Drivers honored at Deer Creek Speedway awards banquet
Print this page
November 17, 2012

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. -- The final event on the calendar for the 2012 racing season at Deer Creek Speedway is in the books. The annual banquet was held at the Eagles Club in Rochester, which provided a great location and space for the banquet and catered a wonderful meal for all to enjoy.

After the meal the award presentations started with videos of the season highlights put together for each class as the top drivers in each class came to the stage for their awards.

Jacob Bleess took home the title for the Hinz Trucking USRA B-Mods, also becoming the youngest driver to win a title in Deer Creek Speedway history at the age of 15. Bleess took home three wins on his way to the track championship. Bleess also took home the Most Improved Driver for the division and finished fourth in USRA national points.

Jason Zeliadt from NAPA AutoCare Group was on hand to present trophies to the drivers in the NAPA AutoCare USRA Modified division. Jake Timm took home the Most Improved Driver honors while Brandon Davis took home the track championship with eight wins on the season. Davis was also crowned the USRA national champion en route to the third track championship of his career.

Brandon Hare (NAPA AutoCare USRA Modifieds) won the Hard Luck Award.

Photographer Scott Gulbranson took some incredible pictures throughout the season and was credited with the photos used for the banners and dirtheads of the winning drivers. Sandy Brinkman and Buck Monson were also on hand during the year and contributed photos used during the slideshows.

The Queensland Family thanked everyone for the 2012 racing season and noted after much discussion all six classes will return to the Deer Creek Speedway for the 2012 season; USRA Modifieds, USRA B-Mods and WISSOTA Late Models, Super Stocks, Midwest Modifieds and Street Stocks. The 2012 season saw great racing action and the fans filled the stands with more fans attending the races during the 2012 season than any other season in history at the track. In total there were 555 drivers who registered at the speedway during the season from 23 states, Canada and Australia.

The tentative 2013 schedule for the speedway was released with March 30 being the annual Clements Car Show. Racing action will start on April 6 with specials throughout the year, the mainstays of the Gopher 50 in July, The Sprint Show in September and the season concluding with the Fall Jamboree. Other specials will include the Southern MN Spring Challenge on Memorial Day Weekend. The Firecracker on June 29. The World Modified Dirt Track Championship July 24-27 and the BP Labor Day Dual Presented by Baudoin Oil on Labor Day Weekend.

We look forward to seeing everyone at the car show in March and then at the season opener April 6. Have a safe and happy off-season.

For more information visit us online at or follow us on Facebook, Twitter or on our YouTube channel.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group