Davis, Schlangen master Mascot Night at Deer Creek Speedway
Print this page
July 21, 2012

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. -- It was Mascot Night at Deer Creek Speedway Saturday with area schools on hand with their mascot. Local businesses, silent auction, admission tickets and raffle tickets were sold with each school taking home the proceeds. All schools took home over $700 each with some taking home over $1,000 for their sale of tickets and donations. A huge thank you to the local businesses who donated money for the schools, with over $3,500 in donations coming into the Deer Creek Speedway on the night.

With 30 cars in the pit area the Hinz Trucking USRA B-Mods took to the speedway for their "A" feature event. Parker Hale jumped out front early with Jason Schlangen in second. Ben Moudry sat in third early. Jacob Bleess worked into fourth on lap three. A caution on lap eight bunched the field up with Hale leading. Schlangen and Moudry battled for the second spot with Schlangen holding the slight edge.

The two battled for the spot and on lap thirteen had pulled up to Hale and raced three wide for the lead. Schlangen took the lead as Hale pushed up the speedway. Bleess turned up the wick over the last few circuits taking second away from Moudry on lap fifteen. Bleess pulled alongside of Schlangen on the last lap and as they raced out of four to the checkers Schlangen had the momentum line and took home the win for his first victory at the speedway.

Jerry Young won the "B" feature with Schlangen, Kylie Kath, Erik Kanz and Hale taking home heat race action.

Brandon Davis jumped out front from the pole position on the start of the NAPA AutoCare USRA Modified main event. Mark Teske ran close in second with Brandon Hare and Jason Cummins racing for third. With four down Cummins now in third started to pressure Teske for the second spot.

A restart on lap 4 saw Cummins take over second. Lucas Schott and Hare raced for third while Bob Timm worked into fifth. Another caution on lap seven saw Davis leading with Schott moving into second. Tommy Myer worked into the top 5. As the laps clicked off, Cummins retook the second spot on lap 9.

Davis took home the win followed by Cummins and Schott.

Josh Angst won the B feature while Dan Bohr, Teske, Cole Queensland and Schott won the heat races.

Racing action resumes next week with the 2nd Annual World Modified Dirt Track Championship presented by Hanson Tire Service. Racing action will begin Wednesday at 6:30 and conclude Saturday night with the $25,000-to-win finale.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn.
Saturday, July 21, 2012


"A" Feature: Jason Schlangen, Jacob Bleess, Ben Moudry, Brady Keefe, Parker Hale, Kylie Kath, Scott Demmer, Trevor Hunt, Shaun Walski, Trevor Fecht, Jeremy Schaufenbul, Brian Schrage, Erik Kanz, Jerry Young, Kyle Anderson, Mike Jaeger, John VanMinsel, Casey Knutson, Dean Hoffman, Alan Wagner, Tony Vaith, Josh Smith, Rod Hinz, Brian Mahlstadt.

"B" Feature: Young, Wagner, Hoffman, Vaith, John Warrington Taylor Knutson, Mike Chisholm, Rick Utley, Chris Trainer, Chris Weigert, Taylor Ausrud.

Heat 1: Schlangen, Walski, Moudry, VanMinsel, Hinz, Wagner, Ausrud, Weigert.

Heat 2: Kath, Jaeger, Fecht, Demmer, Schrage, Young, Warrington, Trainer.

Heat 3: Kanz, Hunt, Keefe, Smith, C. Knutson, Utley, Chisholm, T. Knutson.

Heat 4: Hale, Mahlstadt, Bleess, Anderson, Schaufenbul, Hoffman, Vaith.


"A" Feature: Brandon Davis, Jason Cummins, Lucas Schott, Bob Timm, Mike Sorensen, Brandon Hare, Jake Hartung, Eric Pember, Jake Timm, Nate Wasmund, Josh Angst, Cole Queensland, Mark Teske, Dan Bohr, JJ Wise, Joe Horgdal, Troy Hovey, Joel Alberts, Jason Miller, Lance Hofer, Darwyn Karau, James Broszeit, Kurt Krauskopf, Nick Herrick, Todd Scharkey.

"B" Feature: Angst, Wasmund, Sorensen, Karau, Wise, Horgdal, Greg Jensen, Cody Erickson, Bill Clemens, Mike Gibson, Doug Hillson, Ric Fynbo, Billy Steinberg.

Heat 1: Bohr, Davis, Cummins, Miller, Hartung, Hillson, Wise, Clemens, Steinberg.

Heat 2: Teske, Pember, Myer, Broszeit, Scharkey, Karau, Jensen, Sorensen.

Heat 3: Queensland, Hare, B. Timm, J. Timm, Hovey, Fynbo, Gibson, Erickson.

Heat 4: Schott, Krauskopf, Hofer, Herrick, Alberts, Horgdal, Angst, Wasmund.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group