Pearish dominant in USRA Modified victory at Springfield; Maggard pulls out last-lap win in USRA B-Mods
Print this page
May 19, 2012  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- Round 4 of the Transport Graphics Championship Chase was held Saturday night at the racy "Quick-Quarter" of the Springfield Raceway as several drivers claimed their second victories of the season with 99 cars in the pits.

In the Budweiser USRA Modified feature, it was Brian Green grabbing the opening lead with his new CT525 crate motor powering him as Bobby Pearish followed closely while five-time track champion Jackie Dalton was in tow. On lap 2, Pearish rode to the extreme top of the racing surface and shot around Green to take the lead and never looked back in taking his second win of the season.

With Pearish in strong form tonight, the battle was for second place as Dalton moved around Green on lap 3 to secure the second place spot as Green, Billy Dalton, Mitch Keeter, Jerry Lankton and Robbie Bryant were battling in the pack. The feature went caution free as several top points contenders went out with problems. Third-place points driver Rob Muilenburg retired early and points leader John Yeoman pulled in, placing both drivers outside the top 10 and shuffling the standings.

Following Pearish and his Pearish Construction/Yeoman Engines/Hoffman to the line was Jackie Dalton in the Carthage Lock & Key/Garrison Performance/Hoffman, Green with a solid run in the Doug's Pro Lube/GM CT525 Crate/Hoffman, last year's Rookie of the Year Billy Dalton in the Del Rio/Garrison/Hoffman and a solid run for Jerry Lankton in the Lankton's Welding/Yeoman Engines/Hoffman car as 18 cars checked in with 16 taking the green flag. Opening night winner Erik Maggard had motor problems in his heat and did not start the feature.

The Reliable Chevrolet USRA BMods came to display what Springfield fans know from them every week. Close action, side-by-side racing and the last five laps of battling for the win. Tonight 17 of the 19 starters took the green with Don Luna taking the opening lead as a tight pack was behind him.

With three-wide racing on hand, Luna was looking strong early. During the long green flag run, last season's points runner-up J.C. Morton, making his first Springfield start, was picking them off on the extreme top groove after starting 12th and took charge. Morton was leaving the field behind as only one caution flew in the feature as night 2 winner Brandon Maggard had solidly worked into second place.

As the laps clicked off, Morton had a brush with the turn 4 wall on lap 18 as Maggard was gaining quickly while points leader Scott Drake was in pursuit of Maggard. As Morton took the white flag, Maggard gained a lot of ground and began to change his running groove. Morton was fighting the car up high, but Maggard made a bold move to the bottom of turn 2 and pulled even with Morton. Going out of turn 2, Maggard took the lead as Drake also made the most of this and followed around Morton as later reports said the power steering belt came off from his contact with the wall.

Maggard, in the Tindle Core Company/GM 602 Crate/Hoffman took his second win of the season with Drake's Springfield All Metal/GM 602 Crate/Hoffman claimed second followed by Morton in the Gilmore Photos/GM 602 Crate/BillsBuilt, early leader Don Luna in his Trout Jig/GM 602 Crate/Hoffman and young hard charger Logan Martin in the Adams Construction/GM 602 Crate/GRT completing the top 5 as 13 of the 17 starters completed the lead lap.

Action continues next Saturday night as the USRA Modifieds compete in an $800-to-win, $100-to-start special event which is a track points race.The USRA Modifieds will open draw and use passing points to set up a top-8 redraw for starting spots. A $25 car entry fee is set and pit passes will be the normal $25.

The Springfield Raceway will be holding the inaugural Salute to Military event as all active and retired military along with one guest will be admitted free with action including the USRA Modifieds, USRA B-Mods, Midwest Modz, Pure Stocks, Legends, Young Lions and Street Stocks in round 5 of the Transport Graphics Championship Chase.

Grandstand gates open at 5:00 with hot laps at 6:00 and racing at 7:00. The pit gates open at 4:00 with driver cut-off set for 6:15 and the drivers meeting at 5:40.

Adult admission is $12 with kids ages 6-12 only $5 and children under 6 free. Pit passes are only $25.

For more information visit the website at or contact promoter Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, May 19, 2012


Feature: 1. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo; 2. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 3. Brian Green, Pierce City; 4. Billy Dalton, Exter; 5. Jerry Lankton, Lampe; 6. Mitch Keeter, Webb City; 7. Robbie Bryant, Willard; 8. Logan Martin, West Plains; 9. Kanyan Methvin, Yellville, Ark.; 10. Ray Flippin, Yellville, Ark.; 11. Tammy Mitchell, Pea Ridge, Ark.; 12. Fred Slagle, Pierce City; 13. John Yeoman III, Granby; 14. John Briggs, Yellville, Ark.; 15. Scott Symmonds, Bolivar; 16. Rob Muilenburg, Sparta; DNS - Jason Summers, Joplin; DNS - Erik Maggard, Brighton.

Heat #1: 1. Bryant; 2. Yeoman; 3. Green; 4. Martin; 5. Mitchell; 6. Maggard.

Heat #2: 1. J. Dalton; 2. Keeter; 3. B. Dalton; 4. Methvin; 5. Briggs; 6. Symmonds.

Heat #3: 1. Lankton; 2. Pearish; 3. Muilenburg; 4. Flippin; 5. Slagle; 6. Summers.


Feature: 1. Brandon Maggard, Springfield; 2. Scott Drake, Webb City; 3. J.C. Morton, Springfield; 4. Don Luna, St. James; 5. Logan Martin, West Plains; 6. Kaleb Copher, Webb City; 7. Mike Hailman, Reed Springs; 8. Jon Yeoman Jr., Granby; 9. Andy Beauchamp, Springfield; 10. Bobby Maggard Jr., Republic; 11. Ryan Stacye, Fair Grove; 12. Jared Thulin, Miami, Okla.; 13. Jeremy Thulin, Miami, Okla.; 14. Rick Cash, Joplin; 15. Steve Bias, Everton; 16. Derek Watson, Willard; 17. Aaron Speck, Republic; DNS - Mike Mansker, Springfield; DNS - Thomas Hylton, Joplin.

Heat #1: 1. Beauchamp; 2. Drake; 3. Martin; 4. Luna; 5. Stacye; 6. Watson; 7. Hylton.

Heat #2: 1. Hailman; 2. Morton; 3. Thulin; 4. Mansker; 5. Speck; 6. Bobby Maggard Jr.

Heat #3: 1. Brandon Maggard; 2. Yeoman; 3. Copher; 4. Cash; 5. Thulin; 6. Bias.

Latest News from the USRA

March 17, 2018
Smith captures TOMS season opener
The 2018 Touring Outlaw Modified Series season opener kicked off at the Southern Oklahoma Speedway under heavy clouds and the threat of rain. With a field of 29 entrieread more
March 17, 2018
Morton masters final feature at King of America VIII Iron Man Challenge
Things just kept getting better and better for J.C. Morton this weekend at the Humboldt Speedway for the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racinread more
March 16, 2018
I-35 Speedway season opener moved to March 24
Officials at the I-35 Speedway are moving the season opener to Saturday, March 24. Originally scheduled for March 17, Mother Nature has produced cold temperatures and read more
March 16, 2018
Zimmerman on top in Out-Pace USRA B-Mods at Humboldt
Veteran racer Randy Zimmerman of Fort Scott, Kan., flew by leader J.C. Morton on lap 16 of the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature, and then held off multiple challenges over theread more
March 15, 2018
King of America VIII Iron Man Challenge opener to Jolly
Thursday night kicked off the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racing Equipment at the Humboldt, and the 2018 campaign for the USRA Iron Man Chread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group