Bohr wins USRA Modified feature at Mississippi Thunder Speedway
Print this page
June 8, 2012  |  by Dan Bailey

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. -- Dan Bohr has been bringing his #66 Dan’s Standard USRA Modified up into Southeastern Minnesota and West Central Wisconsin for a while, and he’s enjoyed success and feature wins in seasons past. But for 2012, he was still looking for that first visit to Mississippi Thunder Speedway’s victory lane. That search ended Friday night as Bohr led the 18-car field across the finish line after 25 laps to pick up feature win number 1 for the 2012 season!

From the outside of the front row, Bohr fended off early race challenges from pole sitter Kyle Jumbeck (who was filling in behind the wheel of defending track champion Bob Timm’s #49) and 2010 track champion Josh Angst before opening up a commanding lead on the rest of the field.

“The car handled perfectly,” explained Bohr after celebrating the feature win in victory lane. “The track was good and I was running it about as high as I could in the turns.”

The lead was indeed large, but another driver was slowly closing in on Bohr with hopes of challenging for the win; first heat race winner Lucas Schott was gaining on Bohr over the closing laps, but simply ran out of time. Over the final five laps “Cool Hand Luke” closed the gap separating his Schott Hardwood Floors #69 from the leader to just one second, and was still gaining when the checkered flag finally flew.

Angst was able to keep a heavy three-car battle behind his #99 to finish third, with last week’s feature winner Brad Waits fourth and Nate Wasmund rounding out the top 5.

This Friday it was another young gun grabbing a win as 14-year-old Alex Williamson took his Williamson Sugarloaf Amusements #15W to the front of the USRA B-Mod feature field and held on for not only his first feature win of 2012, but his first ever USRA B-Mod feature win. And since Williamson won’t even be flirting with 15 until his birthday month of August arrives it may very well put him into the books as the youngest ever feature winner at Mississippi Thunder Speedway.

Williamson’s driving has been smooth, consistent and fast all season long; this Friday was finally his night to prove that he will not be kept out of Victory Lane. Williamson jumped from the pole and immediately began turning in some blistering laps; as a matter of fact, the 14-year-old's 17.184 second lap (carrying with it an average speed around Mississippi Thunder Speedway’s banked 1/3-mile oval of 78.561 mph) was the evening's fastest lap from every division, including the River City Manufacturing USRA Modifieds.

“The track was fast and smooth,” said Williamson after the win. “The car is fast this year and this win is great.”

Williamson was followed across the line by another member of the “youth brigade” as young Parker Hale’s Jack Links Beef Sticks #28 finished second ahead of first heat race winner Shaun Walski.

Mississippi Thunder Speedway’s 2012 regular season action continues next Friday night, June 15. Competition on the fast 1/3-mile gets underway at 7 p.m. with a complete program from the River City Manufacturing USRA Modifieds and USRA B-Mods, plus Coordinated Business Systems WISSOTA Super Stocks, Jailhouse Saloon WISSOTA Street Stocks, REDBOX+ 600 Mods and Elmer’s Auto Salvage M.T.S. Pure Stocks.

Adult general admission is $12 with senior citizen tickets only $10. Student admission (ages 13-18) is just $5 while all children 12 and under will be admitted absolutely free. The Family Pass consists of two adult tickets and up to three kids' tickets for only $25. Family-friendly pit pricing is also available for every event. For more details, visit the official Mississippi Thunder Speedway website at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, June 8, 2012


Heat #1: 1. Lucas Schott, 2. Brad Waits, 3. Dan Bohr, 4. Thomas Brink, 5. Kyle Jumbeck, 6. Eric Pember, 7. Phil Wernert, 8. Keith Foss, 9. Leroy Scharkey.

Heat #2: 1. Jake Timm, 2. Nate Wasmund, 3. Hank Rollinger Jr., 4. Josh Angst, 5. Jay Ihrke, 6. Lance Hofer, 7. John Doelle, 8. Dan Hesch, 9. Jeff Rollinger.

Feature: 1. Dan Bohr, 2. Lucas Schott, 3. Josh Angst, 4. Brad Waits, 5. Nate Wasmund, 6. Kyle Jumbeck, 7. Jay Ihrke, 8. Thomas Brink, 9. Eric Pember, 10. Hank Rollinger Jr., 11. Jake Timm, 12. Lance Hofer, 13. John Doelle, 14. Leroy Scharkey, 15. Phil Wernert, 16. Keith Foss, 17. Dan Hesch, 18. Jeff Rollinger.


Heat: 1. Shaun Walski, 2. Ben Anderson, 3. Parker Hale, 4. Erik Kanz, 5. Alex Williamson, 6. Dan Wheeler, 7. Brady Keefe, 8. Tyler Creeley, 9. Scott Guthrie.

Feature: 1. Alex Williamson, 2. Parker Hale, 3. Shaun Walski, 4. Erik Kanz, 5. Dan Wheeler, 6. Brady Keefe, 7. Ben Anderson, 8. Tyler Creeley, 9. Scott Guthrie.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group