Bone invades Springfield, takes home USRA Modified trophy
Print this page
July 28, 2012  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- Satruday night at the Springfield Raceway, current USRA Modified national points leader and defending national champion Johnny Bone Jr. made a surprise visit to Springfield and walked away with the feature win.

Mickey Burrell, Mitch Keeter and current track points leader Jackie Dalton were in the tight battle for the second place spot as Bone began to pull away.

On lap 8 the raced slowed as Dalton went around in turn 2. This bunched the field up as Burrell picked the top groove on the restart. Bone again began to pull away as Mitch Keeter moved into the second place position as Brian Green followed.

Bone took the victory in his TRE/Bone Trucking/Homegrown Engines adding another win to his USRA total as Keeter brought home the Mid-America Rebuilders/Yeoman Engines/TRE in the runner-up spot ending his 2 race win streak.

Green rode a solid third place in his Doug's Pro Lube/Green Motorsports machine while Chanute, Kansas front runner Johnny Allen came from 13th starting spot to secure fourth spot in his McCarthy Auto Group/Hughes/Allen Automotive with Veteran Rex Merritt in the Yeoman Engines/Brillstein Shocks/Lucas Oil completing the top 5.

Sixteen of the 19 starters completed the lead lap with 23 entries overall tonight.

USRA B-Mod rookie Ryan Hendrix of Joplin took the opening lead and survived a wild feature event in taking his first feature win of the season.

Hendrix had to withstand the early charges of former Springfield track champion Wayne Graybeal and then had to hold off defending champion Bobby Maggard Jr and current point leader Trevor Drake in a green-white-checkered finish.

Following the top 3 to the stripe was Wayne Graybeal and Michael Maggard.

Fifteen of the 20 starters completed the lead lap.

Springfield Raceway will not be racing next Saturday as the Ozark Empire Fair is in town. Action will continue Saturday, Aug. 11, with a full Transport Graphics Championship Chase.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Sprignfield, Mo.
Saturday, July 28, 2012


Feature: 1. Johnny Bone Jr., Pea Ridge, Ark.; 2. Mitch Keeter, Webb City; 3. Brian Green, Pierce City; 4. Jonny Allen, Chanute, Kan.; 5. Rex Merritt, Billings; 6. Brent Holman, Rogers, Ark.; 7. Mickey Burrell, Fair Grove; 8. Jerry Lankton, Lampe; 9. Chase Jones, El Dorado Springs; 10. Rob Muilenburg, Sparta; 11. Jason Pursley, Wheatland; 12. John Yeoman, Joplin; 13. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo; 14. Robbie Bryant, Willard; 15. Nick Whitehead, Nixa; 16. Daniel Franklin, Eureaka Springs, Ark.; 17. Fred Slagle, Pierce City; 18. Jody Tillman, West Branson; 19. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; DNS - Josh Woody, Laquey; DNS - Terry Beckham Jr., Webb City; DNS - David Hendrix, Laquey.


Feature: 1. Ryan Hendrix, Joplin; 2. Bobby Maggard Jr., Republic; 3. Scott Drake, Webb City; 4. Wayne Graybeal, Springfield; 5. Michael Maggard, Republic; 6. Kaleb Copher, Webb City; 7. Greg Piotrowski, Galena, Kan.; 8. Kaleb Stolba, Willow Springs; 9. Dakota Maggard, Republic; 10. Jon Yeoman Jr.; 11. Blake Ellis, Sarcoxie; 12. Jared Thulin, Miami, Okla.; 13. Jeff Scroggins, Brookline; 14. Thomas Hylton, Avilla; 15. John Hurn, Neosho; 16. Stacy Hall, Bolivar; 17. Gary Rodocker, Willard; 18. Rick Cash, Joplin; 19. Jeremy Thulin, Miami, Okla.; 20. Don Luna, St. James; DNS - Andy Beauchamp, Springfield.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group