Stormy Scott snags pole for 13th Annual USRA Modified Fall Nationals
Print this page
October 19, 2012

LAS CRUCES, N.M. -- New Mexico racer Stormy Scott, fresh off winning the Rookie of the Year title with the United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS) in 2012, made his way back to his home track, Southern New Mexico Speedway, and blistered the field by sweeping the opening night of the 13th Annual USRA Modified Fall Nationals in dominating fashion.

Scott, who started on the pole and ran away with his heat race, re-drew third for the 30-lap main event but wasted no time blasting by front row starters Wayne Brooks and Rodney Sanders to take the lead on the second circuit of the main event.

Scott drive off uncontested throughout the main, which was slowed by only one caution with just seven laps remaining.

Scott proved that his Rowland Racing team was going to be a threat this weekend as he drove off on the restart and was never challenged en route to his preliminary night victory, putting him on the pole for Sunday afternoon’s $10,000-to-win, 50-lap finale.

Scott is looking to join his twin brother Johnny as a USRA Modified Fall Nationals champion as Johnny put his car into victory lane and claimed the title in 2009.

The racing throughout the field during the opening night of the weekend was intense.

As Scott drove off alone out front, behind him Sanders, Brooks, Fito Gallardo and seventh-starting Jeff Taylor were waging an outstanding battle just behind the leader.

Taylor and Gallardo ran side by side on multiple occasions as they were trying to vie for one of the five transfer positions into Sunday’s 50-lapper.

Sanders ran a solid second throughout most of the event and was pressured by Gallardo late in the going, while Jeremy Payne and Bumper Jones had an intense battle for sixth and Jason Krohn put his #7k in the mix late as well.

Sanders held off Gallardo for the runner-up spot with Taylor holding off Johnny Scott for fourth, giving him the fifth and final transfer spot.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
USRA Modified Fall Nationals
Southern New Mexico Speedway, Las Cruces, N.M.
Friday, Oct. 19, 2012


"A" Main: Stormy Scott, Rodney Sanders, Fito Gallardo, Jeff Taylor, Johnny Scott, Jeremy Payne, Bumper Jones, Jason Krohn, Bryan Rowland, Wayne Brooks, Terry Phillips, Alex Stanford, Dereck Ramirez, Chris Dawson, Jason Cummins, Jake Gallardo, Dusty Riggs, Curt Barnett, Jake O’Neil, Royal Jones, Ricky Thornton Jr., Don Earvan, Greg Jenkins, Jimmy Ray, Gene Weaver, Philip Houston, Eddie Martin.

"B" Main #1: Phillips, O’Neil, Weaver, Ray, Houston, Tom Georges, Richie Davis, Bobby Sikes, Chris Sims, Frank Dutton, Duane Murphy, Lee Heiligenthal, Robbies Chiles, Josh Cain, Kevin Clark, Greg Jelvik, Neal DeBord, Terry Tipton.

"B" Main #2: Martin, Cummins, J. Gallardo, Ramirez, Christy Georges, Toby Herring, Tanner Mullins, Randy Brown, Butch Reid, Neal Flowers, Triston Sikes, Roy Don Mason, Donovan Ooley, Alex Gonzalez, Michael Lucero, Brian Kleine , Clint Miller.

"B" Main #3: Riggs, R. Jones, Earvan, Jenkins, Bob Sikes, Austin Adams, Alan Sharpensteen, Brian Craighead, Mercedes Harris, James Flemming, Shane Sprinkle, Roger Owens, Todd Budlong, Owen Puckett, Dewayne Hatton, Chad Falco, Danny Dozier.

Heat #1: Dawson, Earvan, Thornton Jr., Weaver, Miller, Gonzalez, Dutton, Heiligenthal, Clark, T. Sikes.

Heat #2: S. Scott, F. Gallardo, Barnett, Ramirez, B. Sikes, Budlong, Kleine, Ooley, Lucero, Dozier.

Heat #3: Rowland, Stanford, Payne, R. Jones, B Sikes Jr., J. Gallardo, Harris, Craighead, Tipton.

Heat #4: Sanders, Sims, Davis, Riggs, Flemming, Chiles, T. Georges, Owens, Jelvik.

Heat #5: J. Scott, B. Jones, Cummins, Cain, Phillips, Mullens, Brown, Murphy, Reid.

Heat #6: Brooks, O’Neil, Herring, C. Georges, Puckett, Adams, Sharpensteen, Mason, Hatten.

Heat #7: Krohn, Taylor, Martin, Jenkins, Houston, Ray, Flowers, Falco, DeBord.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group