationals presented by Barnett Harley-Davidson.read more
October 17, 2014
Jake outduels Fito in Gallardo family feud Friday at Widow Wax USRA Fall Nationals
In one of the most intense and nail-biting main events in the history of the Widow Wax USRA Fall Nationals, Jake Gallardo outdueled his father, Fito Gallardo, to win Friday night’s USRA Modified main event at the Southern New Mexico Speedway.read more
October 16, 2014
Houston has no problem, wins Thursday to earn pole for Widow Wax USRA Fall Nationals finale
Philip Houston brought a brand new racecar to the Southern New Mexico Speedway this week for the 15th Annual Widow Wax USRA Fall Nationals presented by Barnett Harley-Davidson, and now he will lead the field to the green flag on Saturday night after winning Thursday’s preliminary main event in dramatic fashion.read more
October 16, 2014
USRA Championship Awards Banquet set for Nov. 22 in conjunction with Heartland Auto Racing Show
The United States Racing Association will celebrate the drivers, crew members and sponsors that made the 2014 season a monumental success at this year’s USRA Championship Awards Banquet on Saturday, Nov. 22, at Prairie Meadows Casino & Hotel in Altoona, Iowa.read more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2014 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group