Springfield Raceway championship chase finds tight battles, new points leader
Print this page
May 15, 2012

Mitch Keeter won last week's USRA Modified feature, and is currently one point behind John Yeoman in the points battle. SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- Round 4 of the exciting Transport Graphics Championship Chase at the Springfield Raceway will find some new names at the top of the leader board for Saturday night action after an exciting John Kuntz Memorial. Going into Saturday's races, the Budweiser USRA Modifieds have their third different points leader as veteran engine builder John Yeoman will check in on top of the standings. Yeoman currently holds a one-point lead over last Saturday's winner and 2010 track champion Mitch Keeter. Yeoman has yet to win a main event this season but is getting closer as the opening points night saw a fourth-place finish with a third and a runner-up spot last week while Keeter has recorded a third place, sixth and a win. Yeoman started the season rocky in the two opening specials as it seemed he was in the wrong place at the wrong time. He has been very consistent so far during the first three points events. Yeoman is celebrating his 25th anniversary in the building of oval track and drag engines. Current North Central Arkansas Speedway USRA Modified points leader Rob Muilenburg, five-time Springfield track champion Jackie Dalton and Bobby Pearish complete the top five while opening night winner Erik Magard holds close in sixth place. The USRA Modifieds have had three different winners in three points events, and five different winners in five events overall. Scott Drake holds a 22-point lead over Mike Hailman in the Reliable Chevrolet USRA B-Mods. Former Midwest Modz track champion Kaleb Copher has quietly moved into third place while Springfield regular Andy Beauchamp holds down fourth and one-time winner Brandon Maggard in the number 5 slot. While the veteran Drake out of Webb City has captured two points wins, Brandon Maggard grabbed the other victory. Kris Jackson of Lebanon won the first two special events this season as drivers are striving to hit their set-up in this very competitive class. Grandstand gates will open at 5:00 Saturday, May 19, with hot laps starting at 6:00 and racing at 7:00. The pit gates open at 4:00 and drivers check-in time ends at 6:15. Drivers arriving after that will start tail back in a heat race. Grandstand admission is only $12 for adults, kids ages 6-12 are only $5 and children 5 & under get in for free. For more information visit the website at www.springfieldraceway.com or contact promoter Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426. Be sure to visit and "Like" our Facebook page also. POINTS STANDINGS: USRA Modifieds 1. John Yeoman, Granby ... 273 2. Mitch Keeter, Webb City ... 272 3. Rob Muilenburg, Sparta ... 241 4. Jackie Dalton, Carthage ... 238 5. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo ... 234 6. Erik Maggard, Brighton ... 232 7. Billy Dalton, Exeter ... 216 8. Jerry Lankton, Lampe ... 208 9. Brian Green, Pierce City ... 204 10. Corey Weir, Nixa ... 192 USRA B-Mods 1. Scott Drake, Webb City ... 295 2. Mike Hailman, Reed Springs ... 273 3. Kaleb Copher, Webb City ... 263 4. Andy Beauchamp, Springfield ... 246 5. Brandon Maggard, Springfield ... 236 6. Blake Ellis, Sarcoxie ... 210 7. Jared Thulin, Miami, Okla. ... 201 8. Jon Yeoman Jr., Granby ... 200 9. Thomas Hylton, Avilla ... 183 10. Aaron Speck, Republic ... 173

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group