Springfield Raceway to honor military Saturday night as USRA Modifieds battle for extra money
Print this page
May 22, 2012  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- The Springfield Raceway will be ready to go into round 5, along with remembering those who have fought for our freedoms with the inaugural Military Honor USRA Modified 25 along with a full show of Transport Graphics Championship Chase points events this Saturday, May 26.

The Speedway will be allowing all active and retired military personnel and one guest in for free grandstand admission with ID.

The main event of the evening will be a 25-lap feature for the Budweiser USRA Modifieds with the winner receiving $800 and the event will pay $100 to start the feature. This will be a track points race and USRA Modified drivers will draw for starting heat race spots and use the passing point system to set the field. A special redraw of the top 8 cars will determine their starting spots in the feature. There will be a $25 car entry fee and USRA rules apply.

A new points leader sits on top of the USRA Modified track points standings as 2010 champion Mitch Keeter of Webb City is the new driver on top holding a slim 14-point margin over last week's points leader, John Yeoman. The standings really got tight after Yeoman pulled in during the latter part of last week's feature. Two-time winner Bobby Pearish has moved up to third, only 19 behind Keeter, while five-time champion Jackie Dalton and brother Billy Dalton round out the top 5.

Scott Drake still heads up the B-Mod points lead over Mike Hailman as former Midwest Modz champion Kaleb Copher sets in third place while last week's winner Brandon Maggard and Andy Beauchamp complete the top 5.

Grandstand gates open at 5:00 with hot laps at 6:00 and racing gets underway at 7:00. General admission is only $12 for adults with kids ages  6-12 just $5 and children under 6 are free.

Pit gates open at 4:00 while the drivers meeting is slated for 5:40. Driver check-in time cuts off at 6:15. USRA Modified drivers who arrive late will receive no passing points and will start tailback in a heat.

For more information visit the website at www.springfieldraceway.com or contact promoter Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426.

Current Top 10 Points:

USRA Modifieds
1. Mitch Keeter, Webb City ... 353
2. John Yeoman, Granby  ... 339
3. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo ...  334
4. Jackie Dalton, Carthage  ... 333
5. Billy Dalton, Exeter  ... 302
6. Rob Muilenburg, Sparta ...  301
7. Brian Green, Pierce City ...  295
8. Jerry Lankton, Lampe  ... 292
9. Erik Maggard, Brighton ...  277
10. Fred Slagle, Pierce City ...  256

1. Scott Drake, Webb City  ... 390
2. Mike Hailman, Reed Springs ...  351
3. Kaleb Copher, Webb City  ... 344
4. Brandon Maggard, Springfield ...  336
5. Andy Beauchamp, Springfield  ... 320
6. Jon Yeoman Jr., Granby  ... 276
7. Jared Thulin, Miami, Okla. ...  269
8. Jeremy Thulin, Miami, Okla. ...  237
9. Bobby Maggard Jr., Republic  ... 233
10. Aaron Speck, Republic  ... 231

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group