Dalton holds Bryant at bay in Springfield USRA Modified feature; Morton holds on for B-Mod win
Print this page
September 29, 2012

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- The Springfield Raceway was back in action Saturday night as USRA Modifieds and USRA B-Mods competed for national points and an exciting overall night of racing highlighted the racing program with over 110 race teams competed.

In the USRA Modified feature, six-time and 2012 track champion Jackie Dalton had his work cut out as Robbie Bryant kept the pressure on all night long in the 20-lap feature event. Following the top-8 redraw, Dalton took the pole with veteran Jason Pursley to his outside. Dalton quickly jumped to the opening lead as Pursley followed while Bryant charged from sixth to third.

On lap 3, caution waved as Rusty Weir and Kyle Slagle got together in turn 4. On the restart, Bryant moved around Pursley and set his sights on leader Dalton. With a lightning-quick surface, Dalton found Bryant closing ground as Pursley had hard-charging Greg Hughes moving on him. At the halfway mark, seventh-starting Mitch Keeter began his move forward and moved around Hughes for position as Bryant was giving Dalton all he wanted in the race for first place.

Bryant closed the gap to less than one car length as the lead duo kept the crowd on the edge of their seats while Keeter moved around Pursley on lap 12 for third. The final five laps saw Bryant pull even and once ahead of Dalton with Dalton getting credit back at the finish line. On lap 18, Dalton was able to shake Bryant in lapped traffic just enough to capture the win aboard his Doug's Pro Lube/Garrison/Hoffman #21 as Bryant brought the McCoy's Metals/GRT/Arbuckle Engines #45 in a solid runner-up spot as Keeter in his Mid-American Rebuilders/TRE/Yeoman Engines #52, Pursley with his Campbell Racing/Allen Autosports machine and tenth-starting Rex Merritt with the Bilstein Shocks/Yeoman Engines #25 in the top 5 as 15 of the 20 starters completed the lead lap.

In USRA B-Mod action, 2012 track champion Scott Drake and son Trevor Drake brought the talented field to the green flag as Scott Drake started pulling away quickly. Always-hard-charging Steve Muilenburg followed with Trevor Drake and J.C. Morton close behind. The quick pace slowed on lap 8 as a multi-car gathering involving Jon Yeoman Jr., Chuck Becker, Jared Thulin, Logan Martin, Bobby Ratterree and others brought out the red flag as young Martin was the worst for wear on the hook.

On the restart, Morton was able to get around Muilenburg for the second place spot as Muilenburg jumped the extreme top groove cushion. Drake was pulling away until lap 14 when the driveshaft broke on the leader's car ending his night. This place Morton into the lead as two-time Midwest Modz champion Trevor Drake was putting on pressure to the leader while Muilenburg was applying the heat to young Drake.

Morton was able to hold off young Drake's charge in taking the win with Muilenburg, Yeoman and Don Luna completing the top 5.

Racing action continues Saturday ight, Oct. 6, as Budweiser presents the ASCS 360 Winged Sprint Cars with USRA Modifieds competing in a $500-to-win, $100-to-start feature. Also racing will be USRA B-Mods, Midwest Modz, Pure Stocks and area Factory Stocks and Street Stocks combined together.

Grandstand gates open at 4 p.m. with hot laps at 5 and racing at 6 p.m. Grandstand admission will be $20 for adults with kids ages 6-12 only $5 and children under 6 free. Pit passes will be $30.

For more information visit the website at www.springfieldraceway.com or contact Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426 and be sure to like and visit the Springfield Raceway Facebook page.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, Sept. 29, 2012


A Feature: 1. Jackie Dalton, 2. Robbie Bryant, 3. Mitch Keeter, 4. Jason Pursley, 5. Rex Merritt, 6. Greg Hughes, 7. Jason Hughes, 8. Brent Holman, 9. Bobby Pearish, 10. Colson Kirk, 11. John Yeoman, 12. Jim Body, 13. Logan Martin, 14. Steve Muilenburg, 15. Rustin Miller, 16. Brian Green, 17. Rusty Weir, 18. Andy Aust, 19. Rusty Weir, 20. Kyle Slagle.

B Feature (top 6 advance): 1. J. Hughes, 2. Rusty Weir, 3. Pearish, 4. Green, 5. Miller, 6. Slagle, 7. Scott Symmonds, 8. Donnie Fellers, 9. David Hendrix, 10. Ron McClellan, 11. Chris Tonoli, 12. Rob Muilenburg, 13. Jerry Morgan.


A Feature: 1. J.C. Morton, 2. Trevor Drake, 3. Steve Muilenburg, 4. Jon Yeoman Jr., 5. Don Luna, 6. Kaleb Copher, 7. Ryan Stacye, 8. Steve McLaughin, 9. Mike Watson, 10. Chuck Becker, 11. Jared Thulin, 12. Toby Thompson, 13. Bobby Ratterree, 14. Mike Mansker, 15. Scott Drake, 16. Logan Martin, 17. Andy Beauchamp, 18. Tyler Chainey, 19. Jason Bridgman, DNS - Ryan Edde.

B Feature (top 6 advance): 1. Bridgman, 2. Chainey, 3. Yeoman, 4. Thompson, 5. Mansker, 6. Becker, 7. Thomas Hylton, 8. Andy Aust, 9. Terry Williams, 10. David Harris, 11. John Hurn, 12. Unknown Driver, 13. Unknown Driver, 14. Zane Blanchard, 15. Blake Ellis, DNS - Shawn Strong, Jeff Autry.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group