Cummins, Kath cash in at Deer Creek Speedway
Print this page
June 23, 2012

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. -- An overcast morning and early afternoon led to clearing skies and perfect night for racing action on North Country Equipment Night at the Deer Creek Speedway. Tonight was also the mid-season pointís championship night at the speedway with the point leaders in all five classes honored before the racing action began on the night.

After a complete restart Jacob Bleess jumped out to the early lead with Ben Moudry close behind in second. Moudry took over the lead after lap one with Alex Williamson in third. Kylie Kath and Lee Jonsgaard were side by side for fourth. Kath moved into third on lap three as Williamson pushed up the track in turn four.

A caution bunched the field back up and on the restart Kath moved into second with Bleess in third and Shaun Walski into the fourth spot. Jonsgaard, Williamson and Jerry Young were three wide for fifth as another caution flew over the speedway.

On the lap five restart Moudry led with Kath in second. Erik Kanz, Williamson and Young were now racing three wide for the fourth spot. Brady Keefe started coming through the field and on lap eight was found in the fifth spot. Kath moved alongside of Moudry on lap fourteen as another caution flew.

Kath got the run on the restart and took over the lead on lap fifteen. Moudry sat in second with Bleess in third. Keefe and Kanz rounded out the top five as the checkers flew over the field

It was a wild feature event in the NAPA AutoCare USRA Modified feature event with Jason Cummins jumping out front early on. Brandon Davis quickly took over the second spot with Josh Angst in third. With six down Angst and Jake Timm were side by side for the third spot while Mark Teske and Todd Scharkey raced for the fifth spot. Scharkey took over fifth while Timm moved into third on lap ten.

Through the early ten laps there was some great racing further back in the field but things were going to get really heated up front. With thirteen down Cummins started to run into lap traffic allowing Davis to close on him. With fifteen down they ran into a three car battle for position. Cummins checked up down low while Davis moved around the pack to take over the lead on lap seventeen.

On lap twenty Davis was flying up top and while trying to lap a slower car just past the flag stand Davis ended up getting pinched into the wall. After getting pinched in the wall, Davis ran into the turn one wall where the car sat motionless until a slower car collected the back half of his car. All drivers were okay but Davisís car was a big loss with the fuel cell coming out of the car and heavy damage to all corners of the car. On the restart Cummins led with Timm, Lucas Schott and Angst racing for second. Timm took over the second spot ahead of Schott.

A little further back Mark Teske and Dan Bohr moved into the top five as Angst dropped out of contention. At the finish it was Cummins with the win, Timm, Schott, Teske and Bohr rounded out the top five.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn.
Saturday, June 23, 2012


Feature: 1. Kylie Kath, 2. Ben Moudry, 3. Jacob Bleess, 4. Brady Keefe, 5. Erik Kanz, 6. Jerry Young, 7. Alan Wagner, 8. Shaun Walski, 9. Trevor Fecht, 10. Alex Williamson, 11. Josh Smith, 12. Lee Jonsgaard, 13. John Warrington, 14. Dan Tenold, 15. Wade Wenzel, 16. Terry Kohnert, 17. Mike Chisholm, 18. Scott Demmer, 19. Tyler Creely, 20. Rick Utley.

Heat #1: 1. Walski, 2. Moudry, 3. Jonsgaard, 4. Smith, 5. Tenold, 6. Kohnert, 7. Creely.

Heat #2: 1. Kath, 2. Kanz, 3. Keefe, 4. Fecht, 5. Young, 6. Wagner, 7. Utley.

Heat #3: 1. Bleess, 2. Williamson, 3. Demmer, 4. Wenzel, 5. Chisholm, 6. Warrington.


Feature: 1. Jason Cummins, 2. Jake Timm, 3. Lucas Schott, 4. Mark Teske, 5. Dan Bohr, 6. Josh Angst, 7. Steve Wetzstein, 8. Cole Queensland, 9. Kurt Krauskopf, 10. Dustin Scott, 11. Todd Scharkey, 12. Bill Clemens, 13. Joel Alberts, 14. Bob Timm, 15. Brandon Aggen, 16. Chris Oertel, 17. Lance Hofer, 18. J.J. Wise, 19. Don Gerritsen Jr., 20. Parker Brumm, 21. James Broszeit, 22. Brandon Davis, 23. Greg Jensen, 24. Brandon Hare, 25. A.J. Wiste, 26. Nate Wasmund.

Heat #1: 1. Wetzstein, 2. Angst, 3. Bohr, 4. Gerritsen, 5. Broszeit, 6. Brumm, 7. Jensen.

Heat #2: 1. Davis, 2. Scharkey, 3. Queensland, 4. Clemens, 5. Krauskopf, 6. Hofer, 7. Timm.

Heat #3: 1. Schott, 2. Cummins, 3. Teske, 4. Alberts, 5. Oertel, 6. Wasmund.

Heat #4: 1. Timm, 2. Scott, 3. Wiste, 4. Wise, 5. Hare, 6. Aggen.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group